List of Things I Liked about Christmas

5 15
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

It is Christmas day and I must say I am exhausted but I am so glad I was able to do all the cooking and I finished on time. My siblings will be arriving anytime soon and the house will be full.

Christmas us my favourite holiday and there are a few things I've enjoyed about Christmas over the years. They are:

  1. FOOD: I'm not a big eater but I always like to know that a variety of food is available to me, whenever I want it. This was one of my major joys of Christmas. I remember when I was younger, my siblings and I would help my mum in the kitchen. While my mum prepared the main dishes, we would help with little things like cutting up vegetables for the salad, doing the dishes as soon as they're used and running errands around the house. Christmas used to be a big affair. When we cooked, we made sure to prepare more than we needed. After cooking, my mum would have us give some to our neighbours and they'll do the same in return. We got to taste different meals from our trusted neighbours/friends. We also had visitors, most of whom show up unannounced. We would serve them food and drinks and if they had kids of our age, my siblings and I would play with them. It was fun for us as children but now I'm older, I don't get excited by the food anymore because it means I'll have to work a lot with barely any time to rest or enjoy the celebration.

  2. CLOTHES: When I was little, my parents would buy "Christmas clothes" for my siblings and I. Christmas clothes are simply new beautiful clothes you wear to church or to visit people on Christmas day. Some kids usually wore their Christmas clothes all day on Christmas day; I usually took mine off as soon as I got home. Putting on new clothes on Christmas day was fun as we would go to church showing our friends our new clothes especially if they came with accessories such as dummy wristwatches and eyeglasses. One year, I didn't wear my new clothes to church and I realised no one even noticed that my clothes weren't new, they still complimented me anyway, and I had fun.

  3. HAIR: Making Christmas hair is also a big deal. This is a time when everyone tries to look their absolute best and are willing to go the extra mile to achieve that. Hair dressers know this and they hike the prices for hair making during Christmas. The hair dressers are also always swamped with customers during the festive season so people usually get to the salon as early as 4 or 5am to claim a spot as one will be attended to on a "first come, first served" bases. As a child, I always fixed curly hair, it was called "telephone wire" haha. I did look cute in it though. When I didn't make Telephone Wire, I would make Bob Market braids which would be adorned with colourful beads. Now, I still love making those braids, without the beads though.

  4. TRAVELLING: Sometimes, Celebrating christmas meant we had to travel down to our home town. We travelled by road it it took about 8hrs to get there. I never liked the journey because I always had car sickness but I liked being home. There I would meet people who I didn't know and my parents would introduce them and explain how they were related to me. My extended family is a very large one. Every year, we celebrated the end of the year. Family members from all over the world would come back home to celebrate together and get to know each other. The older ones usually gave gifts or money to the younger ones. I remember saving all the money I collected and giving it to parents (rookie mistake), when I asked for the money, my mum said she used it to buy food stuff for me to eat and my dad said he paid my school fees with the money haha. I don't enjoy travelling much anymore because I now have to give gifts to my little cousins, participate in family activities and I still have car sickness.

I'll stop here for now. What do you like/liked about Christmas?

3
$ 0.41
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

A Christmas without food is incomplete 😂😂😂, merry Christmas my friend hope you're enjoying your Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I ate a lot haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I like/d about Xmas??? Easy... Nothing at all...!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 I think it's a wonderful time of the year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is... (:

$ 0.00
2 years ago