Life Hacks you should know (1)

12 23
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hey everyone, how is your day going? Mine is a bit stressful. It is Monday again and I have a stockpile of work to get to. Its a miracle that I'm even able to write this article with my boss monitoring, checking up every few minutes and asking for updates on my work. I can't wait for the day to be over so I can rest, focus on readcash and do other things I have interest in doing. I hope you alss day is going way better then mine.

Today, we'll be learning life hacks! If you don't know what life hacks are, they sre things we can do to make aour lives easier. If you're like me and you have your lazy moments, or you're broke or you just want things done faster or easier, then life hacks are for you!

Here are the list of different hacks I have learnt over time, either from watch people do it, from being told about it or from reading it on the Internet.

1. Towel Drying

I attended a boarding school where getting the chance and time to wash and dry our uniforms was limited. We did our washings mostly at night, after 10pm. There might be a chance that there will be rain or the clothes would fall and you'd have to rewash. When those happen, by the time you need to wear the clothes, they may still be wet. Your quickest option here will be to towel dry it. How it works is, you take a thick towel and lay it flat, lay a cloth on the towel, roll them up till its tight. Keep rolling till its twisted and the excess water from the cloth is coming out of the towel. It works well when one person is holding one end and twisting the towel to one side while another person on the other end twists the towel to the opposite side.

Once you've done this for a minute or two, losen the towel and take out the cloth. It will be dry or almost dry but it will also be rumpled, so you have to iron it and you're good to go. This is not a tip for everyday use but if you ever find yourself in a situation where you have limited clothes and they're not dry, you can try this

2. Phone in a Cup

While I was in the university, I attended dance rehearsals and there were times when the speakers were not available, so, we had to use our phones. The problem with that was the fact that the phones were not loud enough for everyone to hear the beat. So, we had to resort to putting the phone in a cup. When someone suggested this idea, I had my doubts but I was willing to try it out and interestingly, it didn't fail. The sound became louder that it was before and everyone could hear it. This is an interesting hack you can also make use of if you're trying to make your alarm louder, for those who sleep through their alarms.

3. Cooking oil for pepper

After felt that hot peppery sensation after cutting peppers? That feeling that makes you just want to chop of your fingers. The worst thing that you can do when your fingers are peppery is mistakenly touching your face. The eyes, above the lips and under the nose are usually the most affected. So, after cutting pepper and feeling the heat on your fingers, don't wash with water. The part of a pepper that is peppery is called capsaicin oil which repels water like most oils and water might only spread the oil rather than wash it off. Best thing to do is fight oil with oil lol. Rub any cooking oil on the affected area and the burning sensation will die down in no time.

4. Ginger for Nausea

As someone who feels nauseous every time and I'm making a long distance travel, I know that this works wonders. Whenever I have to travel, I make sure to stock my pocket or carryon with what I call my anti-nausea materials (maybe I'll talk about them in another article). In my pocket or carryon, you'll most likely find a finger of ginger. The minty flavour from the garlic helps keep the nausea at bay and provides instant relief. If you don't have the actual ginger root, you can use ginger sweets or drinks. I'll recommend the sweets over the drinks though.

What are other life hacks you know? Please share with me in the comments, I'll really like to know and don't forget to subscribe if you haven't.

4
$ 1.43
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I am doing that hacks drying my clothes using a towel when I was a student too since I only had 2 pairs of uniform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Me too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that cup trick to increase the volume. Thank you very much ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome Gertu! I'm glad I could help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That pepper oil hack is genuies and something I did not know.. I will try that hack because I hate cutting peppers and chili

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I hate cutting it too. You should definitely try it out. It works for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Seem you know a lot of these things,,,like someone that enjoyed childhood because these things are not common to this current era. Talking about the nausea symptoms, I read an article here that also said if someone drink petrol, it'll chase away the nausea symptom🥱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, these are mostly things we did when we were younger. Please nobody should be drinking petrol for nausea 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really cool stuff here!!!! I had never heard of phone in cup before,,, and I didn't know ginger could be used for nausea...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, yeah, they really work!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did that towel hack a lot back then I secondary school because I used to play a lot during the day and I end up washing my uniform late at night.

I didn't know that hack about pepper and oil before now, although I don't usually get that peppery sensations on my fingers, but I sometimes forget and touch my face with my hands 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 You did the towel hack too!! You must have enjoyed childhood haha. Sometimes, you'll forget about the pepper until you touch your face and all hell breaks lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago