How to Reduce Procrastination

17 24
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

This morning, I woke up listing everything I had to do and the thought of it just made me really tired. So, I decided to get up and start doing them because the more I delayed, the least likely I was to do them. In that vein, I'll like to share some tips on how to reduce procrastination.

Firstly, understand that procrastination is not the same as laziness. Someone who procrastinates may still be able to do other things but leave out the important ones or the ones that overwhelms, bore, or stresses them more. They may decide to do every other thing but put off some others until a later date with no decent reason. Many of us are familiar with the act of procrastination, and it is indeed a very human trait, but it doesn't mean we should let it take over our lives. So, to curb procrastination, here are some simple things you can do.

  • ADMIT IT - You have to first admit that you're procrastinating. Sometimes, it's easier to make excuses for yourself so that you won't feel bad about not doing what you're supposed to be doing, but no matter what you tell yourself, the truth is that you're procrastinating.

  • FIGURE OUT WHY - If you're procrastinating, there has to be a reason for it. As mentioned earlier, it could be because you find the work overwhelming, or you're not in the mood, or it is not interesting in any way, or it stresses you out. There are several reasons why you may want to postpone something you're meant to be doing, and if you're able to figure out why, you will be able to recognise the problem and work towards solving it. Remember, if you're putting of a task for a genuine reason, then you're not necessarily procrastinating.

  • FIND THE POSITIVE - It's hard to find the zeal to work if there is no possible positive outcome but the truth is that in almost all task, there is usually a positive outcome. It could be the sense of accomplishment; the fact that you can look back and smile at the fact that you finished that tedious task and you don't have to bother about it anymore. It could be in the positive reviews you may get after completing the task or it could even be for bragging rights; being able to proudly say that you did something. Whatever it is, find it and work towards it.

  • JUST DO IT - This is really simple. If you read the book "Eat That Frog" by Brian Tracy, you'll learn about taking the biggest or most unpleasant task and just doing it immediately. When you get that out of the way, the rest would be a breeze. So, the moment it's time to carry out a task, just start doing. Once you start, you're already a step closer to finishing. I've found that jumping on a task without taking time to dwell on the negative parts of it helps me reduce procrastination and I'm always proud of myself whenever I finish.

  • PLAN AHEAD - This may sound strange but you can plan ahead to prepare for procrastination. If you have anything that may make you distracted or give you an excuse not to complete a task, make plans on how to remove those distractions. If your friends are going to come over, you can have them come at a later time or do the work earlier. If your phone will distract you, keep it away. If you have things that may actually make you want to complete the work, then use them. If you like listening to music while cleaning, make sure you have your music ready.

  • PEER PRESSURE - Now, who says peer pressure only has to be negative? There are positive pressure that is characterised by having people who push to to do the right things. You can talk to a friend or a sibling and have them keep you accountable. They are to genuinely tell you when they think you're making excuses not to work, remind you of what you should be doing, make sure you do these things and do them on time. In return, you can also be their own accountability partner.

  • REWARD YOURSELF - The reward system works. If there's something you feel like indulging in, like a movie, a drink, etc, rather than just doing it, use it as a reward for accomplishing your task. That way, you'll have more zeal to do the work knowing that there is something to look forward to at the end.

Thanks for reading! Don't forget to leave a COMMENT and SUBSCRIBE!

PS: Who else noticed the dip in BCH in the past 24 hours or thereabout?

6
$ 1.18
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Right now I'm procrastinating what I meant to have finish but I'm here reading about procrastinating and still finding it hard to go and do it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, I hope you've finally done it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the ways to prevent procrastination is admitting it and when you do this, you take action immediately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! You're very right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this, sometimes I fall into the category of procrastination and really that’s so bad that I have so much to do and yet still move till it’s the deadline… I will take note of everything right here and work on myself thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all procrastinate sometimes, I'm glad my article helped

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo! Me and procastination eh, sometimes I feel imy sharing the same room with procastination because it's always by my side and dealing with me.🤦🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Procrastination is your roommate. You need to send him packing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a good information.thank you for sharing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for reading, Klarisse!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah and helps me alot and I am going to practice that advice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Published more advice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice advice... You're so smart!!! I particularly like the peet pressure point... Very funny if you ask me...lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I'm glad you like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how it feels. I was so lazy in past and missed some valuable opportunities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, so sorry about that. I hope more opportunities come your way

$ 0.00
2 years ago