Holly-Nolly Wood

12 25
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hey guys, good day! I hope your day is going well? haha. Yesterday was quite a day, if you read my post you'll remember when I talked about my charger that stopped working. To crown it all there was a blackout till about 8 p.m. I had to put together my work for a presentation for this morning, and I was not able to do it during the day so I stayed up all night working till 4 a.m. I had about 3 hours of sleep and woke up just in time for my presentation. It was a close call, you could probably tell from my voice that I was extremely exhausted, but I'm glad I was able to pull it off.

My documents were well prepared for the presentation, but my boss didn't go through it all. I was actually supposed to send the presentation to his email yesterday, but since I wasn't able to do it on time I didn't send it and by the time I was done, I felt it was an odd time to be sending an email. It benefited me though because since my boss didn't go through it all himself, he didn't realise that I had done some other things so today he asked me to go do them. I know I could have said that I had already done them but I already had enough work on my hands, I didn't want to add more. So hopefully, I will be done earlier today and have enough time to rest. I'm actually grateful to myself for completing my work yesterday and having the initiative to do the other part of the work which he has asked me to do today. Of course, there's still some things I have to do apart from the one I had already done, but I'm glad I don't have that extra work.

Anyway, I remembered I got nominated to do the gallery raid by black doll. Well, I raided my gallery and I realised just how little pictures I take. I barely had anything to upload, so I will sadly be skipping the challenge, but here is a picture of a meal I will like to have again. It's not much but it was an after work lunch with my colleagues, and I really enjoyed it.

Image captured by me

Now let's talk about this series I love called Bob hearts Abishola. This series is a comedy about a Nigerian woman who is working as a nurse in the United States. She is separated from her husband who has gone on to marry another wife and she lives with her nosy aunt and uncle while she strictly raises her son, Dele.

I've watched a lot of movies with African characters or rather depicting African characters and one thing that is always notable is the fake Nigerian accents. It's quite appalling that for a country with lots of Nigerian immigrants, they can't find one authentic Nigerian actor to play the role and even if they want to use an American actor, they don't do their research. Not only is the exaggerated Nigerian accent always over the top and fake, their facts about the country too is usually inaccurate or also exaggerated.

Nigeria is one of the countries where people live their lives fully both online and offline. In every site online, and every country in the world, you are sure to find a Nigerian. We are very industrious people and always looking for ways to better ourselves and our families so, we are usually willing to go the extra mile to make that happen. With the way we are and live our lives it is not hard to find information about the happenings in Nigeria. All one really need to do is a simple Google Search and you will find a lot of details about different topics and situations.

Why I'm talking about Bob hearts abishola is because this is one of the movies or series that actually has the main actor speaking with the authentic Nigerian accent. She does a wonderful job at not masking the Nigerian accent the picked up as a child despite the fact that she speaks differently or a little bit differently in real life. She still knows how it sounds and is able to deliver it authentically in the movie. The only other person with an authentic Nigerian accent in the series is her former husband, Tayo. The rest of the characters carry on with the trend of speaking with their mouth more open and their words heavily enunciated. While that is characteristic of a Nigerian accent, it is not all that it is. Although there are some little things that are exaggerated in the series it is still one of the the movies that shows more accurate aspects of what being a Nigerian is and I will definitely recommend anyone to watch it. It is a comedy so you're going to be sure to laugh your heart out.

So, if you have seen the show please let me know in the comments and tell me what you think about it.

Thank you so much for reading you guys are the best!

8
$ 1.39
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Aunty that's not fair. Snap and show us(me)(me)(me) your pics. You just stylishly waved it away🤣. Anyways we are still together, one day,,,🤸🤸

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 🤣 One day...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love that country. Indeed wrote an article about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you did? I'll check it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the another new info about Nigerians. Anyways.. I still didn't watch that TV Series tho.

Food up there really looks delicious..😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's still running and I like watching it. The food was truly delicious 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ommohh, you're making me hungry.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, sorry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you in feeling upset because the directors or producers of the movies don't realize the details of their characters. The native people of those countries they emulate can feel hurt when they touch their part of identity and do it terribly wrong. I don't know the TV series.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, it hurts to see false depictions you can't relate to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's better to have lunch alone with colleagues. You didn't tell me. Then I would have left. Nigeria is one of the countries where people live their lives fully both online and offline, Looks like I found out today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yeah, we do live out loud but we know when to keep personal things personal

$ 0.00
2 years ago