Exam Fever

13 81
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: Monday. 12th of April, 2022.

Happy New week guys! How did your day go? Mine went well. Nothing interesting happened though but nothing bad happened either.

Today, I was at loss for what to write that I came online, tried writing and just went off. After much thoughts, I decided to write about this; examinations.

I believe everyone here or almost everyone have once had to prepare for and write an exam. When I was in secondary school, there was something we called "exam fever". Exam fever refers to the feeling of sickness, fever, anxiety or panic that comes when one is about to write an exam especially an exam they are not well prepared for. A seemingly healthy student can develop a very high temperature and body weakness just as they approach the exam hall. A classmate of mine even threw up once during an exam and felt much better when the exam was over. This is a real phenomenon that can be dealt with by making proper preparations for the exams. Of course, there are other reasons why one needs to prepare for an exam. Apart from fighting exam fever, one actually needs to get good grades and pass the exams. The way to go about this is listed below:

  • Make your study space your own

It can be really discouraging or distracting to try to read in a space that is uncomfortable. No matter how hard you try to concentrate, you might find yourself constantly bothered by little elements of discomfort. It could be a flickering light, a repeated thud, a short table or chair. All these, however small may lead you to become distracted and unable to study efficiently

  • Practice on past exams

I remember writing my one of the exams I had to take to get into the university. I had to buy a book filled with past questions from several years ago till the immediate past year. I bought the ones for the subjects I was to take and I studied them. This helped a lot in determining the difficulty level of the questions, what to expect, how the questions are asked etc. If you're lucky, you may even get a repeated question from the past questions in your exam. So, if you can get your hands on old exam questions, it will be great to help yourselves prepare for an upcoming examination.

  • Teach it to others

This absolutely works for me. I found that in teaching and explaining it to someone else, I'm also figuring it out and unravelling the complexities. When I explain a topic to someone else, I tend to understand the topic even better and it usually feels like I'm entering a higher stage of enlightenment during the process. It's interesting to watch your mind unravel and figure out things on the go. The person you are explaining to can also offer some questions or insights that would help you both gain clarity on the topic.

  • Take regular breaks

It is highly important to take breaks in between study sessions. Don't push yourself beyond what your body can take. It is nice to take quick breaks to refresh your body before continuing by taking short breaks. These breaks should involve things that do not relate to studying. You could rest, take a short nap, walk around the premises etc.

  • Enjoy snacks

Studying can take a lot of energy from the body and it is good to replenish that energy. Snacks does not include heavy meals that may only end up making you tired. You can enjoy snacks and drinks

  • Plan for the Dday

For the main day of the exam, ensure that all the necessary tools you need are available. You do not want to be left in a state of panic or being unpreparedin the day of tbe exam. Ensure that your writing materials and maybe spares are intact, and also any other necessary requirements. Wear comfortable clothes, eat well before the exams and take deep breaths to keep you calm.

Thanks for reading! How do you prepare for your exams?

Thank you so much @Kushyzee for renewing your sponsorship, I truly appreciate you!!

9
$ 1.78
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 3
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I was in top in my student life. But i don't like to give exam.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand, exams can feel annoying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know of exam fever but I never experienced it. Towards exams, I do read but not to the extent of suffocating myself with book unlike my roomie then... I love to read on a free zone, play music, getting along with some things online and yes if the money is there, I go with fearless mineral (fanta).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, some people can Bury themselves in books sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great tips. I always make sure not to have too much work piling up because in the program I study there's no way I will pass my papers if I let work pile up. So everyday I read as though I am preparing for an exam.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never had an exam fever because back in primary school and high school, I was always prepared and in the university, I didn't really care about exams coz I didn't bother much about my grades, as long as I don't get an F then I am good to go 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, you're one of the "as long as I pass" students

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we haven't prepared well for an examination, exam fever tends to come in. I was told a story of a girl who would always fall sick whenever she has exam. The cause was lack of preparation. But luckily, when she began practicing these remedies you listed above she stopped experience exam fever.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything points are so impactful but in exam times nothing count on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I see

$ 0.00
2 years ago