Writer's block

10 30
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Salut famz,

Today went well to say the least. I stay at home for almost all of today except for when I went out to fill our gas cylinder at the gas station. It has been a while since I left my neighborhood as I am what most Nigerians in the west would call 'Omo get inside'🀭 Well, even though I stayed at home for a good part of the day, I was still able to make good use of my time. I helped my mom with some of her office works which involves some calculations and recordings. Accounting job is not for the hungry stomachs, no not all! At a point, I literally began to see double figures. I had to leave it for a while to get myself together and receive some fresh air. I guess this is why I never liked commercial courses no offence.

Then, I started thinking of what to write today and funny enough, I couldn't seem to get any. Even when I was on the bike on my way to the gas station, I still couldn't get any thing as I was looking around for an event or topic I could write on. That's what they call Writer's block right? When I think I finally got my own share today.

Well, there is this one that just popped up in my mind just now. It's about how some people would rather settle for the less rather than take an extra step or make an extra effort to get the max out of everything. There is this woman that recently employed me to catch her son for JAMB exam. But I noticed something strange after a week and half into the coaching. Before taking the job, the woman told me her son was already reading before and that she had even stopped her from going to school so he could read more. Honestly, I was really happy when she said that thinking it will make my work easier. The boy even confirmed that what the mother said. But when I started teaching the boy, I got the shock of my life. He does not even know what nutrition or cell in biology is or mole in chemistry or fundamental and derived quantities in physics are! I was as shocked as you probably are right now. I tried my possible best, overworked myself (for perfection sake), gave the boy timetable and assignments (most of which he wouldn't do), and when he fails in keeping up or voluntarily leave the assignment undone, I reported this to his mom and guess the answer she gave me? That I should just do what I can do, just try to give him the probable questions that will come out (as if I was some sort of JAMB officials setting the questions), and lastly, I should let him rest. It's not like I engaged him in a marathon coaching. I usually start from around 10a.m and end around 4pm. That's a six hours lectures which is only done during the weekdays. Saturday's lectures start from around 12-1Pm to around 4pm. And mind you she employed me 3weeks and some days to the exam. There were other jambites in the neighborhood who would go to their coaching centres around 7-8am in the morning and end around 6pm in the evening, I'm not exaggerating. And some would even attend lectures on Sundays. Mind they have been attending this coaching centres since last year November.

Well, seeing both the mom and son's response to the lesson, I decided to give myself some rest as I was already getting lean due to me overworking myself although my conscience wasn't at rest because I felt like I was cheating them as they are paying for a service I wasn't delivering in full capacity even though the blame was on them. I thought that was all until I got another shock of my life.

A week to the exam, the woman told me to take her son to a CBT center so he can practice with a computer. I took him to one of JAMB official centers and register him for the training. He was also given the opportunity to participate in a mock exam even though it has ended some weeks ago. After about 3 hours, he was done with the training and exam and was coming out with a big smile on his face that was almost showing all his teeth. I was filled with some joy in my heart co I thought he had done really well. Who would come out of an exam Hall with that kind of smile unless he had done well? So, I asked him if he was able to attempt all the questions well. He said yes with the Exception of physics which remained just two. I asked if it was simple he said very simple. Be even said they gave them their scores after they finished the exams. He said he really did well. I was already teeming with joy in my heart thinking he was in his right senses, but he wasn't. You will know why I said he wasn't in his right sense very soon.

When I finally asked him what his score was, he, with all smiles and confidence, almost shouted 197! I believed my ears were not functioning well at that period so asked him again. He repeated it this time with ecstacy. I repeated the score to him so I can be certain I was hearing right. He confirmed it that it was 197. 197 out of 400? And he was happy? It was then I knew I missed road and the Igbos would say. After writing the real exam, I was praying that God will have mercy on him and let him pass, cos non of my students have failed before. I didn't even bother to tell God to let him remember what he read, how am I sure he opened the textbook?

Fast forward. So the result of the exam came and his mom called me informing me that he passed the exam. She was thanking profusely on the phone and I'm sure if I was with her physically, she would have given me a hug. When I asked what he scored, she said 209. One part of me felt like insulting her for thanking me earlier, but I wasn't taught to insult my elders not have I done it before, so I kept my cool. I thanked her and hung my phone. I was so angry all day.

About 3 days later, she called me again t come and coach her son for the WAEC exams. He wanted to write it so I could use it overseas as the parent her planning on sending him abroad. I have resolved to do within the parent's limit. I'll only go to their place when they call me and will not spend above 3 hours there, so help me God Amen.

Thanks for reading this article. Shalom

9
$ 2.66
$ 2.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 3
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Somebody that wants to write jamb don't know ordinary fundamental quantities in physics? Omo! What he wan go write for the jamb? πŸ˜‚ But seriously sha this work is on a gold platter, the parents aren't even too bothered if the boy learns or not, so why stress yourself too much? Just do according to your capacity and keep collecting the free money jare

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what it's supposed to be, but my conscience won't let me rest. I have told her I am no more interested in the job. I'll be quiting next week

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for your efforts broπŸ˜‚ .. but shey you know that gaining admission these days is not even about how intelligent you are if not I should have gained admission long before I eventually gained it. Luck and connection does it for us in Nigeria.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nor be lie. Me sef I for don graduate by now, but all thanks to Nigeria's academic situation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor...don't kill yourself for those people ooo. They probably have company to give that boy already and you're there killing yourself. My brother so what you can and enjoy free money..period!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah that's true, but I think I'd let this one go, my conscience dey pinch me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See free money.. you dey complain.. let them do anything dey like, do your own and leave there jare. When waec hit am, him mind go dey

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Abeg, WAEC hit am gently o make im bones no go break

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Accounting work is not actually for the weak🀣. There's this lady in my work place, she once told me one 'not so special' thing about her. She said she can take any work but avoid her when ever it has to do with calculations 🀣🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omo, nor be even about the calculation part o, na the recording part. It's damn frustrating. I had cover over 23 register then I made one small mistake. I had to start all over from the beginning πŸ˜”πŸ˜Ώ

$ 0.00
1 year ago