They violated my human right

8 37
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Bonjor mes Amis,

The various laws imbedded in the Constitution of a country like Nigeria is to prevent people from infringing on other's right and privacy. Despite the presence of these laws, human right violation is still very much practiced and the worst thing is, it is done with outright impunity and confidence.

I think the major reasons why right infringement are carried out by people are:

  1. The ineffectiveness of the law .

  2. Pure ignorance.

The first one is carried out by law enforcement agencies and others who know the law but take it for granted because they believe they are above and can't be prosecuted by the law. Take for example the Abba kyari's case, the End SARS saga, public money embezzlement and so many other events that was not even captured on camera.

The second one on the other hand is done by the people of the society against themselves. We witness this almost everyday but don't really know that it is against the law. One happened to me some days ago.

We live in what some would call an estate but I can't really call it that if you know what I mean 😂 So, there is this party that was done in one the front of house in a street away from my house. It was a burial ceremony of an old woman who died sometimes ago. They had started the party around 10am in the morning and continued till around 6pm in the evening. I wasn't really bothered about the noise they were making one because that's they way we Nigerians know how to party; you must make noise with speakers and a loudmouth MC 😂. Two, because I was busy doing something which took my attention, helping me to block out the noise. At 6 when I still heard the noise, which was not getting any lower but seems like the party just started, I was surprised. I decided to check the venue of the party out. It turned out that there was no body there again apart from the DJ, some guys drinking and smoking their lives away, some girls doing what is not proper and some adults which were just indifferent to what was going on. The house was a 'face me, I face you' apartment consisting of atleast 8 rooms. I returned home really angry. If you read my last post, I made mention that I have not been able to sleep for some days ago which as really affected me. Just when I was returning back to normalcy, this people came with their party.

I ate quite early and by 8pm, I was already preparing to sleep. But these people won't allow that because of the noise they were making. I left from my room and went to my mom's room to sleep since it was a bit quite there compared to mine but it was chilling in there and I'm not really a fan of Cold. I love raining season but I prefer a warm weather. So, I ran back to my room.

I stood awake till 12 am thinking these people would put off the music by then and go to sleep or reduce the volume. But to my dismay, they didn't! And since it was midnight the sound was amplified by the moving wind. I was so angry. I was just pacing up and down, checking the time at intervals and was so sleep deprived. I know my right of peaceful living as been violated and I really wish I can get the police to arrest those people but then I thought of the idea and concluded that it will be a waste of time and resources if the police finally gets there and the people, some of whom are Yahoo boys, bribe them. They would just turn against me and probably arrest on a count of disturbing public peace and hindering a public function. They won't try that overseas, but we not in the overseas. So, I endured it through the night and just as it was around 4-5am, they decided to put off the music. It was then I was able to sleep and by 8 again they resumes their party.

The most annoying part was when they wanted to bury the old woman, they were all crying like real flood if tears! I was shocked. I was like ' no be this people dey play one corner and the likes yesterday and were busy eating, smoking, and commiting all forms of immoral act? I guess life is really not more than 6 feets.

Conclusion

The infringement on people's fundamental rights should not be condone. Infact it must be prosecuted with no bias. This reminds me of the case of a young Christian girl that was killed three days in sokoto state, Nigeria. She was killed because they said she blasphemed the name of their prophet. Isn't that barbaric? And up till now, none of the perpetrators have been caught or prosecute. Then, it's safe to say some people are above the law. I don't support blasphemy as I believe each and every religion should be given it due respect, including traditional religion, but killing her the name of defending your religion? No, that's just absurd.

So don't violated other people's right, because if it were you, you won't like.

Thanks for reading this article. I think I'm going to pause the crypto news for now, maybe @TheRandomRewarder does not like it cos since the day I started writing on that subject, he never visit my post abi I don offend am🤔😅 Nevertheless, thanks for always taking your time to read my post, Jah bless.

5
$ 0.27
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 1
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

No vigilante to tell them to stop playing the music? I hate noise sha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No vigilante o Me too, it disturbs my sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na today you dey know? Human rights are only meant for the rich in Nigeria. If you have lots of money, then yes you can easily fight for your right, but if you don't have money then just suck it up and move on, coz if you decide to fight, especially if it's against a person with money and influence, you go sleep for jail for weeks, that's just the country we find ourselves

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is well o. Person wey I go call make he con arrest sef go arrest me if e see Moni. It's really a pitiful thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The ineffectiveness of the law is a big slap on our face. Just like the instance of END SARS you stated, see how everything went dead and no legal and major judgement against the top People that pioneered the move and killings. Dead!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really a pity Nigeria is in this state. I really wonder if the colonization people accuse of been the cause of the country's back fall, I mean take a look at Ghana and south Africa? It is well o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, calling the police to arrest a noisy neighbor is a waste of time and they won't even bother to leave their office self. 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wahala dey for Nigeria oo😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago