Inmunoglobulinas, Plasmaféresis and Corticoesteroid, is to treat CIDP

1 38
Avatar for Daia
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Health
Date: September 19, 2021
Author: Daia

Hi friends. I am new to read cash, and I look forward to sharing knowledge and reciprocally and interacting with everyone. To start today and as the first article that I publish, I bring you a concern about a personal problem that arises to me. I have a 5 year old boy diagnosed with Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy (CIDP). For those who do not know what this disease is about, I comment that it is a chronic disease of autoimmune nature that affects the peripheral nerves, and that it is the peripheral nerves here they go, their function is to transport the stimuli that the body receives, both external as internal, taking them to the central nervous system to be processed and vice versa, it transfers the orders generated by the central nervous system to the organs and muscles of our entire body to carry out the different functions.

If these nerves do not work properly, the muscles cannot be governed by the brain and movement is impossible or difficult, because the brain orders would not reach their destination or they take a long time to arrive due to latency along the way. of communications and that these cables lose their coating (myelin for the case of what covers the nerves) the communication does not get to be carried out. Just this happened to my child, leaving him limited of movement in both upper and lower limbs due to weakness in those muscles that cannot be activated by his damaged nerves.

Just a panoramic view for those who have never heard about it because in fact they affect a tiny number of the world's population, which is why they are classified as rare diseases. Well my question, different lines of treatment are used for this disease, corticosteroids, plasmapheresis and immunoglobulins. We have used prednisolone steroids in this case but did not obtain satisfactory results.

In the case of immunoglobulin, I would like to know if there are variants that are not administered intravenously, if not in injection since it has been impossible for us to administer the drug due to the fact that it has difficult peripheral venous access, in addition to being a child due to its own muscle weakness.

Thanks for passing by. I hope to find someone who can read me and help me. I open a window of exchange to all those who live closely because they suffer or have a loved one with a rare disease.

Credits:

100% original content.

All images are made with Canvas.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Daia
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Health

Comments

It's well😪. This is my first time of reading about such disease maybe because I'm not a medical personnel. Above all, I pray God take control 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago