Starting a new job in IT and pandemic

2 32
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

You can congratulate me guys as I have started my first job in an IT company(Apisero) which works on MULESOFT(An integration software basically) and many other softwares. Actually, four of us from college got placed here and since it is pandemic out there, we are working from home for now. I joined on 6th august and am still in training period. Soon I will be able to share a lot with you guys about corporate life but I really want to tell you my experience so far.

Job and Pandemic :

Though it's really good to work from home but still when you are sitting there in office with your colleagues, everything is more fun. Like there is a small help you need with your work, now you have to share you screen over video call and they will help you out but if there is some network issue, the work is gonna take hours. On the other hand, it could be resolved within minutes in office.

Also, we friends had plans of earning and living on our own. Though we can save most of our money working from home but it takes away the thrill of partying, having pizza together after our first day at work as we planned, going out on weekends(enjoying our 2 days leave) and lot more.

Sitting before laptop entire day in meeting is not that fun but still work is work.

Perks of wfh : Family around you always, mom's hand cooked food won't be missing anymore, no issues of dressing and all, no hectic transportation, a lot of money being saved and many more.

Since I was used to a world carrying out day to day tasks with physical inclusion, it will take a month or two to get used to all of it.

What changes I have felt :

  • In earlier phases of my life, we used to call our seniors either sir or ma'am but in corporate, they mentioned it the first thing that no sir or ma'am will be used. Everyone be it 20 or 60 years old will be called by name only.

  • Way of communication is also something interesting. We have to be cheerful and formal at the same time. Since there are no sir and ma'am, we have to show respect and thankfulness with our way of communication. It's you way of expressing only that will make you famous and known. English is really at the heart of every organization these days.

  • Since I am in training period, I have less work to do. Our trainer is super fun and in most of the trainings I have been, I have felt this thing that they make it boring with lot of the knowledge they have. But this guy name Mahesh is superb with his way of training and teaching. He never forgets to include jokes in his lecture and many of them. It's really fun to learn and laugh at the same time.

  • I have had no experiences with taxes that government deducts from our salary but there are several rules whenever we join an organization and we have to comply with them.

  • Some awesome portals are being used here for employee comfort and ease to communicate and control the workflow. They have interfaces for salary deduction calculations, leave application etc.

  • And of course this schedule of 9am to 6pm is killing as I also go to gym after it. So its morning 9 to evening 8:30 for me. Hope I get used to this soon.

My writing passion :

I am really very fond of reading and writing but haven't done any reading in a very long time. But I am keeping my writing passion alive by addressing you guys and whatever be the tension or work, I always feel free and fresh enough to write it over here. Though frequency of my articles have fallen a lot now as I was in habit of writing one every day but I really look forward to write to you guys every once in a while.

Few advice before your first day at work :

Just take it as a friendly advice form me and wish you a rocking day at work :

  • Greet everyone with a smiley face and be cheerful.

  • Work on your English as it's global language of exchange and not everyone at your new organization might know your language.

  • Be friendly and tend to reach out as you will need it a lot and it's also a general practice if you want to work in teams.

  • Try to know everyone on your team as it will become easy for you to work together.

  • Learn to operate you computer perfectly as you will be needing it in most of the jobs these days.

  • Try to include sleeping on time and getting up early in your daily habit and do sleep on time before your joining day. It's must in corporate life and any job for to follow the routine. It's up to you to chalk you routine in case you are gonna have shifts.

I wish you all a super successful career with a lots of money and work-life balance.

Thanks for reading!!!!!!!

Thanks unsplash for free images always!!!!!

2
$ 1.08
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yes sure..Yeah wfh is good but I really have my reasons to say that offices were good too....Thanks for reading and upvoting always

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Congratulations on your new job! I believe that there are more benefits for the wfh setup since I can see my sister being more relaxed since she started working from home. I hope you enjoy your work and your advice is very helpful. I will make sure to remember them for when I started working again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago