Not just another day, a short story

0 35
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

It happened again today, he got drunk and couldn't control himself. Its his pain and addiction that sucks humanity out of him and you can witness him loosing himself to Satan in those unruly fits of alcohol. Many times he dozes off on stairs and old maid Jessa's shoulders are being put to good use along with loyal Ruby guiding them in his own way.

"Got him under the sheets finally", he should understand that my muscles have had enough already. Come ruby, its way past bed time already, he will play with you tomorrow.

OHHH it hurts, my head will burst any time. Not much of a good morning that's for sure. This hangover will kill me if I lie like this anymore. Jess, plz get some lime plz plz and don't call dad again. To himself : I wish I had put dad's money to some good use. But living by myself do have some perks after all.

Jessa : Here, drink it up!! And don't act so cool, I might be a maid only but I have been here for so many years now and every since your Dad went overseas, you have been deteriorated all by your own efforts.

Oh plz just don't get started again. Love you jess, I am starving too, can't remember what I had last night. Can you get me something to eat? Where is my ruby, I miss him like anything......

Jessa : You are getting ignorant of him. He wags crazily always till you get home and it's so sad to see his face after finding you like that. He still tries but can't find his owner in a drunkard.

You are being hard on me. I love Rubsyyy more than anyone around. He is my darling, my sweetheart. I will get him for a long walk today and maybe some ice cream to repent. Is that okay ruby, now come here, be a good boy. Happy now, Jess?Hey!!!! stop eating my shoe. What??? Now you will punish me too?

Jessa : Now get up and be tidy, I will get you something. Ever since she left, you have immersed yourself in ......

Enough jess, why do you have to bring her up again and again. I don't want anything, come ruby get your leash(slams the door).

(Tying shoe laces in despair)Ain't you my perfect companion, you know how to make me smile even when I am at my worst. Let's go get something from subway first or I will die and later we will go to my old man's Daffodil Barn to play.

Jessa : (mumbling) I have grown old and wish to set him right before I am done here, is it too much to ask for? This alcohol was already his favorite and now that she has parted ways, it's getting hellish here. But what was her fault anyways? Any sane person would quit. She stood by till she could, hitting her while drunk, it's surely too much for a innocent professor to take for sure. It was a big shame for me to even witness, I wonder what toll it had brought on her?

God knows where he is headed to now. I need to talk to Mr. Singh right away. Only he can help us now.

It's so good here always. These animals are so carefree, feeding on green grass like it's their last day on Earth. Go!!! catch it ruby!!!!!! Jess is so mean always. Why she never respects my space? Am I still too much obsessed with Sheena? I don't even remember exactly what happened that night but I surely didn't hit her... Aghhh or maybe I did but it sure wasn't me, it was all Jack D and she could have gone easy on me. I sure do miss her but Jess is so evil to bring it up. I just couldn't confront anyone for that(mumbling a million things while playing & frustration taking over again).

Ughhhh!!! I decided to never go back there again but what if it feels lonely at night? What if the A-sized bed feels icy cold and freezes me to death(liquor feels like the only refuge, it's always good to dilute pain with mixing some of it in : goes to bar).

Rubsyyyy, you stay out here and wait(leashes dog outside), I will be back in no time. It's so cozy in here, familiar faces all sharing their pain. Oh!! I so wanna be a part. Today, I will cry my heart out. Hey Jack(bartender), fill me up buddy, I am in for a big bang today.

(In trip now) Do you know she left me? (somewhere in crowd) Don't get started again you loser? Come again(he said in a tipsy voice)!!!!! (From crowd again) shut up you loser.....(Escalating things) I am gonna kick your butts hard today!!!!

Crowd gathered, rushed at him, heavy fists pounding his body. They aren't even aiming before hitting....Blood gushes out of his nose, he shrieks in pain in half conscious state. Mutilated body lying on the floor(lights fading quickly).

(Gets up next morning, bruises all over his body) Where am I? Ouchhhhhh!!!! I don't remember shit....This is strange!!! My head hurts, this is crap, Deja vu is an old story now....OHMYGOOOOOOODDDDDDDD(shrieks in pain as he lifts his hand up). What is going on? Jess come over her please. I am dying (A tall bald man in shiny tuxedo with a stylishly maintained grey beard emerges from behind the curtains hanging flawlessly. His shoe's shine, well pressed clothes and neat like anything and above all his sturdy build was evidence of the discipline he follows. Awkward eye contacts takes place).

Jess : (Sensing the building tension in air) Here I am. Did you called out for me son?

Hey old man, long time no see(trying to control all the pain and after effects of heavy drinking). When did you get here? How are things back in UK? How are deals going? Any new clients?(Bombarding his dad with all sorts of questions, after all fatal injuries are to be presented as casual ones so as to put up a good story of how it happened).

Mr. Singh : Long time no see son. Got here yesterday morning only. There was an urgent meeting which couldn't wait so I had to hurry all my way. Thought to surprise you as well. What about all these injuries? How did you get them? Blood wrapped bandages, am I here to see my son like that?

Oh these! They are nothing. (Quickly thinking of a story) Didn't Jess tell you, me and rubsyy went of to barn? Horses broke free of stable and there was a serious mess all over the Daffodils abruptly. Nothing to worry, doc said nothing serious, prescribed meds and bed rest. Btw old man, you need to tighten your dear horses back at barn, especially that Badal, he kicked me almost dead yesterday.

Mr. Singh : Oh I see!!! Take care in that case, I will ask doc to visit you everyday. Where is ruby btw? I haven't seen him since I got here. Not by the main gate, also not in his favorite lawn by small pond. Is he at roof?

(Air getting dense suddenly, sweat appears on his forehead within a matter of seconds, throat drying strangely like someone just wringed all the water in a millisecond) Oh shittttt!!! (talking to himself : I made a mess. How could I be so careless? I lost him. I lost another love. My selfishness got him. Only he understood me always, no one had enough time for me, he never came up with any wise words when I messed up, those belly rubs were like having Sheena by me again, Oh my lovely soul where are you now? What have I done). I lost him (starts crying loudly, thinking of all the happiest memories they made together makes his throat choke, even the thought that he can't ever see that face again makes him suicidal. Unbearable pain of losing Sheena took hold of him again and Ruby's intensifies it to the degrees beyond human limits of bearing). I can't lose him dad, he was always there for me. I am undeserving son, a failed husband and now I have lost my only friend(Trying hard to speak every single word, it feels like his head will burst). You always told me to look by myself but I couldn't manage a single thing unlike you. I am a shame for your last name. I just want him back dad, I won't touch liquor ever again. I wish god listens me for this one last time.

Mr. Singh : (Grave expressions on his old man's face, hands tied together. It seems like he is trying to draw out some meaning from the situation. Leaves room suddenly). Bye!! I thought you would change but leaving this place up to you did no good. I wanted you to be responsible for your actions, for this place's well being. Hope you will look after yourself finely now.(Exits these being his last words).

(Shivering badly struggling hard to utter the words out)Dad please don't go, I need your help. Daaaaaaaaaaad please(Shrieks crying hardly now. The pain from bruises being neglected as the wound being inflicted on heart is next to death). Dad please(crying as he says) I know I failed you, please don't go(all sort of realizations falling upon him but it feels like it's so late to redeem himself).

As he falls prey to a severe bruise's agony, a brown hairy face comes towards him running with a packet held in mouth, wagging tail at sharp rpms, huge fluffy body covered all with silky hair, seems like a messenger of god approaching him whose tag reads "LOVELY RUBSY". He lets his position compromised so as to wake up with the bruise's pain if he is hallucinating but to his surprise, Ruby is by bed now and is asking for his hands to caress him, a pure bond they always shared.

His old man standing in distance like a savior seeing both of them reuniting, a sense of pride in his eyes sheathed with harsh cover formed due to sheer negligence of his son but assured that this time its gonna work. It will bring about a change unlike anything ever did since his mother left and he dropped his intellectual prowess(business tycoon he was) for shifting to the lowlife of a drunkard and growing more on the dark side ever since Sheena left him too. This time his old man believes that Ruby will bring all of it back, reunion of love will pull his son out of the abyss of darkness.....after all, love is the strongest remedy for pain.

Jessa : Thank god I called you Mr. Singh!! If you wouldn't have followed them to farm secretly, dear Rubsy would have never been rescued. I guess I can die whenever I want now.

Mr. Singh : Well Jessa, it seems that I know my son pretty well.

~By DM

Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty

Hope you liked this story enlightening power of love and those who love you while at the same time diminishing the addiction by the strength of will you gain when you care about those of love. This is my first attempt at writing something like this. Do comment whether you like it.

Happy reading!!!!!

Welcoming Subscribers!!!!!!!!!!

lead image source (thanks unsplash):

https://unsplash.com/

4
$ 6.45
$ 6.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.01 from @jadams2k18
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments