Is Love Really Difficult- John 15:12

1 11
Avatar for Cryptopsycho21
2 years ago

This is the verse that Bible.com had when I got up this morning. It is a very short and concise verse. It sums up just about everything that Jesus taught while here. It sounds simple, but is it?

Jesus didn't go around loving the good and cursing the bad. Quite the opposite, He didn't restrict his love from anyone. He went around with enough love for everyone. Even when confronted by the authorities, He didn't show them the full extent of what He could do. He didn't have a legion of angels swoop down from heaven or anything destructive like that. He just turned their words around and forgave them. He showed them miracles of love, healing, and ultimately His resurrection. Shouldn't we be like this?

Of course, it is simple. It sounds simple. So why is it so difficult for us to do? One reason is that we are not perfect- I think that's a big one. Another problem is that we are not God. Our perspective is very limited. We only know what we see and hear. That means if someone is bad to us, we assume that is their character. They are bad and we shouldn't be kind to them. When we treat someone badly, we understand the content behind the action. We were having a bad day, so I snapped at him. Or I was late for work, so I pushed my way through the crowd. We are not like that all the time, so others shouldn't judge for it. However, that is exactly what we do to others. Our perspective is flawed, so we are not qualified to judge (which we shouldn't do anyway-right).

Another problem is that we are living in a very toxic world. The media is a business that makes money by stressing us out and pushing their interests. One media company supports one political side and the other media company supports the other. They are both pushing poison. Look at the Covid mess. Do this, do that, you can't do this, you can't do that. Does any of it work? Why isn't their message, stay healthy, get some exercise, eat a balanced diet, talk to your friends, and pray. The easy answer, it doesn't fit in their agenda and it would reduce our stress.

Okay, so you're asking....how do I love everyone? Honestly, I don't know. I like to think that I do it most of the time, but now and then, I get angry. It takes practice I guess. I'm not perfect and my perception is flawed. However, I know and have come to terms with it. I try not to judge. I try to look for the content behind the action. I try to humble myself.

I also try to keep my world clean and remove toxic inputs from my life. I don't really watch the news. I try to be more involved in society and connect to people. When I am treated badly by others, I pray for them because I think they are going through something painful. As I mentioned, I'm not perfect. But since I have been doing this, my life is less stressful and blessed. I hope it works for you, too.

I have a channel on Noise.Cash you are welcomed to. It's called Jesuslives and we share the Word and help each other. If you are not a member of Noise.cash here is my link. I'll see you there, my friend. https://noise.cash/u/cryptopsycho21

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @MarielB22
Avatar for Cryptopsycho21
2 years ago

Comments

I agree with darn near everything you wrote except for the entire 2nd paragraph. Jesus did yell at people. In fact, we know He did on at least two occasions: when He initially cleansed the Temple at the beginning of His ministry, and the second time when He cleansed the Temple during passion week.

Second, He did show his power! When the Romans came with Judas to arrest Jesus in the garden, He definitely used his power. Notice they all fell to the ground backwards. This was His demonstration that they could do absolutely nothing He would not allow. And finally, Jesus demonstrated His power by taking up His life again after He died on the cross, thus demonstrating His power of life over death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago