Death in the family!

2 64
Avatar for CryptoNag
1 year ago
Topics: Death, Reality

13th of April 2022

Lead Image

I used to be among those that didn’t believe in the paranormal until the events of that night changed my life forever. My dad and girlfriend lost their lives and deep down I feel it was all my fault. My name is Matt, I’m 27 years old and would like to narrate my paranormal encounter.

Dad and I Used to work as a coroner at the morgue owned by Dad. He used to be a medical practitioner until mom’s death. He retired afterwards as he couldn’t bare the shock of losing her. They had both worked as Doctors at the Glenwood hospital thus going to work without her by his side wasn’t easy for him. He began the morgue business not long after. I grew up in the business and often assisted him until I decided this was something I also wanted to do. I learnt the process of opening the body, checking for defects and cause of death, after which the body is embalmed and kept in storage till requested.

It was the 16th of March 2017 when the life changing events happened. I had planned a date with my girlfriend Maurice earlier in the day. We had planned she would meet me at the morgue by 7pm after which we’d both leave together. It was a few minutes to 7pm when she came to the morgue. We bade Dad goodbye and approached the elevator which led to the first floor as the Morgue was underground and an apartment building was directly above it. As we got to the elevator, it opened suddenly. It was Steve from the police department. He wheeled in a body. It was coming in later than the normal.

Maurice and I went to the main floor and to the passage that leads out of the building. “That body came in late babe. It’s unusual”, I said as we walked through the passage. “I mean. If it wasn’t important Steve wouldn’t have brought it, but it means dad would have to stay up all night”, I said. “What are you suggesting Matt?”, Maurice replied as she gave me a firm look while she rolled her eyes. “Uhm… I don’t think I’d like to leave dad behind. He should be prepping to go home but now he can’t”. “I understand Matt, but you’d have to leave at some point and get on with your life. You can’t be here forever.” “Yeah, I know but…”. “Alright it’s no problem but what about our date, is it cancelled?”, she asked with a sad look on her face. “No babe it’s not. How about I join him, we finish up with the body and you join me in three hours”. She looked disappointed. “We see the midnight show and grab some drinks. Don’t worry we’d still have our fun”, I said as I hugged her and saw her off to the entrance. She looked sad as she left but I knew she was gonna come back. I couldn’t leave my dad alone. He needed my help.

I went into the elevator and down into the morgue. I walked slowly as I walked through the passage towards the morgue entrance. I opened the door- the officer was right there talking to dad. “The press will need answers by tomorrow as the body was found at the crime scene unidentified and without a know-how of how it got there”, he explained. “Tomorrow morning it is...”, Dad said. We told him goodbye as he walked out the door into the passage.

“You didn’t have to come back”, Dad said as he looked at me with a large smile on his face. “Yes dad, but I had to. I couldn’t leave you here alone”.

“One… two... three”, we both said as we lifted the body from the stretcher unto the observation table at the middle of the room at the middle of the room. I wheeled the stretcher to a corner afterwards so we could begin the autopsy. A few inches from the table was a video camera which dad turned on as I picked up a coat, wore a pair of gloves and got ready for business.

“We are at the beginning of the autopsy of an unidentified body. My name is Scott Phillip, head Coroner, and will be assisted by Matt Phillip, a certified medical practitioner”, he said while looking straight at the camera. “We will begin with an external evaluation, followed by an internal evaluation of organs, then to the brain and so on. Matt let us begin”, he said as he looked at me while I brought a tray that contained several scalpels, scissors and other surgical instruments. I dropped the tray by the observation table and picked a small camera which I used to take several pictures while Dad handles the scalpels and began to cut through the body.

To be continued....

I've not written an article in a long time.. due to being extremely busy and some unforseen circumstances.. I'm back now. Let's hope @TheRandomRewarder is still on my side!

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
Sponsors of CryptoNag
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoNag
1 year ago
Topics: Death, Reality

Comments

Let's wait till we read the second part to know the work will turn out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can Imagine what's gonna happen next... I await the suspense..

$ 0.00
1 year ago