The Problem With Read.Cash: Let's Talk! (Bonus Dank Memes)

28 120
Avatar for CryptoMax
3 years ago

Read.Cash is a wonderful platform and one that perfectly shows how beautiful the BCH community is.

Not only that, it definitely brings a lot of value to the blockchain and it raises awareness on the obvious advantages of Bitcoin Cash.

However, it is obviously not free from problems, and since the project is still trying to find its way, I thought I could bring light to one that I find to be very serious.

Don't get me wrong, I love the platform, and I want to help it grow and develop.

But the fact stands that I'm here for a bit less than a week now and I already noticed the problem I'm going to talk about, so you probably also know it's there.

...So, let's discuss.

How do we fix it?

Exposing the Problem: Here's What We All Know!

We all know that Read.Cash is all about creating quality content, raising awareness, promoting adoption and rewarding users for it.

On the other hand, we know most writers here are looking for one thing especially - Tips.

This isn't bad and it is to be expected. After all, why should someone spend their time and hard work here rather than on Medium, Hubpages, their own blogs and etc... Blogging is hard work and you need to be rewarded for it.

Well, as I said in my article yesterday, I love Read.Cash and I'm going to actively work to pump it to new heights - as a full time blogger this means I've been writing for less than I'm used to earning and that's ok as I am working for the community of a token I really like and making a difference here (at least I feel like I am).

Finally, we want read.cash to attract talent, and talent needs tipping.

Heck, I'd bet most of the people writing here would stop if they wouldn't get tips.

Who wants to write for nothing?

And this brings us to the problem.

The Whole Community is Based Around @TheRandomRewarder

The bot is carrying the whole project on its shoulders.

I dare you to, while you read your daily articles, take out what the bot tips and see what tips are left.

Even a $30+ tips article only have cents if you take the bot out.

This is a real problem.

The community is too reliable on the bot, and even I have seen posts complaining that the bot doesn't reward them enough in my 5 days of Read.Cash life, which is sad - this isn't the bot's fault though.

TheRandomRewarder's Custodians Are Unsung Heroes:

The people who fund TheRandomRewarder are the true heroes of this community, they are carrying the whole thing on their backs.

Of course, we must include @MarcDeMesel as well, who I have been refraining to tag since he is so spammed with tags he must have 98 pages of notifications to read every day.

Why?

Because Marc, Ellie, Roger and Random are the ones carrying the community and people feel like they are writing exclusively for them.

Who Are You Writing For: Be Honest

We end up all writing for Marc, Ellie, Roger, TheRandomBot, and all the other power tippers because we know well that those are the only ones making the hassle worth it... and this is a problem we need to solve.

We need to solve this problem for the platform to grow.

Before you say I do nothing myself, read my article:

I have proven I'm here fighting for the platform I want to see grow...

...but that includes saying these things and pointing where it hurts.

I'm even a bit afraid that I could get in trouble with this post, due to upsetting the status quo or something, but I feel this is the major problem right now.

We need to think of a way in which the community doesn't feel they have to decipher an algorithm to be successful, or that the community rewards people who reward properly.

I earned about $50 already and didn't take a cent out, but someone who needs it more (or the people who are doing it just for the money) would have cashed out and be $50 richer - they would face the same conditions as me.

What about offering some kind of benefit for those who provide added value?

I don't know if the bot weights that in also, but by the text and looks of it I don't think so - but again, the bot and Marc are generous and their tips should be mirroring generosity, they shouldn't be the ruleset that makes the platform viable.

I feel like I could be clearer, but I also feel that I explained myself enough for people to understand it.

Don't you ever think what would happen if Marc, Ellie, TheRandomRewarder and the rest would stop tipping?

We would have a full wall of articles with 0.01$ tips, and that wouldn't be fun.

Check some of my other articles!

24
$ 1.00
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @ptschip
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of CryptoMax
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoMax
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you for sharing another beneficial assets. I joined read cash recently but i wanna Know about all challenges and how to avoid from them within less then no time.
Your both articles proved and give me new way to do Smart work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it . To be sincere, most people write to get tipped, I just discovered it not quite long in a post, where the person was complaining bitterly how he hasn't been tipped for days. Writing is all about passion .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right 👌 i came here from noise cash. First i came here to earn some BCH. But after writing some articles i started loving it. Although I get less than 0.5 $ each article, because I write on movies and here no one is interested, but i really love to write. I am writing an article a day since last week.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, you can always count on me to pay you visits :D I like your blog, keep doing what you do, once I am famous I'll increase the tips xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can agree with you on some points like people are writing for some people. But why shouldn't they? They are giving away $10000 to some post. This big amount, if it falls once on someone what do you need anymore. This is normal, it is to take a try to jump from ground level to higher level. This is not the problem, From my first day, on this platform, I have been saying that I am here to write and read. I am not too much concerned about how much I get in return? Honestly, I am not a good writer, just a learner and struggling to improve my writings. Now, questions come about tipping? I feel fewer tips on my writings will be beneficial for me because that gives me the courage to write and improve my writings. I feel I need more improvements. if I need to rate my writings with others I am not worthy to get $1 because I am not that perfect writer we get $1 from $500. But believe me, getting less than $1 motivates me more than getting higher than that. So in my case, I don't compare the tip with the physical world but take myself as the rating of my writing. And I don't care, who gets what? I am here to learn and write. For me, this is the perfect place and I see there are no problems here. Everything is normal here.

See my posts, if I want to earn $ I could also do some research and write about the topics where there is a high influx of visitors but I care and get stick to the topics which I am fascinated on.

Thank you

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Thank you for the nice comment Lawa, cool to see you're enjoying it. As for my thoughts on it, I'm just saying that it would be nicer if there were more people supporting the platform instead of just the top tippers we know carry this whole thing on their shoulders. Plus, we bloggers by trade usually are hard pressed to make each word we write in a day count, so talent needs to be rewarded in order for it to come here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

honestly i am thinking of how to decipher the bot's algorithm of tipping and found out that it's the keywords we use in our post. I am a person who really needs extra cents to support my daily needs but i am trying my best to give back in return even for a small amount for now.

Thanks for tackling this read.cash flaws man, this platform is i think still on its alpha version, it just more than a year of existence. For sure they will make some updates in the future. Great post.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

If we look at the data from the statistics page though, we can see the major influx of users already passed and the platform is slowing down though, which kind of worries me. Did you notice that already?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi. Just an addition, regarding the number of users declining. Read.cash used to be spammy (lots of plagiarized articles, short uninteresting posts, and more), and the decline might be because read.cash became quite strict with the rules and the introduction of noise.cash for short post. Either users are caught or transferred to noise. Just a hunch though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello there HXV Hmm, interesting, didn't know this was the case... yeah so read.cash was basically too easy to use without adding value and now that it is strict the spammers went to noise. Makes a lot of sense, especially because I see noise.cash is a huge spam fest unfortunately. Thanks for chiming in, didn't know read had this problem as well. Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great post. I just wanted to tell that keeping all the bch in a custodial wallet is not the correct approach. The platform is right to advice to withdraw after reaching around $20. Any custodial wallet is not worthy for having too much as anything can happen and has happened in the past in other platforms and exchanges. You can hold the bch in read.cash but you are also taking a risk.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hey Pantera I'm not holding it, I'm spending it inside the platform itself :) You didn't answer if you're Portuguese or from Brazil in the last post. :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, right, I didn't answer as usually I avoid answering this, but anyway, I'm from Greece. Pantera was a metal band in the 90s and the beginning of the 2000s. It gives a clue about my age too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah I know them. Sorry for intruding man, didn't know it was like that and didn't mean to put you backs to the wall on this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, hey it's no problem. It is just that often there are problems in the region, nationalism on the rise, and I'm trying to avoid all of that. But it won't matter at all, I doubt that many will read and remember my comments :D . There are good people and bad people everywhere. I just usually don't give a country name to avoid politics!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sincerely hope that this will be fixed. Relying solely on the bot is not a good thing psychologically as we seemingly need to decipher some hidden code or algorithm. It may just drain the good out of those who are just budding writers. But well, the platform is not just yet very well established when it comes to things like this and they may change after all inputs considered. You are very good at voicing out the insights of the many here.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hello there, Cool, I'm glad you liked the post and understand why this can be a problem Zer. Great to see you around here, hope you keep on coming. Have a good day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bot is already program whom he will be tip and what quality of the Article that deserve to be tip. Once you copy even just one word from Google the bot will never visit you again. And from point system Through the bot I just respect what the management of read. cash decided on how to upvote everybody's Article. All the Donors in read. cash is a Bitcoin Cash Supporter and Lover. And among of them is Sir Marc De Mesel. Everyone wants to be noticed but not all is lucky and I'm here Writing for read. cash if someone will notice my Article then good if not it's still good. And I think those who are lucky they deserves the huge upvote for their over all support for the Bitcoin Cash Community. And I'm showing you as an example the Article of @Eirolfeam2 https://read.cash/@Eirolfeam2/get-a-share-of-bitcoin-cash-from-the-fund-keep-writing-de746df4 Her Article recieve a huge upvote from Sir Marc.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

This is scary. I was visited by the bot often but can it be that something triggered and the bot won't visit again? This is something to consider and have a manual investigation when a problem like this arises. I can't see a reason to completely exclude someone for just copying one word.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It doesn't work like that, one word is overreacting. Bot hunts for duplicate content violations that are recurrent properly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, but the point that Marc, the bot and the others are the ones powering the community is exactly my point.

It is all on their shoulders and not fair for them, plus it appears a bit unsustainable. Centralizing the weight all on their shoulders and making them carry the community isn't fair.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well done, Max, u said all in this article n yes, i do need the upvotes i received here but i gave some of it to the other user/member here n i agree with u when u say that the top tippers and the random rewarder shouldn't carry all of that on their shoulder n yes, it isn't pair for them n hope they r going to have an update for that though right now, i admit, read.cash is one of the way where i get money from as i got no work for a year now but not totally depend on it though, lol, great article or post, Max, keep it up, u did pointed the problem

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hello there! Thanks, glad you liked it! Thanks for the support and your sponsorship, you're a cutie! Cheers bheng, I'll see you around!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi there, u r welcome, told u that i got your back, u wrote it well n said it all too, u r really r a blogger n good at it, keep it up n yes, see u around, max :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe when BCH finally takes off, I think they will stop. I mean because after all the site depends on Marc's money, depends on the donations he gave. I dunno if they will make other ways to tip the users who stayed. So, on my part, I am trying new things to explore crypto space so someday if they will stop tipping at least I have learned something and do not solely rely on the tips here. Because this is the main source of my crypto income as I am struggling to earn decently on other blogging platforms.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hello, Yes I bet this is the main source of crypto income for many. It just seems kind of wrong to have all of it come from one person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly 😂😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago