Meet the artist ArtOfClarkE

4 193
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, WAX, Artist

I came across this little artist who does quite cute NFTs of pets and so I reached out to see would the chat about there project and she happily did .

Hey

Hello!

How's things ?

Going well. Decided to do go for a ride and check out a local Halloween themed market. It’s my favourite holiday .

Really big Christmas fan myself . Where you living ?

Right now I’m in Connecticut but I’m originally from New York.

Oh nice what brought you into NFT creation ?

I started back up with my art around two years ago really just doing it for my mental health lol. My husband is a collector so I began poking around to see what this whole world is about and I was blown away. The community is just awesome.

Ah was he collecting on WAX ?

Yes. Still is.

So what was he collecting and what NFT was the deciding piece to make you start creating ?

We actually started with Garbage Pail Kids. I’m dating myself but I used to collect them as a kid so it was like a modern continuation of the hobby. There really isn’t one piece in particular that I would say inspired me but rather the experience as a whole. I joined the WAX telegram channel for news for GPK and just started down a rabbit hole looking at other artists' works and reading their stories. There’s just so much talent out there and it's inspiring. The blockchain is giving me the capability to distribute my work to an audience that I would not have reached otherwise. And that's really what cemented it for me. It’s an amazing opportunity to reach other artists/collectors worldwide.

What is the idea behind your project ?

I'm a big geek. Comics, movies, video games - you name it. When I was younger I would make comics and have my dolls star as superheroes. Idea was similar to my comics of old - to take different facets of things I enjoy from life in general and associate them to my passion of pets. All pets featured on my "Pets of" series are either mine, or pets that I know which I think is neat.

Ha ha ha love it so I am guessing because they are pets the project is made of love .

Oh for sure .

When did you launch your project ?

I started in August with a few promo pieces as an introduction to some of the peers and kicked off in September .

What was the first NFT you dropped ?

The first one I dropped was called "Butterfly wings" - based on my dog River. She's a Papillon and her shadow always gave me a batman vibe. So I wanted to give her her very own "bat signal".

Can we have a pic ?

Butterfly Wings

Awh how the community react ?

Well to be honest there wasn't much of a reaction but a few people thought it was pretty neat. :)

How many NFTs have dropped since ?

Lets see - I did a companion piece for Butterfly Wings. In October I released 8 NFTS. They were all dedicated to horror movies. I called the series "Pets of ... HORROR". I also released a couple of NFTS as a guest artist in an Alien Worlds mining event Byron Rempel was doing.

What has been your favourite to create ?

This one right here. I called it "LambChops". My pup is simply mad about this one particular toy. And oh boy the squeaking is constant lol. I took inspiration from one of my favourite movies as a teen and it just fit too perfectly.

Ha ha how long did that take to create ?

Took me a few days .

What program u use for creating ?

I started out using Autodesk Sketchbook and Ibis Paint X for colouring. Future works will be created in Procreate (as soon as I finish learning the ins and outs on how to use it lol).

Have done any collabs ?

Not yet .

Who would you love to collab with ?

Byron of course - his stuff is cool and Tidbyts because duck butts are just awesome.

Two artist that I would like to say are my friends those guys are gents I can reach out for you if you want .

That would be so cool - thank you 😃

Who is your favourite artist ?

I'd say it's a three way tie - Tim Burton, Ken Wong and Junji Ito .

I love asking this question because I always get random answers when I meant to say NFT artists . lol

LMAO duh - sorry - I'm a fan of Anastasia in red. Love the creepy stuff :)

Oh cool never heard of here. What has been the most exciting part of your project?

Seeing how other people react to it has been a real kick.

What has been the hardest part ?

I'd say the hardest part was (and is) just getting the word out there. The market is just loaded with talent and it's easy to get lost.

What's the biggest collection in your wallet at the moment ?

My other half is really the collector as I haven't purchased anything (yet). He's a big fan of byrontheartist.

Would you like this to be a full time job ?

Oh for sure.

When the next drop ?

Since "spooky season" is over I'm planning on the next drop ( week of Nov. 15th) to introduce "Pets of ... Anime" which will start officially dropping starting the week of Nov.22nd.

Any sneak peaks ?

"Attack on Kitty" will be the first official drop after the promo : )

Love it . What do you like to do to unwind ?

I'm a sucker for a good story so I immerse myself in all sorts of media to "escape taken away". If I'm not watching anime I'm reading. Short stories, comics. Which in turn inspires me to create.

Tell us something random about you ?

Around 10 years ago I took a taxidermy class and gave away stuffed quail as gifts. lol

Oh lovely I bet your friends loved you lol. Where do you keep the community updated about your project ?

LOL for sure. I stick to twitter to keep followers updated.

https://twitter.com/ArtsOfClarkE?t=q_S9FY-u8p-yMWpYFzY3iA&s=09

Where can we find your NFTs for sale ?

They can be found at : https://neftyblocks.com/c/petsofclarks

Any chance of a competition for the readers ?

Right now we're in the process of a giveaway to celebrate 200 followers. Here: https://twitter.com/ArtsOfClarkE/status/1445532851080876037. That giveaway will continue until 200 are given out. Also currently I contributed 3 pieces in the Nefty Raiser Raffle for "My Zickle Army" which is ending roughly the 16th : https://myzicklearmy.io/#events

Oh love that thank you do before we finish is there anything you would like to say or add ?

Just thank you for your time .

It has been a real pleasure to talk to you about your project and hopefully the readers here will go on give you a follow and maybe even buy a NFT or two . Guys don't forget to check out her Twitter competition .

14
$ 17.46
$ 16.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 10
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, WAX, Artist

Comments

Great artist, thank you for introducing her to us. Followed! 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Through your conversation with him I learnd alot today about his project, I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love your lead image. Dogs are my thing!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago