Goodnight, Wrong Number

9 68
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Thoughts

November 6, 2021

I found a journal under the closet three months ago. I initially mistook it for a regular notebook, but upon opening it, I discovered that it was actually a diary that had been written a long long time ago. As I began to read the Diary, I became aware that it was a heartbreaking story.


September 2, 1939

Dear Diary, (LAST PART OF OUR TRAGIC STORY)

I really don't want this to end, the memories and promises we made. All the painful feeling I just couldn't bare to take. I watched as he got shot right straight to his heart. I never imagined that only the COLD WARS could tear us apart. I watched and screamed yet he told me to ran away. I can't let him go, I just want him to stay.

screenshot from my phone

June 10,1939

Dear Diary,

I met a guy called Felix Davis, and now I get to meet him in person! We had never met face to face before since we exclusively spoke through our Rotary Phone. The funny thing is, I mistook him for my grandfather. It was both humorous and weird talking to him, especially when I referred to him as "old guy" during our first tele conversation. But since then, we've been talking all hours of the day and night. But he used to call me "Wrong Number." After knowing my name.

Today, rather than just conversing over the phone, we agreed to meet, and oh my God, he was so attractive. He is both amusing and polite. But it was only our first meeting; who knew he was faking everything? I'd want to get to know him better. We went to a nearby café and talked about a variety of topics. He told me about his interests and how much he enjoys singing and playing instruments. He had a great deal of potential. We spend a lot of time discussing about things that we find interesting. We discovered that we had a lot in common. But, even if I don't want this day to end, I have no choice but to call it a day. He offered to accompany me on my way home, and we both bid our goodbyes.

Although we promise to meet again.


June 25, 1939

Dear Diary,

It has been a a while. Sorry for the wait; I've been swamped with work recently. Felix and I still talk every time, and he sings me a song on nights when I can't sleep and I don't have time to write about what happened all week. We agreed to meet on Saturday of the coming week, and I told him that I wanted him to meet my parents and introduce him to them as a friend. We're not dating yet, but I'd like him to meet my parents. The reason for this is because I'm starting to form feelings for him.

Anyway, I still have a lot of paperwork to finish. I'll tell you everything about what happens next week. I'm absolutely thrilled.


July 1, 1939

Dear Diary,

FFelix recently met my parents. They seem to like him, as I could tell. We had a good time together, and the most thrilling part is that he really approached my parents for permission to be his girlfriend during our dinner. My parents exchanged glances, and I was taken aback because he had never asked me about it first. When I looked at him, I observed that he was anxious, yet he was still tough enough to approach them. My parents nodded to one another or turned to face me; I just smiled, and they turned back to face Felix.

"You have our permission, Felix, and we'd want to get to know you a little more." "If you have time, you can come to see us during the week," Mom added.

"Actually, ma'am, I'm still not sure about that." I haven't yet courted your daughter. I just asked for your permission beforehand. "If she approves, I'd love to come and visit," Felix said.

We discussed it after supper, and he courted me. I'm speechless, and my heart is racing. He assured me that he was never rushed and that he could wait for my response. I smiled, and because it was already late, he went home.

I can't get him out of my mind.


July 15, 1939

Dear Diary,

I couldn't stop thinking about Felix after he asked me last week. I couldn't take it any longer. We don't talk much right now, and I miss him dearly. I realized I didn't love him. I'm madly in love with him. I felt compelled to contact him, so I did. I invited him to visit on Sunday. For supper because my father has been promoted at work. That, too, was a lie. I simply need to make up excuses for him to come. He gladly agreed. That's all for today, Diary; my body feels weary and I need to sleep now, Good night.


July 23, 1939

Dear Diary,

When morning arrived, I rehearsed my speech to express my feelings to him. I'm anxious, but I'm also excited to tell him. I'm delighted. I told my mom and dad about it, and they both thought that it was a fine decision.

Dad answered, "Whatever makes our daughter happy."

I gazed at the clock for a long time. I couldn't take it any longer. It's far too sluggish. I soon dozed off. I awoke at 4 p.m. and realized Felix had already arrived. I instantly combed my hair and glanced in the mirror. I grinned and exited my room. We converse, and he assists me in preparing supper. He even congratulates my father, despite the fact that it was simply a silly lie I made up.

We talked after supper, and I told him everything about how I felt about him. He was happy.

"Can I embrace you?" he asked. What a gentleman he is, and I like that about him.

I, of course, answered yes. I am so fortunate to have him.


August 5, 1939

Dear Diary,

Hey! It's been a long time Diary. Sorry if I haven't written anything recently. I was overloaded with stuff. By the way, I met Felix parents. They were so kind and lovely too. They must be so proud to raise a man like Felix. Their son was a Gentleman and handsome. My week wasn't that great! Well It was supposed to be until Felix and I got into a heated argument. It was a little and dumb quarrel, and I know it was my fault. But in the end, we just made it up because our love for each other is stronger than any stupid things that happened. I apologize, and he also apologizes to me. I am extraordinarily lucky to have such a compassionate boyfriend.

Felix and Dad frequently hang out and play ping pong together. Often times Felix parents would come and visit and sometimes, it's the other way around. Everything went off without a hitch. I am so glad.


August 13, 1939

Dear Diary,

I'm so upset today; I miss Felix and haven't seen him in two days. We were both preoccupied with our jobs, and despite the fact that we spoke on the phone every night, I simply wanted to see his face and feel his warm hug. He sang me songs last night and promised to take me out on a date when we're both free. I can't wait to see him. He sung till I fell asleep. I'm so in love that it hurts. I absolutely love him.


August 19, 1939

Dear Diary,

I went on a date with Felix today, and we had a great time. I'm so pleased when I'm with him, and all of my weariness just vanishes. I can't even begin to convey how much he transformed my life. He treats me as if I were his Queen, and I treat him as if he were my King. I don't want to lose such a man like him.

I told him how I felt about him and how much I missed him during the last two days, and his cheeks flushed. He was so cute that I teased him about it, and then he kissed me. That was our first kiss, and I was left speechless.  He giggled and remarked, "That's what you get for teasing me," and then added, "I love you." My face is heated to the touch. I was completely flustered. He took my hand in his and we wandered for a time. He told me a lot of stuff, but I can't focus because I can't get my mind off the kiss.

"Hey, are you listening?" was the only thing I remembered hearing him say.

He drives me home after our date. When we got to my house. I went to my room and He and Dad talked for a bit, and I could see they were having a good time. Most likely, it was merely about our date. I changed into my clothes and headed to my room. He informed me that he is already on his way out. When he was ready to go, I followed him to the door. I took his hand in mine and kissed him on the lips. "I love you, too, silly," I replied as I dashed inside. He was blushing as I gazed at him through our window. He's really adorable.


August 30, 1939

Dear Diary,

In front of my parents and his, Felix proposed to me. He assured my parents that he would be a decent man who would look after me. When I replied yes, my father shed a tear as he hugged me and Felix. Felix Mom and my mom both hugged each other and Dad with Felix dad's shook hands. I was both overjoyed and in tears. I'm madly in love with this person. My boyfriend and I are finally engaged. He is now my fiancé, and we are quite happy together.

Thank you for always being the one to whom I can confide my experiences, Diary. Even if you're only my Diary notebook, I appreciate you. I'll keep you till I have a lot more grandchildren.


September 3, 1939

Dear Diary,

I just got some bad news. On September 1, 1939, Hitler attacked Poland from the west; two days later, France and Britain declared war on Germany, launching World War II. I am terrified and afraid for all of us. I'm terrified of seeing people firing at each other, and I don't want it to happen. Nobody does. We're all trembling with terror. Felix assured me not to be concerned and that he would protect me no matter what.

I'm simply asking and pleading to God to protect  both me and my fiancé, and my parents. I don't want any of them to get harmed.


September 4, 1939

Dear Diary, (LAST PART: THE TRAGIC STORY)

I never want this to end, the memories and promises we made. All the painful feeling I just couldn't bare to take. I watched as he got shot right straight to his heart. I never imagined that only the COLD WARS could tear us apart. I watched and screamed yet he told me to ran away. I can't let him go, I just want him to stay.

I lay his head in my thigh as I burst out crying. He wiped my tears and close his eyes saying the last words he told me.

"Till we met again in the other life. I love you my love."

“Goodnight, Wrong Number.”

---

At the end of it, is an image of both lovers together.

That was the diary I found was from 1940. Why is it under my closets? It’s because It was a Diary of my Grandmother’s Mother.

Date: November 6 ,2020
Author: Corpsekkuno
Title: Wrong Number
Article No.: 

Sponsors/Supporters

Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty

I want to precise my deepest gratitude to my sponsors, readers, commenters, up-voters, fellow writers, and to all or any of my online friends who never get uninterested in reading to my nonsense and keep supporting me. You’re one among the explanation why I keep sticking around to the present platform and keep writing. Thanks 😘♥️

---

Author’s Note

This is a fictional work. I've never really found a diary from 1940 although I would have to admit that I have read other people's diaries. LOL!

I actually don’t know what I’m doing but I really enjoyed the fact that the girl in my story was suffering WAHAHAHAHA KIDDING.. I am so sad for the story.

I just really love a tragic story. I don’t know why but a sad ending is really what I like.

Anyways, Thank you guys so so much for reading, I wish you enjoyed it and if you do, don’t forget to hit Like button, Comment what you think, Share this to your friend and also Subscribe if you want to. mwehehe

8
$ 2.21
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.03 from @Nyctofiles
+ 2
Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Thoughts

Comments

I was caught up in the moment, from the point they met till he proposed. It made me wonder what it must have been like during the world war. This was tragic yet beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for appreciation. I put all my mind to imagine what it would be like living on those days and how many love stories are buried because of the War. It’s truly sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I though it was real. I felt it was real, you are good at this! I remember I found a diary with suicide note in a cr and the date is November 2, 1989. It was creepy because if he or she died on 1989 then I'm holding a diary of a dead person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! Really? That’s a very long time ago. Well, Depressions weren’t a thing because and they careless about it though, which is sad to see that a lot of people suffered back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A painful one. The most painful one even it's fictional. There are a lot of scenarios happened like this in real life. This is so sad. We cannot predict what will happen.

We must be brave always. Everything has a purpose why is it happen. We need to treasure every moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very painful. Even I shred a tear reading this because what If I’m writing something that happened in real life before? Who knew what happened during the World War II. Many people died during the wars. It’s so sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. There are a lot of people goodbyes on that World war 11. Sometimes if I watched a war movies especially if it is based on a true story. My tears was slowly flowing down. I cried because it's really hurt.😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was lovely! Reminds me of Anne Frank's diary. Only Franks isn't about love story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awweee thank you ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago