A Dim Christmas to Remember

14 33
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

December 25, 2021

Having to experience the water shortage, no electric power, and out of coverage or no phone services might be the worst nor the best Christmas I never thought and imagined I could have ever experienced this year.

The typhoon Odette reaches the country “Philippines” last December 16, 2021. I could never forget the feeling of uneasiness during that day. It was a cold day, we save some water that will last only for a week because we knew that there will be no water and electricity after the storm, after saving some, I was already cold, my clothes and hair are soaking wet from the rain, so I went inside the house to change my clothes and dry my hair. As I was drying my hair I was looking through the window and I could see and hear the howling of the storm that makes leaves fall from its tree, the trees dancing wildly from the wind blows. I see the reflection and similarities between me and the Typhoon. It was a beautiful disaster just like me. It felt so beautiful and scary at the same time. Trees fall down and rainfall dropping hard from our roof. 

I was truly amazed to be honest but was worried for other homeless people and the poor animals at the same time, I am not that heartless,  I just like the cold weather and the beauty of it. Some houses are still strong while some houses got destroyed.  I felt sad for people who lose their houses. Poles that are connected to our Electricity falls down and got destroyed causing it to have us experienced the no electricity and water for a month (they say).

After the storm, luckily there’s no serious damage in our house, I was very thankful to God that he never leave us behind and he protected us from the storm, but the roof of our bathroom got blown away by the storm, so it makes our bathroom roofless. LOL. 

Anyways, I went outside to see what was going on and what had happened. It was really messy outside. The bamboo trees were blocking the street and no bike or motorcycle could pass through. People were working together to cut off the bamboo trees and clean the way so they can finally pass through. Some people helping their neighbor to repair houses damage caused by the storm. People are helping people after the storm. Which make it even more beautiful than anything. 

Due to the out of service, 0 battery percent, and no internet access, just away from technology. People, especially kids, got time to play with other kids outside. People starts to talk to each other more often and interact with them, telling jokes and start asking specific questions and telling story about their day. Some of them went to the river to bath together and bringing their kids with them. It was all fun and all.

December 19, 2021. We went to the river to bath and we also brought our laundry to wash it there. The river sound was very soothing to my ear and I had fun. There are only few people on the river that wash their clothes and they also bring there kids with them so they can enjoy the river. The river flows also really strong that is why we need to be more extra careful. 

December 21, 2021. We went to the top of the hill with my cousins to have some fun and to get away with our boredom. I had real fun and we all play XOX. Since we don’t bring pen and paper with us so we just carve the letter X and O on the dirt with a sticks.

December 22, 2021. I wrote a song and I’m still really not done writing it though and I’m also shy to share it, but hopefully soon I can share with it you.

December 23, 2021. I taught my sister to play the Ukulele. I’m fond of playing only 2 instruments, I usually smashed it to the ground and you know?, throw them away ‘till it broke. Lol. Just kidding. I already taught her some chords though and surprisingly she still remember those chords, so it’s not really hard to teach her anymore so I moved on to giving him lyrics and chords of a song to play. I play instruments such as guitar and ukulele. I learn them to play my self so I’m teaching my sister. To be honest I easily get annoyed when she played it wrong but I try to keep myself calm even though the way she strum the string sounds weird to listen.

December 24, 2021. Me and my sister do some general cleaning around the house because it’s almost Christmas eve. Finally the electricity is back but sadly it was only for those people living near the street, we on the other hands was not lucky enough to have the power back on because we are not living near the street. We also go to church to join the mass in the evening and after then we eat together with my family. Trust me, it was fun and memorable evening.

December 25, 2021. 12:00 AM, I was already asleep.

Despite the bitter experience we’ve been through, Christmas presence is still there. There’s no electricity but the church continues to spread the word of God at the dawn or “Simbang Gabi” in Philippines, which is nice because we never forget about our God despite the obstacles. 

People made a strong bonds with others and I find it more beautiful to realized that they have a big heart to help other’s and not only thinking about their selves.

Odette was a full Mage Damage but Philippines is on tank build with Athena Shield (only Mobile Legends players will understand).

Prayer

Prayers for the family who lost their family members or relatives. 🙏🏻 

I am sorry for your lost. May their soul Rest In Peace in the Paradise.

We may experienced the bitterness in our life, whether good or bad things will happened or maybe even disasters comes our way but always remember to pray and have faith in him. God has its own answers and reasons for everything. 

GOD WILL PROVIDE.


Closing Thoughts

I realized that Christmas isn’t about the presents or gifts that we give or we received. It’s about the people around us, connecting and interacting with them is so much more than a present. If the electric power were still on and the internet’s were still stable it could’ve been more different than of what I’ve experienced. I supposed I was still on my bed staring at my Phone and It was not fun. What I experienced was really fun and memorable to be honest. 

Lead Image Source


Author’s Note

I was not happy with the damage that Odette has caused. Imagine being so selfish to be wanting so much more this year without even knowing how the life of other people’s who got affected by the storms. While others lose their home and even their relatives which is more heartbreaking, you were only thinking selfishly? My heart aches just thinking about it. 

7
$ 4.91
$ 4.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Corpsekunno
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Corpsekunno
2 years ago

Comments

We celebrate the living and the dead and our losses. That is what keeps us moving on, the gratitude that we are still here. Hope to see your song and see you singing it :D

Happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I'm glad that you're okay 🥺 and your home. Sana maging okay na na din sa lahat tch. Anyways, padinig na kami ng song mo 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello ate ruffa, it’s nice to finally communicate kahit minsan wala wala yung signal dito hehe. Di pa po tapos eh pero pag natapos ko po yung kanta.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga minsan unh signal din samin pawala wala kahit di naman kami affected siguro grabi nasira ni Odette na tower nila hmmm.

Pag tapos na syempre 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your mindset sis and the people living in your place also. Despite of what happened due of super typhoon, you still stand and facing with positivity in yourselves. There's what we call unity. Helping each other to repair the houses who got damage by typhoon. My heart smiles honestly when you've mention it.

I was really sad too sis since our province is affected also by the typhoon. It was the time I was like a crazy since I was worried my family and I cannot contact them. Thankfully they are all safe. I'm really thankful to God.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti di kayo gaano nawala bebe di katulad ng iba wash out lahat. Yung napanood ko yung mga restaurant na may hotel ba yun nagready sila para sa pasko fully book pa nga e kaso wala wasak. Yung mga ginastos nila sa paghahanda wala din. Katakot yung nature.

Ingat kayo jan ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas was a bit unlucky. I heard about the typhoon on the news. Get well soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know that you are here writing an article too. It's my new account corpsekunno.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, you haven’t published any article yet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping that all of the victims of typhoon will be fined and blessed by the Lord God. Keep safe and Godbless. 😇🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po 🥺❤️ Sana rin po yung nawalan ng mga mahal sa buhay ay ma healed po, ang sakit lang kasi isipin. 💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga, mahirap pa naman mawalan ng mahal sa buhay, lalo na kapag biglaan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending my prayers, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 🥺 hoping for a better year in 2022. 🙏🏼❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago