A snack paid for with my BCH

44 85
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

A few days ago, I was asking myself the question. Should I hold or spend my BCH? This is definitely a trick question. At first glance, I would quickly say Hold. The price of BCH now is inviting to accumulate more. I have my personal goal of accumulating 1 BCH with my earnings on Noise.cash. And I hadn't thought of spending my BCH sats until I've met my goal. But then also a few days ago, I read an article by @D.B.Cooper that set my alarms. You can read it here. In it, he recalls a bit of the history of BTC and calls not to let the same happen with BCH. I won't give you the details because I know that everyone will read his article. But I hook with a phrase that I quote below

"Focus on usage guys, if you get the opportunity to spend then spend, post about spending not investing".

When I started using cryptocurrencies, I remember BTC promised what BCH promises today, as D.B. Cooper recalled in his article. I started in 2015, in those years the money management situation in Venezuela was very difficult. Exchange control made people look for a way to protect what they had. Most looked for haven in the dollar. But some saw a light in BTC, which not only promised to be a safeguard of value. But also a way to avoid controls and allow to move and use money without imposed regulations.

The first time I paid with cryptocurrencies, I felt happy and powerful. On that occasion, it was with Dash. But also on some others, I used BTC. Today, that is impossible with BTC. The BCH can make a big difference in the economies of countries under control like the ones that Venezuela has experienced.

Today, our currency is still devalued. But nowadays, dollars circulate freely in the economy. Even so, cryptocurrencies have gained a space that they maintain. And there are still new opportunities. In a country where the local currency's higher value banknote is 1 million BsF, and that is the equivalent of approximately US $ 0.28 today. But tomorrow as a result of the constant devaluation of our currency, we are sure that it will be worth less. Imagine the number of banknotes a person would need to pay for something worth 50 dollars. Not to mention, that cash is scarce. In addition, a percentage of the population is unbanked. So the opportunities are huge for Bitcoin Cash in this country.

And while I'm not going to give up my goal of accumulating 1 BCH with my Noise earnings. I'm also going to make it a point to use BCH to pay whenever I can and do my bit in adoption.

So today, I decided to use some fiat I had on my Uphold account and convert it to BCH to start my mission. The first thing I did was consult the map of Bitcoin.com. I'd already done this in the past. But this time, I took the job of looking for a place nearby to spend my BCH more seriously. According to the map, in Venezuela, there are more than 600 spots that accept Bitcoin Cash. And in Caracas and its surroundings 572. That is to say, for now, most of the businesses that accept Bitcoin Cash in Venezuela are concentrated in the capital region.

La Petite Folie Bakery, Los Palos Grandes, Caracas, Venezuela

So I did my homework and found the place where I would use my BCHs for the first time. And yesterday, after the driving lessons I've been giving my son these days. I went to accomplish my mission.

A snack paid for with my BCH

The place I chose is a bakery located in a neighborhood called Los Palos Grandes. Upon entering, my vision went directly to the cashier looking for the much-desired logo of the BCH. And voila, there it was waiting for me. Immediately, under the slightly embarrassed look of my son, I began to take photos. The cashier also looked at me with a face of I don't understand anything.

We went to the counter to order a couple of coffees (dos marrones ;) ) and sweets. And then I went to the cashier to pay for the order.

I told the cashier that I wanted to pay with BCH, and she looked at me a little incredulous. Loudly, she asked the manager if that Bitcoin worked, and he said yes. So she gave me the amount I had to pay in dollars, and the manager came over curious to see how I made the payment.

I scanned the QR code, dialed in the dollar amount, and voila.

I paid for my snack of the day with BCH that easily.

By judging the incredulous face of the cashier, who was hallucinating because I wanted to pay that way, and also seeing me took photos like a possessed. Probably, I was the first customer to pay at that bakery with BCH. But the truth is that I had never entered that bakery before. Although, I'd been in the area many times. And today, they gained a new customer for when I find myself in that neighborhood.

Snack at La Petite Folie Bakery, Caracas, Venezuela

My son still can't forgive me for putting him through the embarrassment of taking all the photos at the bakery. I told him to get used to it because from now on, I'll be looking for more opportunities like this to pay with BCH.

A curious fact to finish

Lenguas de Suegra

The sweets that my son and I had for a snack today are common in the bakeries here.

They are puff pastry in the shape of an elongated biscuit filled with whipped cream and covered with chocolate and glazed sugar. But the funny thing is they are called Lenguas de Suegra (Mother-in-law's Tongues). If you ask me why. I don't know. I've asked that question many times, and no one seems to know why. But I thought it was something curious to share. If you can think of a reason that explains that name, leave a comment. Maybe we can find an explanation for this enigma. Who knows?

This is all for now, my dear readers. Thank you very much if you have come this far. And remember focus on usage.

To all my wonderful sponsors, thank you all! But especially, I want to thank @HappyBoy, who recently renewed my sponsorship. And @ARTicLEE for the increase in the amount of my sponsorship. You guys rock!

All images are mine.

Until next time. :)

July 16, 2021

13
$ 2.54
$ 1.00 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Thats a great article, putting BCH to good use, I feel for you and the situation in Venezuela. The way I spend my crypto over here is with my Coinbase Visa Debit card. Though it is not really truly paying with crypto as its converted to fiat and they take a 2.49% transaction fee. Not really the idea of cutting out the middle man but hey until we have mass adoption it works. I usually swap a little of my crypto to DAI when the price is high then use the DAI for day to day stuff with my Coinbase card. I have ordered some coffee online before though with BCH. Keep up the good work here, you post some good stuff.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, and thanks for stopping by! Around here, many sites accept cryptocurrencies. Although, not as many accept BCH as I would like. I've even heard lately that many small businesses are accepting transactions through Binance P2P. Adoption is far from being a reality, but there are small advances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. How cool is that!!!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is really cool! Though I also try to hodl all my BCH earnings but I still spend some to share my blessings from here. However, I would really try and spend some if I got a chance to use it for some snacks, awesome gesture for BCH awareness!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Tipping here and in Noise is good for BCH too. And although we will always want to save, it's inevitable, hehe. The adoption is in the usage ;) Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I congratulate you my friend for making your first transaction with BCH.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, Gertu! It was really cool to be able to buy something and pay directly with BCH. I hope that your internet connectivity problems have been solved. Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Por supuesto que no me iba a perder de leer tu experiencia de pagar por primera vez con BCH y me encantΓ³. Que risa lo de tu hijo, pero poco a poco Γ©l tambiΓ©n se irΓ‘ adaptando a Γ©se nuevo sistema de pago. OjalΓ‘ que pronto acepten pagar con BCH en los negocios de mi Ciudad... Saludos.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gracias por pasarte a comentar! Mi hijo es adolescente asΓ­ que estΓ‘ en la edad en la que todo lo que uno hace los avergΓΌenza jaja. Pero en el fondo estaba encantado y no se lo hubiera perdido por nada. Espero que te animes a empezar pronto a publicar por aquΓ­. Veo que la comunidad que publica en espaΓ±ol es mΓ­nima y deberΓ­amos animarnos a cambiar eso un poco. Saludos! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

De nada. Y claro que me animarΓ© en algΓΊn momento, lo que no entiendo muy bien es eso de los patrocinadores jaja. SerΓ­a genial poder aclarar algunas dudas vΓ­a telegram, te dejare el link de mi usuario para que me escribas cuando tengas un tiempito libre https://t.me/greysmaryg Β‘Feliz noche! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Claro estoy a la orden! ahora mismo te escribo para que tengas mi contacto. Que tengas un feliz dΓ­a ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be so glad if bch payment can be accepted here in my country especially where I stay. I do transfer of cash for my goods and I am looking forward to when I would be able to scan the QR code and pay in bch.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope you can use it soon because having to change your money to fiat, you always end up paying high fees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow that's cool you have shops that accept cryptocurrency. Here in the Philippines there's a long way to go before that happens. Haha. Maybe some more years will pass before it will be commonly accepted here. Or maybe even decades.

Would love to taste that in the future. :) Hopefully I can travel around the world soon. Ah to be able to travel, and in other countries. That is one of my dreams.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hopefully, the possibility to make crypto payments in the Philippines won't take so long.

And as far as your dream is concerned, I wish you that you can fulfill it soon and travel the world. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done Eliana! That must have been an amazing feeling doing this. I even get a little excited every time I tip with QR code and it works. It’s just weirdly satisfying. I think tipping on both of these platforms is also helping the BCH circulate freely.

I remember looking at the map and there aren’t that many available places where we can pay with BCH here in Southampton. Most are in London. I do wanna try this too! I will be checking the map more frequently to see when new places appear, so I can try πŸ’šπŸ’™

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The feeling of being able to pay on a site with BCH is really very good. Also, as you said, to tip with a QR code is cool, and I'm impressed how quickly the transaction is received. Hopefully, you get where to do it soon. β™‘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so too! I love this opportunity we have to not only earn, but also learn about using BCH. I strongly believe this is the future πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, cryptocurrencies are the future. They open up an immense amount of possibilities for us. β™‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is awesome, well done for the bakery owner and well done to you. I don't know of anywhere here I can pay with BCH

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You should check the map, and maybe you might be surprised. And who knows, and Eddie may embark on another magical adventure. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that would be another adventure, now I don't know who has the greater or broader imagination!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I assure you it is you! 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha oh do you πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What a great experience. I hope here in my country same at yours, can accept BCH...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You should check the map. Maybe there is somewhere you can use it. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome and thank you. . I'll do some research about it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so painful that we don't have BCH accepting stores close by. I checked the map and the ones available are far away from here. What i do is to convert to Fiat before using. Truly BCH is meant to be spent at various times and replace or else we are creating another BTC

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hopefully, there will soon be places where you can use your BCH directly. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is what I want to see happen here in our place. No establishments accept bch let alone any crypto. It would be wonderful to experience that here. Interesting name for sweets. I don't see a connection too why is it named that way.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can search on the map, and maybe you might be surprised. And when you go back to the massage center, you can give them the idea to start accepting it. It would be really cool if you could actually pay BCH for the massages, hehe. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did search but we don't have it in our city. I have to travel to another city for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, this will change in the near future. And some merchants in your city will join BCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey.. what a cool experience! I am not sure if there are restaurants here in cebu Philippines that accepts bch.. i want to try asking the cashier once i get there like what you did and will see how's the response... let me do some research

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe, I hope it's positive. Likewise, you can look at the map of Bitcoin.com, where all the merchants that accept payments in BCH in the world appear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the info...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I so love your toughness hehe madam :) And I wonder why your son would be embarrassed, he should be really proud of you πŸ˜‰ I would!

Really awesome that you can pay with BCH out there. With 572 establishments that accept BCH in your capital city, I believe you'll have more to explore. Amazing!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe, he was really embarrassed. And he also had to take the photo while paying with the QR code, haha. I do hope to find other places to pay. Although, many of the ones shown on the map are from technical service merchants, and most aren't close to where I live. But I'll keep exploring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was kind of him to help you though. I was about to ask who took the photo for the QR code but I thought it must be him. I think he will be fine when he gets the hang of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's fine! I think he says I embarrassed him just for saying because I'm sure he wouldn't have missed being there for anything, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, so he actually likes it :) Awesome! I think he will always go with you exploring :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can bet he will! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago