Making Choices Easier

7 23
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
2 years ago

First off, I've been kinda busy and haven't had all that much time to write as much as I would like. I also haven't had the time to sift through all of your articles. I work in an office with 5 others and 3 of them are out with COVID this week. So the beginning part of the week up to Wednesday was busy because we had scheduled cargo airlift. Thankfully yesterday and today we weren't working any airlift. As busy as I have been I could have probably found some time to write and read but I chose not to. I would have had to choose differently on other things I did, haha.

Our Brain Really Works Everyday

No matter if it's a small or big decision our brain is in action. Let's start by waking up. First decision for me is to either use the bathroom or go to kitchen and turn the coffee machine on. Not a hard choice but I have to decide every morning. My choice is simply how bad do I have to use the bathroom? Not all choices are this easy. Let's look at a manager who's responsible for an assembly line. Choices they make may affect other people or other processes down the line. Often choices like these involve time, planning, alternatives, and seeking others for information. A lot of choices we make everyday are easy ones and we really don't have to think that hard in implementing them. What to eat for lunch? What to do after work? What should I do since I'm off today? What do I want to watch on television? What should I write about today? Ok this one might take a little thought but there are much harder decisions for sure, haha. Some choices we make can be difficult but often it's not a choice we're faced with everyday. Looking for a new home, buying a car, planning a out of town vacation, figuring out what to do with our cryptocurrency (haha that's a popular choice here), and countless others. Let me walk you through with some steps in making these decisions hopefully easier.

Look at the Details

Choices often fail because not everything is looked at from the beginning. I think one needs to fully understand the situation before diving in and making a quick decision. There's many variables with a big decision it could involve things that affect income, time, and others.

Can You Do it?

Yes I have seen situations where people make choices and find out quickly that they can't sustain. Often this is do to lack of income. I say spend some time preparing before jumping into any of the factors. If it involves others let them contribute to the decision as well. The important thing this far is can you give the decision the attention it needs?

Do You Have Alternatives?

As many of you know big choices will involve more choices. I think you need to provide yourself with more than one choice, got to have a back solution right? Maybe coming up with different options may seem to make your choice harder at first but it pays dividends because it gives you bigger picture of the process and it's good to see things from different angles. Think of the process of getting a car. Just going in tunnel minded probably not the wisest. Look at several makes and models. Look at new versus used. Maybe another alternative is how it is powered (gas powered, hybrid, or electric).

Evaluate Alternatives

Once you have a good list of practical alternatives it's time to look at the risks, suitability, and implications of each. Unfortunately most choices have some risk involved but hey at least you can weigh them against your other alternatives. Suitabality to me can be a big driver, after all it may check everything you need. Sometimes though we have to prioritize here unfortunately we can't get everything we want. Implications can deter us from altering our decision making as well. Think of choosing between 3 homes and your expectations are to have 3 bed rooms, 2 bathrooms and a 2 stall attached garage. House #1 has all your needs, brand new construction, and in a great location located near beach, all new appliances but it's the most expensive. It's a tad out of your budget but if you were to get a second job it could be obtainable. House #2 also has all your needs, much older house, an ok location but some necessities are a little distance aways, includes older appliances but is the lowest priced. You may need to put some money back in the house down the road House #3 has all your needs except garage is unattached, 1 previous owner who lived there for 2 years, location is good, all new appliances and price is in the middle. In your price range but there may be somethings you have to eliminate because this will leave little money left over after taking care of all your bills and essential buys.

Time to make your Choice

Yippe!! Hopefully you are feeling confident with your choice. If not maybe take another look at everything and see if you can brainstorm anything else which will make you feel more comfortable. Don't feel alone you can always ask a trusted person for advice. Never a bad idea at this stage to once everything over one last time.

Conclusion

I hope you found this interesting. BTW which house would you choose? Did I bring you to the local car dealership, haha? Well I'm chosing to end this article now!! Take care and let your thoughts become written words.

5
$ 0.46
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meher-Mah
$ 0.01 from @alicecalope
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
2 years ago

Comments

My everyday problem is what I will buy for dinner and breakfast lol. I have to consider the people at home if they will like what I will buy. that's tough though.Different people different taste

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe you reading my beginnings. Yeah it's the same way here when I pick up groceries or if there ordered which has been done for awhile.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love reading your articles ,I've learn a lot from it Bob

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything that you mentioned are things that we should consider in making the choices in life. We should know the advantages and disadvantages of all the things that we choose and ofcourse the people that would be affected by your choices.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely should always weigh in on all the information we can get. Thanks for stopping by. Now off to read yours, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! I love to read your articles :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! I love to read your articles :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago