Finally a Vacation!!

29 119
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
7 months ago

Hello friends and people of read.cash. How have you all been? I believe I have went the longest without posting something here. It's been awhile and I have been busy. I know I told some of you I would share some pictures from my vacation recently. So let me do that.

Well I left on Wednesday afternoon for a six day road trip up to South Dakota (SD). This trip had 3 parts to it. First part was my time in Sioux Falls, SD. Wonder why the city is called such name? Well picture confirmation is above πŸ˜‚. Part II and Part III involved me from exploring the state from East to West. Once we arrived my mother had food on the table for my son and I. Later on we went to Falls Park (Above) at night. A natural falls off the Big Sioux River right in the city. I grew up in this area and visited this place a lot. It was my son's second time here but his first time seeing it under the lights. A great place to spend time to unwind at.

Thursday morning after momma's breakfast πŸ˜‹ we headed to downtown Sioux Falls. We went here to experience the "Sculpture Walk." I give you a few sculptures as there were a total of 67. Towards the beginning of the walk there was a map that showed the locations of all of them. To see them all it would take around 12 blocks of walking. The sculptures themselves were made from artists from all around the country and even included some from Canada.

The neat thing about all of this is they have a "People Choice Awards" for them. The winner of that award is picked by normal citizens like you and I. The city buys the award winning art piece and displays the sculpture permanently somewhere within the city. Now every sculpture is for sale but they range in price from $2000 to $30,000.

I voted and picked the sculpture (first photo above) titled, "Owling at the Moon." This piece was constructed mostly out of silverware. That is super cool plus I liked the subject matter and the nifty title. If you want to view all the sculptures just click here.

After our long walk looking at sculptures we walked some more to an old court house that was converted into a museum. This building opened for business in the fall of 1890. A little bit of everything in this building in reference to the history of the area. The thing I liked the most was the history of the Sioux Tribe who once thrived in the area. There was plenty of old artifacts that showed how useful the Native Americans were with their resources.

Thursday evening my two sisters, my son and myself headed to a county fair that was about 30 miles away. The first thing we did was get some fair food. We got corn dogs, funnel cake, and homemade lemonade. This stuff just doesn't taste the same anywhere else, simply delicious but expensive.

There was about a dozen fair rides and hundreds of booths available to visit. Many live animals to visit that farmers from all around brought in for livestock competitions. This included horses, pigs, goats, lambs, cows, and even a long horn. That long horn was a gentle foe as you could actually pet it. There wasn't any live rabbits with antlers though πŸ˜‚ 🀣

Friday we didn't do a lot except look at old photography books and relax. Later in the afternoon we left to take off for our next adventure which was to go to my sister's camper which is near the great Missouri River. The river divides the the state in half.

It was an early Saturday morning for us. We had to get up early to beat the heat to get some fishing in. The sun, the sky, and the water are a beautiful thing just before sunrise and during it. We fished for about two hours and caught 1 1/2 fish. What about the half fish? Well I caught a fish, got it in the boat and it managed to get back into the river. I was gearing to take a selfie with it and it slipped out of my hand as I was trying to stick my finger under its gill. So there you have it the one that got away, haha.

After lunch and a little bit of a cat nap we headed to Native American museum. I've been to quite of few of them but hands down this was the best one I've ever seen. There were so many authentic pieces. One of my favorites was this canoe which was dated around 1870. So much history was told here too and a majority of the walls contained artwork that was done by Native Americans. Soon I will compile three museums into one article on Native American life style in Midwestern America.

Sunday we headed out after getting breakfast to our third location Rapid City, SD located on the western part of the state. There we had a hotel waiting for us. We made two pit stops on the way. One was a visit to a unique town and the other was a national park with some unique formations.

Our first stop was at a place called 1880 town. Not a real town but all the building are real. The place takes in old buildings from around the region that would have been used in that timeframe. It was set up like a real town and it feels like one too. Not everything but it had a church, bank, barbershop, train depot, hotels, saloons, fire department, general stores, houses and a few others. Looks old and let me tell you it had the distant smell to it. Heehaw!! Cowboy up!! I truly felt like I was back in those times. I snapped out of it when I had to go to the bathroom because I wasn't using the outhouse. Plus where is that red cob, haha.

What you see above is Badlands National Park. Very cool park that has a highway through it so can see you can see the amazing landscape sitting in your car. For safety, there are many view point stops where you can get out and be part of the landscape. Be careful though their are rattle snakes. Hear a rattle go back to your car because the closest hospital is a good few hours away. We did see some wild life which included a mountain goat way too far away to take a picture of and a buffalo. We were lucky that a fellow tourist had binoculars so we were able to see the mountain goat clearly.

We spent a good 6 hours between these two places and it was worth it. The last stop for the day was our hotel room which is still two hours away. Once at the hotel we ordered pizza than shortly after that went to bed.

Monday morning came and my teenager son was a bear to get out of bed. Once up we headed to the cafeteria area of the hotel to get our free continental breakfast. Our plans were to visit Jewell Cave which is the third largest cave in the world. After that we were going to do a drive by of Mount Rushmore and visit Custer State Park. Well our plans didn't quite go as planned because we were stopped in our tracks at Hill City, SD.

Wouldn't you know it on our drive path to Jewell Cave sat this place called 1880 Train. I had to check it because I love old aged equipment especially trains. Intially I thought this place was just a static display of railroad equipment. I was wrong they actually sell train tickets to a city that is about 10 miles away, Keystone, SD. We went inside the train depot which is basically a gift shop that also sells train tickets.

We bought tickets and had a few hours before our departure. We ended up going to Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Unfortunately no time for Jewell Cave. On the way back we ran into the unfinished Crazy Horse monument.

The journey at Custer State Park was a mixed one. Sure the scenery is amazing but we paid admission to see wildlife. We only seen a handful of the available wildlife. We seen a herd of bison but they were in the distance. We seen some burros close up but we had already seen them somewhere else. Another thing we saw were some prairie dogs which are like a mix between a mole and a squirrel. The one thing I seen from about 150 yards away was a mountain lion but I missed getting a picture.

So the Crazy Horse monument was a quick drive by as I took a shot of it at a red light. A lot of South Dakota residents argue that it is a waste of admissions to see it since it's not done. Some say the museum inside the confines is spectacular. That alone would make it worthy of visit from me. I know there is a smaller statue there that shows what the finished project looks like. It's basically Crazy Horse pointing while sitting on his horse. I think if it ever gets finished it will be a site to see. The problem is it's not state or federal funded. That's an argument I won't get into. I will say it should be for numerous reasons.

Well it's time for departure 😊 I'm super stoked because this is my very first train ride. The train is a 1926 Steam Engine Locomotive, Choo Choo! I'm three cars back in a car named the Redfern. Only a 10 mile a journey and it's about an hour each way. It went slow for several reasons. The main reason is it's one the highest grade tracks in my country. There are also a few sharp turns and it's for tourism. It allows for better pictures and you get to suck up the experience for longer.

This was the last major thing I did on this road trip. Since I was a train virgin this really was my highlight of my vacation. We took our time getting back home. We stopped at my sister's camper and spent the night. The next morning we left and stopped at my mother's and she had lunch waiting for us. We departed early afternoon and made at back at home after some school shopping around 6:00.

Before I let you go let me show you some scenery from the train ride. You will see some older houses, the amazing views of the Black Hills National Forest, some carved mountains that the tracks went though and some old left behind mining operations.

Well in a nut shell that was my vacation. If you want to see more pictures and stories of my vacation check me out in Hive. I actually wrote 7 articles in total. I leave you the links to the two I had the most fun writing:

Special Train Day Visit

A Visit to 1880 Town

It's been a long while since I have published here. I miss a lot of you here. I'm in no way finished here and I will be back with some fun and games 😁 This vacation was really something I needed and I had to grind hard to get it. I appreciate if you have got this far, I know it's a bit longer than my normal articles here.

Take care, be safe, and don't forget I love you all ❀️

17
$ 1.02
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.10 from @Unity
+ 7
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
7 months ago

Comments

Hello Sir, nice to see you again, i never been in that kind of place ever, heheh. What a great shots you have shared here!And also, I like the photo of goats here, hehhe, that's the only one I know, or am I right? Is it a goat?

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Yup there goats 🐐 I seen quite a few on my trip. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Welcome sir, I just drop by here sometimes, cause I'm out of budget for load, so that's why, and now I got a chance to connect with a wifi.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

It's all good :) I appreciate you visiting when you get a chance

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Wow, what a fantastic place. I'm sure you had a great time. The train journey is the same because it must be wonderful to ride a train made in 1926. You should take me there on my honeymoon and I and(I hope I find it) My partner we will have a great time

$ 0.00
3 months ago

Wow the vacation is wide

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Wish you happy time with your family

$ 0.00
6 months ago

A fruitful and wonderful day to you my birthday twin,,,,how are you? It's been a month that I am not active here,,and now I am back heheheh.... Well I love those pictures you've been posted specially the sunrise it defines calmness and peace....Those pine trees were so cool... God bless you my dear friend, I hope your good and fine today. πŸ€—

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Hey birthday twin 😊 I had such a great time away from everything. I don't think a doctor could have prescribed something better for what it did for me, haha. I haven't been very active here for awhile either. I'm dealing with things in RL but aren't we all.

How are you? I'm sure your son is getting big now, right? Thank you for the good wishes friend πŸ’š May God bless you as well and hope your days are good 😊

$ 0.00
7 months ago

You've come a long way, friend, sometimes I thought you wouldn't come back again, but when the notification appeared and I saw posts from your name, I knew that you still miss this place. Fantastic holiday, sometimes I miss places like this, but I can't do it now because I'm still in the hospital. Keep your spirits up, btw the animal park is interesting.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Thanks I'm not done here. It's just sometimes the net worth is better elsewhere. I come back here because I know there are some that I only see here:) I put a lot of effort in this article not for coin but for all of you. Hopefully things turn for me a bit and I can be back here more often..

This vacation is what I needed and I haven't been that happy for that long for awhile. Hope your mother gets better friend πŸ™

$ 0.00
7 months ago

thank you friend

$ 0.00
7 months ago

A wonderful and deserved vacation for yourself, Sir Bob... I like all the photos but what I love moreare the scenery from the train ride. It's so beautiful. I love seeing πŸŒ³πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸ’š. It's so cool to look at.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

That train ride had to turn me back to when I was like 12. I loved that ride. The steam blown whistle never got boring to hear. I think I heard it well over dozen times. Yes the Black Hills are full of trees 🌲🌲🌲

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Greetings my friend. Wonderful all the pictures you have taken of all the rides. I'm glad you went on vacation. Even better that you are already back.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

It surely was a great time, those six days were stress free. Well a little my son drove most of the time, haha.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

I would be lying if I told you that I read all the context. There's so much to read but hey, I enjoyed scrolling through the photos :) It's great to see you having a great time Bob. A very much-needed vacation. Well deserved!

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Thanks Jeaneth it was indeed a great time. I'm glad you enjoyed the photos. I have only showed a small fraction of them. I took so many. Hope all is well with you πŸ™

$ 0.00
7 months ago

We love you too and you take care too! You've covered the vacation in this blog perfectly. I can see some awesome images too and I loved them all. Sounds goat is rare at your place as I can see them inside the cage. Goats are domestic animal at my place. I liked the biggest bunny in the picture. Hope you enjoyed fullest this vacation and miss you around! Please come back soon to join us like before! ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Nope goats are very common. Those just happen to be in cage for display purposes. Some were for sale. A lot of farmers still use goats here today. They make great lawn mowers. 1880 Town had 3 goats roaming around freely.

Thanks for stopping by and I miss seeing you around friend πŸ’š

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Honestly we miss your presence here and glad to see you Back.
You have amazing road trip with wonderful explorations of nature, history and culture. Really enjoyed by reading your travel log . Thank you for bringing the great sight of great nation for us. Stay blessed!

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Thanks for the kind words it great to be back and give you something to read and look at. You take care and stay blessed as well.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Wow, finally you have enjoyed your vacation sir bob. I was really amazed all the pictures you've shared to us. I never see that kind of sculptures and places full of good views and for sure you are very happy that moment☺️

$ 0.02
7 months ago

It was a wonderful time. I really needed something like this. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Bro!, you gave me 2 goats in your post, 2 goats! XD (I love them ha ha ha), and for that alone the post is worth it for me.

I really liked the Bad lands part, it's very impressive, and above all the owl sculpture is a complete genius, very impressive.

The train is beautiful and the Sioux museum is very interesting.

Special mention of the hall and the old town, very interesting.

I'm sorry your fish got away, you're out of shape! ha ha ha ha :)

You can tell you enjoyed your vacation a lot, you look good.

I tell you that in hive they chose me for this month as a guest curator of ecency.com, so I have that responsibility with me. I work hard curating posts with a 1.2 KK HP count.

I keep growing (finally in hive) and I don't want to stop, I have dedicated myself to making videos and it has given me excellent results.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

I seen many goats on this trip friend. Very friendly all green eaters, haha the mountain goats and mountain sheep are pretty cool looking. If anything friend it gave me a gasp of fresh air away from things I'm struggling with in RL. I was very happy and I did have some time to write which I wasn't expecting. I tell you at times I felt like a kid again, haha

Oh the fish I should have took a picture of it at the cleaning station, haha. Oh well being on that river and seeing all so big nature was fulfilling enough.

I'm glad your doing well there friend. I usually do all my reading in ecency and all my posting in PeakD. Hey some do very well with video. I'm waiting for the day I stop blogging on my phone so I can do a little more. I hope they get the images fixed in ecency soon I notice it's working some of the time.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

had to grind hard to get it

You looked happy and enjoyed during your trip, sir! Well, you really deserved it.

$ 0.02
7 months ago

Thank you it was very much needed for me. It was a escape from RL as well

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Thank you it was very relaxing and most importantly I was away from RL stresses

$ 0.00
7 months ago