Does Having a Smart Phone Make Us Lazy?

8 32
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

The Old Days the Good Old Days?

As a kid, we had a home telephones with chords that were quite long (oh the tripping hazards, lol). There were pay phones at a lot of street corners and most likely at every gas station. I can remember driving home from school as a teenager and my car over heated so I had to pull over and walk about a half mile to the closest house and ask to use their phone.

Oh I can remember playing records and purchasing cassette tapes from the local music store. So if a favorite song was in the middle of the cassette tape you had to fast forward to it, sometimes this could take a minute. The funny thing is I have both records and cassette tapes still but have nothing to play them with, lol.

School memories of writing a research paper meant going to the library and checking out books and encyclopedias. I use to love going into a bookstore and seeing all the different categories. It was an added bonus if there was a also a cafe located within.

If you wanted food that wasn't at home you had to go get it. There were a few places that delivered but it was mostly pizza joints. In my early 20s that's what I did part time, deliver pizza. We took orders over the phone, sometimes had to make them, and of course had to deliver them. How did we deliver them? Each driver had a paper copy of a delivery map.

The World We Live in Now

Most people don't have land lines for home telephones. Almost everybody has a some sort of a smart phone. This one small device can do a lot. It basically can eliminate most of the tasks I mentioned above. That's great right?

Do you think some rely too much on there phones? I challenge you to go to a place where a lot of people gather. How many people do you see doing something with there phones? Do you think you could survive without your phone for a day, week, or longer? People can order food with thier phones, order thier groceries, buy merchandise, and the list goes on and on.

I deliver food and merchandise so I see a lot. I won't share them all too many. I'll only share what I delivered today. I picked up one order today a shipping box, yes that's right, I took it from the grocery store to the customers address. It cost the customer more in delivery charges than what the box is worth I delivered two sodas from a fast food restaurant as well. Why do these people waste money like this? It's not because they are rich cause neither were.

We all probably know someone who's face is always buried in their phone. All the apps, social media, games, and everything else we can do with our phones can take us away from the real world. I myself is guilty of this from time to time. I think our phones can make us lazy because they can do so much for us. The important things like doing household chores, spending time with loved ones, our full time jobs, and living an active life can be in jeopardy if we fall into an addiction with our phones.

Conclusion

The smart phone has many benefits and too much use can be harmful to one self. I hope you all found this article useful. Please don't be afraid to add to the discussion. I appreciate you taking the time to read.

6
$ 0.68
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.04 from @wakeuplincs
+ 2
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I was not happy when the day my husband had his own smartphone as he started to play mobile legends that causes our family in trouble that leads me to leave him

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya I have seen relationships suffer because of screen time and video games

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It has both side.. one side is associated with foolish activities and other Side has biggest opportunities to achieve something . It's depend on how people taking advantage or disadvantage from mobile device .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very true like some people need there phone for their jobs. While others get fixed to it and get nothing accomplished. Thanks for stopping by and reading my article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It has a lot of perks but also disadvantages. For instance, your mobile phone can be a tool to earn passive income. Not everyone can afford to buy their own laptop or PC.

As I've said, it has a lot of disadvantages too. One of these is the use of social media. Since many keep posting their life online, others would fall into depression for not being able to achieve what others have.

But to answer your question, I can live without my phone but it's gonna be hard and if possible, I don't want that to happen. Hehe.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I can definitely see how some can fall into depression making their life available on line, good point . Yes, some can't afford PC or laptops but some of those that can have a good cover of dust on them because the phone is on them like a piece of clothing. I rarely use my lap top, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, we rely too much on our smart phone that we forgot the real word. Specially the kids nowadays, they no longer socialize with others, because they are always at their home and busy playing games on their phone...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes the kids are the most hooked. Oh how we were outside playing around much more than they are now. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago