Baylis Park Council Bluffs, IA

26 76
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
10 months ago

Hello friends and readers of read.cash. Its my Saturday evening here about 7:00 p.m. How about I give you something a little different that I haven't done here before. I'm going to do an article with numerous pictures. Let me take you on a quick journey of a park in my locale :)

The name of the park that I'm at today is called Baylis Park. This park first opened up in Council Bluffs, IA in 1853. With much certainty much of what you see today will not be from that long ago. There are some thicker wider trees but I don't even know if they are that old.

The first thing I came into eye contact with was three monuments. The first was a 1932 dedication to veterans of the Spanish American war. The emblem in the middle list Puerto Rico, Cuba, Philippines, and the United States. All countries in the war against Spain. This war was from 1898 to 1902. Later on I will show you a memorial wall that list people who lost their lives in this war who lived here.

The second monument is a big rock surround by other smaller rocks. There is a photo depiction on the big rock with people, horses, horse buggy, and some livestock. This city was known as Kanesville before being renamed Council Bluffs and was a popular stopping point along the Mormon Trail. An interesting fact, walking distance from my house is trail museum. A lot of historic trails passed through this city as people wanted to explore and start out fresh in the west front tier of the country.

The third monument is a 1926 dedication to those who defended the flag of the United States. I enjoyed looking and reading the stories and history on these monuments.

This park is in the middle of what use to be a 19th century Hay market. There are a lot of old brick buildings still standing today that were used during those times. Most are repurposed getting used for different purposes today

Today the park is glorified by most for it's good sized water fountain. On hot summer days it is flooded with children playing in it by climbing up it. It wasn't that hot today so there were few people getting wet, I wasn't one of them!!

What's up with the squirrel monuments? Well Council Bluffs is known for there black squirrels. You can go across the river to Omaha, Nebraska but you will only see brown ones. Here in Council Bluffs you get both of them. I captured this black one a few weeks ago at this park. If you like to eat squirrel you won't get the opportunity to taste the black ones because they are illegal to hunt.

A lot of parks show off flowers this one is no different. A lot of flower boxes through out the park. There is also two smaller gardens that flex some of the local natural flowers. People come here to relax and sit at the numerous benches and tables. So why not make it inviting to our flying friends via a bird house. Hey it's not a park if you don't here chirping right?

The park also had a veteran's plaza that honored Council Bluffs veterans that were lost due to a war or conflict. Being a veteran myself I took my time and walked gingerly in this area as I took the time to read every name on the walls. The first war the city lost someone was from the Civil War here in the United States. Since that war, veterans in this city have served in every war or conflict the United States has been in. Some have made the ultimate sacrifice and gave their lives for their country. Without their service and their sacrifices my country surely wouldn't have the freedoms we all enjoy today.

After Thoughts

This is a little neat park located at the heart of the down town area. It's exactly the size of a city block but offers so much to the citizens of this city. Many come here for relaxation to witness the water fountain. Some like me comes here to do that as well but I also pay tribute to those names that our engraved on those walls and monuments. I wish I could say many were around me reading names but I was all alone.

I hope you enjoyed the read and I thank you for coming this far. Take care, be safe and I love you all ❤️

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise App

Hive

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

13
$ 1.03
$ 0.50 from @Unity
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 6
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
10 months ago

Comments

Wow..it's really neat and this kind of park is what I want to be like near our place. It's a good bonding place at the same time learning and remembering those past times. We need like this in our place to keep children be expose less with gadgets and enjoy life outside like in a park like this. Thanks for sharing this place Bob.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Your welcome I'm glad to share. I need to do this more here, I do it quite often over at Hive. Yes seeing kids playing in the water brings smiles to my face because there faces aren't buried in their gadgets. Kids need to be active and play physically.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

What a beautiful park! I like the part where eating squirrel is illegal. Hope you had a great time there. The statues are also amazing and the park seems a biggest area. Have a nice day!

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Thanks for dropping by :) Just the black squirrels you can't eat. It's a law that doesn't bother me as I have never had squirrel and probably never will 😂

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Same here, its forbidden to me according to religious view. I wonder if any human eat squirrels.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

There are plenty that do. I mean not the majority though hehe

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Oh! really sad! I like squirrel playing!

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Yes, exactly you provided really a new thing with us which is different in comparison to previous articles. The park has so much information and giving an overview to war.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

This is pretty typical to my Hive articles. Pictures and descriptions of them. It's not so much about war but about showing gratitude to those who fought for our freedom. Thanks for dropping by. Hope all is going well with you :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Great one man, good to see you 🖐🏻

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Thanks for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I like how you are getting more comfortable to show your face Bob 😁 that's a great sign. I'm just here to appreciate your selfie. Haha

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Haha thanks Jeaneth :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I like the second monument the most and that water fountain give the amazing look Bob 😍😍

Well, you uploaded more pictures than this article on hive lol 😆 it's only new for those who knows you know readcash 😁

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Haha true there's a few here who are on both right? There's a good handful that aren't on Hive though. It's funny this one got more of an upvote amount though.

I like the rocks monument too. Oh yes the water fountain is the park center piece for most.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ooh nice. Something new on read cash. hehe

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Haha you know this is common for me on Hive. I just wanted to give the users here a look at my new swagger 😊

$ 0.00
10 months ago

haha yes go for it :D

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Amazing place, enjoy your time.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Thank you for stopping by 😊

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I like the birdhouse. I would have liked a small video clip of the black squirrel.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Some point I will link videos. I have only done it one time and that was on hive. There are plenty of them here. I could probably peak out my window to my back yard and see a few.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Stunning rich history of Baylis Park around you . It is always good to have some time in such environment which nourish our soul. Three monuments has great stories of pride behind. Snapshots are amazing especially Fountain and squirrel 🐿️.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

Thanks friend. It's not the largest park in my area but imo it's the coolest 😊

$ 0.00
10 months ago

That was totally a brautiful park that have so many memories from the past.

$ 0.02
10 months ago

It really is and it's visited by all walks of lives. There were two homeless people present in the park when I visited. So it's enjoyed by everyone 😊

$ 0.00
10 months ago