Who owns the song?

11 33
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Who owns the song? 

Tuesdays morning everyone and I hope your night was splendid, mine was good as well, though I slept while data was on and I just woke up as early as 4 am, looking at everything for more than an hour plus, I don’t know if it’s only me, but even every time I wake up from sleep, I always take my time to relax for hours let the time whine away, and then the next moment I will be in a hurry with everything to meet up with the time that whines away, lol.

Today topic I'm going to seek your opinion on something, though it didn't cause an argument, I will like to address the case, it might sound like it doesn't matter, but the truth is that it's actually a big deal in the music industry business, so without taking your time let’s begin. 

A few weeks ago, I wrote an article on a song I and my colleagues (Paschal and Amahya) are working on, it's a good song and I haven't done with the song yet, I don't know why I like behaving like this sometimes, lol, some weeks back when we were at the studio, a female colleague asked who owns the song and Paschal said that it belongs to us, while Amahya said that the song belongs to Paschal, so Paschal was telling them that the song isn't his, but Amahya was saying it belongs to him because of how the song came about. 

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

On the day we made the song, Amahya and I was in the studio when Paschal came, Paschal has been telling me about a cover (a cover in music means he's not the original owner of the song) he wants to do and I have been postponing it for a long time, when he came I just can’t postpone it again so I decided to let him, Paschal is a better pianist than me because he has been practicing for years and I, on the other hand, it hasn't been up to two years since I started to go into music production, I asked him the song he wanted to do cover on, he told me the song and I created drums for it (the drums I created wasn’t the same drums as the original song he wanted to do cover on) after creating the drums, he played the chords progression (the piano) on the drums and it was sounding nice, already an instrumental, when it was time for him to record the cover, I told him that why not make it an original song instead of doing a cover, so we agreed and he wanted to make a love song, but I said that we should make it a motivational song because the instrumental is more like a motivational beat, I played the instrumental and he wasn't getting a hit on how to write the song because all his mind was just saying love song, I now gave him a hit, which he turned into the chorus of the song and we were set to go, Amahya wasn't inside the main studio with us when we were coming up with the chorus on how it should sound like, but he knows that Paschal played the piano line, the song became a gospel motivational song that anyone can vibe with, I did the arrangement of the song and Paschal told Amahya to join the song, that's how the song came about, both of them wrote their verse in the studio, it's easier for them because they are both singers, I, on the other hand, I prefer rapping and rapping needs a good Rhymes and also good lyrics, both of them recorded and something was missing in the song, a female vocal, songs like this needs a female vocal to breath life to it, we searched for one and Amahya chatted one people he knows and they came through. Just a few weeks back when we're at the studio, one of the girls ask who owns the song, Paschal said that it's a group song, Amahya said that is Paschal, they were talking and Paschal was trying to tell them that is not his song and is a group song, but they just focused some facts that because he played the piano line and wanted to do a cover, the song automatically belongs to him, I didn't say another word because I was just acting as I wasn't listening to them, just last Sunday here when I and Amahya was at the studio, he brought out the topic again and I had to tell him that the facts he didn't know about the song, I told him that I suggested we make it a song, I suggested that we make it a gospel motivation song everyone that can vibe to, I sang the chorus first before Paschal decides to use it and if we're to choose ownership of the song by the person who has the highest contribution to the song, then I will automatically be the owner of the song, but I just don't want to claim full ownership of the song, I want to make it as  “I and Paschal feature Amahya” or I will call it a collaboration between the three of us because Amahya also contributed by bringing the girls to voice on it, while I will also add Paschal as my assistant producer in the song. 

It's not much of an issue though, but I will like to know your thoughts on it.

Lead image source

21/12/2021

 

8
$ 6.61
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 4
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

Easy, problem solved. You are not the selfish type. What you have just done has put an end of any future resentment in case the music becomes popular.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one, great job

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any decision is fine as long as one party still has full ownership… but you made a good decision with this, it’s a collaboration and everyone needs to be a part of it.. you have to make a good plan towards that aspect and make sure you carry them along..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's my intention, as long as they don't start talking otherwise when the song blow 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you made the right decision, everyone contributed to it and not only one person owns the song.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. If it was one person song. He would have said it from the start.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what we call collabo in music and it makes a lot of sense because it's a combination of two or more artist with different vibes Actually from what I've seen in the music Industry, it's the initiator that owns the song even if he/she didn't that much but he did all the directing and ways to go about it. Before now, DJ Khaled doesn't used to sing but he has songs, he calls artists together and bring out his plan for the fall in.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I call it though. Thanks for the contributions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago