The idea

14 26
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

The idea

Ideas don't come out fully formed- Mark Zuckerberg

Hello, my dear writers and readers, I guess your day wasn't that bad, I don't know what to name the topic, but that's what pop into my mind, I know this must have happened to you, or perhaps someone must have accused you of it, relax it's not an evil thing, so no need to scream “I'm not guilty of the crime” without wasting your time, let's go straight to the topic. 

Have you thought about how someone got your idea and used it for his or her benefit, I'm not talking about people close to you though, I'm talking about people you haven't met like celebrities, there's this artiste (he's a rapper) that my friends and people always say I sound like, his name is erigga and most of my country people will know him, maybe it's because I love to listen to his songs more than any other artiste, then I started sounding like him in most of my songs (some I haven't released yet) just this year, he dropped his EP (extended playlist) I rushed to listen to the songs as a sign of support for him, in one of his tracks in the song, there was a line in the lyrics that I heard and it baffles me because I wrote that line on my song 2years ago (I wouldn't mention the name of the track here, but you can check the EP and stream his songs) the worst part it's that I haven't even recorded the song in the studio yet (though I have recorded it on my phone and no one has ever listened to it because I save it differently, so there's no way he could have heard it) I told my friend about it and he thought that I was joking until I played the one that was on my phone for him, good thing the date I recorded it on my phone was still there, but the coco (the fact) is that he must have gotten the same inspiration I got to write the lyrics, and pardon me it's just two lines though.

If I am to release the one I wrote 2 years ago, everyone will say I copied it from him, which I can't defend myself because he sang it first, this wasn’t the first time though, another artiste had sung some of my lines in his song, and I was surprised, I am saying they stole my song though, what I am saying is that, same ideas can’t hit three people but in different ways, but the first one among the three that makes use of the idea before the others, becomes the original while the rest will be the copy of it, not that they copied it from the first one though, but they weren’t fast enough to make use of the ideas. 

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

Most people do copy ideas and claim them for themselves, I don’t know if you have heard the story of “The Goat and The Sheep” I have forgotten the author that wrote it, but I still remember the story, because it has a big lesson to be learned, which I applied to my everyday life and make sure to keep in mind, it will be of help to you too.

A long time ago there lived a goat and a sheep (both females) they were best of friends, even knows them very well because they always fight for each other and they don’t backstab themselves, both of them lived in the same house, that’s how close their friendship was, both of them became pregnant and the same time, so they were always indoor enjoying the company of each other, the goat decided to tell the sheep that, she has already gotten a name for her unborn baby and she will name the baby lamb, sheep told her congrats, the goat asked if she hasn’t gotten any name for her unborn baby yet, the sheep told the goat that, she wants to give birth first, before naming her baby, the sheep gave birth before the goat and animals started paying a visit to them and they asked what is the name of the baby, the sheep boldly called her baby lamb, the goat was shocked because that was the name she kept for her unborn baby, but her best friend has told everyone that her baby name is lamb, the goat was so sad about what the sheep did to her when the goat gave birth, animals visited them and asked the name of the baby, the goat couldn't name her baby “lamb” because it's going to be a big case that she won't win, so she named her baby “kid” the goat and the sheep weren't friends again. 

Just like what happened to the goat, it can happen to anybody, telling your friends, family, or colleagues your plans for a brighter future when you don't have the resources to build the plans into reality is a big risk, they can steal it and use it for their benefits, there's nothing you can do about it than to keep your distance for them, but the damage has been done already, someone can have the same plan as you, but it can never be the naming process like yours, there must be a difference if there's no difference in the way they execute their plans, just know that your plans have been compromised, let's learn to keep sometimes to ourselves, especially if it doesn't concern anybody, so we wouldn't start to regret opening our mouth to people about our plans, always resist the huge to fall for that and watch how things will work out for you. 

Please subscribe to my account on Noise

Lead image source

24/11/2021

8
$ 2.94
$ 2.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

It's one thing to have an idea ,it's another thing to work on it. Though I'm not into music but there's a line i love saying jokingly when I'm asked to freestyle. It has become something all my friends know and we laugh over it. Recently, while watching some music video on sound city, i heard a song that has some of the words i love saying. It was surprising but i laugh it off as just coincidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅😅 That's just it. You have it and someone was searching for it and when he found it, he used it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you are talking about usually happens. There are many things that are similar in the world and we can't explain it. The mysteries of the mind are infinite. The same has happened with great inventions. I have read that on one side of the world something was invented and on the other side of the world they were already patenting it. No one plagiarized. It was their unique minds that made it similar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you are right. When someone is searching for ideas to use on a particular business or project, another person is also exploring the same ideas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right my friend. Only the boldest will triumph.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have witnessed cases like this too and I was surprised about it. Truly, ideas come to many at different times but the first to make use of owns it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same ideas but mostly brought at different paces of time. But I guess sometimes coincidents happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it happens sometimes, but two people can't have the same method of making use of the ideas,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with that, unless the other was just a fully copy cut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen this happens so many times. I work in an advertisement agency, once a was talking with an idea to make an ad for a bank's promotional video. The next week I saw another agency is applying the same thing. Unfortunately, people don't think that it is unethical. Thanks for the advice. Sometimes life teaches us the hardest way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sometimes happen when everyone is seeking for ideas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ideas are like spirit they fly and we don't know it, haven't you been in a gathering then you are thinking something and when you want to say it out then the next person says with you at the same time. as a comedian, if I tell I have the style of brainjotter long ago will you believe but I can't use it anymore cos he has blow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, if you use it, people will only call you a copy of him, even when most of them know that you aren't coping him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago