National cake

14 29
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Have you ever found yourself in a position where you know that you are doing the wrong thing but it feels right? I guess most of us must have encountered such an event, whether, from our childhood or adulthood, it still counts though.

After reading @Olasquare recent article about how they went out to give to those in need and the unexpected happened, it might be new to some of us but it has been like this for years, people usually call it “National cake” whereby the greedy one's see themselves as the fortunate enough to act smart in looting what is supposed to go round to everyone, while the true ones will be look like dumb people who don't know the coco (have the guts in them)

Things like this usually happen in Africa and we only blame the government when fissure we also know that we are guilty of the same cry and the only difference is that they did it with the country money and we did it with the things given to us with a good heart.

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

Like I said, it's not a new thing and it all started when we were children, especially in the school (for those of us that attended public schools) I attended public school from my primary to high school and one thing it thought us is that the patience dog can starve, in other not to starve we have to act smart and grab every opportunity that comes our way, even if it means to hurt others, I have been a soft hearted being since since I was young, though I might act strong but inside of me is too emotional.

Now let me take you to the beginning of how it started

Back in my primary days, government sometimes send us free books and other items, I remember when I was in my primary 5 and my school in three groups, like we are in the same school compound but had different uniforms, we were separated by the kit (uniform).

In my primary 5, the minister of education came to our school and saw us in different kits, he now told the headmasters to merge us, we use to have 3 headmasters for the group and every group has their own teachers, I’m sure is because of the expense in paying them, that’s why they decided to merge us so they can pay less teachers and transfer the rest, the government sent us the new uniforms and it was suppose to be distributed for free to us all.

It was during break time, all of us was called to the assembly ground waiting for the uniforms to be given to us, they started the distribution and to cut the long story short, people stared to rush and everywhere was so dusty, the strong ones was able take uniforms from themselves while most of us couldn’t, the headmistress wasn’t happy about it, so they kept the remaining uniforms to themselves and started selling it to us, uniforms that was supposed to be free for all.

When were about to write our common entrance (Primary 6 examination) The principal said that those without the new uniforms will not be allowed to enter the hall, my parents wasn’t ready to buy for me because I was about to leave the school anyway and no one will wear it after I’m gone because I’m the youngest male child and I’m senior to a female, instead of them buying for me, they will rather use it to buy for my junior sister because she was in primary 3 then, I had to borrow from my neighbor who bought the uniform so I could write the exam.

Another event was when I was in junior high

I think I have shared it here before, but for the seek of some of us that didn’t get to read it, I will share it again. Back in my junior high, the governor of my state then, gave us free books with his picture on it and something was written in the back which says “this book is not for sale” all of us were fully aware that the book was given to us free but the principals and the teachers decided to give it to a bookshop in our school to sell it to us, lol, funny right? They were saying the books to us without even trying to clean what was clearly written there. They see it as their share of the national cake. That’s how it usually starts.

conclusion

People don’t just wake up and start acting barbarically, they learnt it from somewhere or someone and the learning wasn’t for a day, they were observing if those that ones did it will be punished, but as they weren't punished, they see themselves as being stupid for not joining them in the barbaric art.

Thanks for yet another ride with me today. Have a wonderful Sunday 💯🖤

Lead image source

29/01/2022

8
$ 4.70
$ 4.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

I was expecting to see a cake here but I was surprised it wasn't what I expected, lol! Learn a new phrase today, thanks to you. But I think it happens almost everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅 we learn new things everyday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it write, people that don't have the mind of doing it before are now engaging in it because those people were not punished. It's just like abstaining from S*x to maintain a clean Christian's brother/sister record, sooner or later you will soon go into it because the people that have been doing it before were not punished. This world no balance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah swear, this world noe balance 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, that national cake of a thing does not only happen in Africa o, it's a worldwide something and it's just a reflection of how humans behave, irrespective of the race or country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true sha, but I just say it from where I experience it. When I travel to Dubai, I will observe it there too. 🌚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

did the government even do something about it? I mean the school just literally sold everything that was supposed to be given for free to the kids.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Who's going to tell them? They don't know about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just read his article while ago and it usually happened if you have that relief distribution in slum areas. It's hard to control them sometimes. When regards to your experiences way back then. I was awe how shameless school officials at your school.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are not even ashamed, cause they see it as being smart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe they are smart just in a wrong way😞😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They know but still decide to do it anyway

$ 0.00
2 years ago