Pop that bottle up!

2 16
Avatar for Coffee-and-books
2 years ago

Emotions are not meant to be hidden and bottled-up, as there will be a time when it will just burst and all your held up emotions will come gushing out.

I wrote this article hoping to share my experience on how bottling up my emotions led to a negative situation.

Emotions when bottled up are like waves in the ocean waiting to rage upon. It's like all the pent-up emotions within you burst in a single go - and it is not a pleasant thing. At all! On my case, I tend to hide my emotions, and not showing other people what I really feel. I'll say that I'm happy, when inside I am not. Or, when asked if i'm alright, i'll say that everythings great when in fact, its not.

How did bottling up my emotions led to a negative situation? Well, its when all negative feeling that I had were directed towards someone rather close to me, like all the nasty emotions just burst out - and it led to a really serious conflict. That person kept on asking me if it's okay or if I really mean it when I say its fine, and I totally just blew up! I said some mean and hurtful things to her and she stood there with her mouth open - clearly in shock- and asked me if what is wrong with me, why did I get mad?

I was also shocked in that moment but all I can think about was how she wasn't able to understand me. We did not talk with each other for a while since then, until one day, I realized that it was my mistake. That I shouldn't had let my emotions get the better of me. I called her and said I am really sorry for what happened and that I didnt know what has gotten into me to lash out to her like that. Fortunately, she accepted my apology and told me that I can talk to her and be honest with her - and that she will always be willing to listen.

What I learned from my own experience, is that it is not good to keep your emotions bottled-up and sealed within you, as there will be a time when your emotions will break that very own bottle that is keeping it sealed, and you may hurt someone dear to you if that ever happens.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Coffee-and-books
2 years ago

Comments

That's true. It's better to express how you feel. We have to talk to others about it for that is how we should keep relationships going. We have discuss things we like or dislike. Your friend is a true friend for she accepted your apology and she understood you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! I am really lucky to have a friend like her๐Ÿ˜Š Thank you๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago