Would You Go for A Bootleg Figure?

9 178
Avatar for Codex_04
2 years ago

The articles that I created so far were different topics either I stick on my personal life, my escapade trips, anime reviews, and topics regarding on my hobby that is figure collecting. I never thought myself that my articles regarding on figure collection would be recognized by other users, and I am thankful that I was also mentioned by@CryptoMaxin his article (kindly click this), it was flattering and because of that I want to make more articles regarding figures. Now there are things that I want to discuss with everyone, if you’ve been with me ever since I started my journey here in read.cash you would know that I am gladly sharing my collection and love on anime figures but if not, well now’s the time to join with me in this article. Here’s my question would you go for a bootleg figure?

I know others may hear this word for the first time, and may get confused what does Codex_04 talking about? Here’s my previous article if you want some guide in figure collecting (kindly click this to see article), but if you don’t have time to look on it, well “BOOTLEG” is a figure that does not have any proper licensing approval, imitation, low quality and in simplified term it’s “FAKE”. In common sense of course who would go with a fake? right? when you could go and buy an authentic/original one but even bootleg was fake it still has some good quality on it, some advantages and also downside so let’s find out more about it.

1. HOW DO YOU KNOW IF THE FIGURE YOU BOUGHT WAS BOOTLEG?

There’s a lot of difference in an authentic figure than a bootleg one, you would know that it was bootleg number one of course in quality, the paint jobs were not quite perfect, and you could see some paint chips in some parts of a bootleg figure. The details sometimes look ridiculous, if you compare the looks of the figure to the character where it was based you would be disappointed at some point. The texture and the materials where the figure was made is low quality. Another thing was the box of the figure itself; you could see that it has not licensed to the manufacturers plus the details on the box definitely duplicated on the original that was downgrade.

The Left side was the bootleg figure, see it for yourself the difference between the quality and the details of bootleg vs Authentic one which is on the right side

I know reading all the description I made can make you dislike a bootleg figure and definitely wouldn’t go on it but please bear with it until the end and it might change your mind.

2. BOOTLEG WAS CHEAPER AND MORE AFFORDABLE

This is one of the good sides and advantage of bootleg figures, since it was not licensed and imitation from the original one’s it was cheaper and could afford by anyone. Collecting figures was not just a simple hobby, it was an expensive one and I really mean it especially if your figures was all authentic. Ever since I collected, I think I spent more than P65,000 pesos and if I convert it in dollars if would be 1,340 USD and I am spending more up until now, if you ever decide to collect figures make sure your wallet had enough funds because being collector makes your wallet empty. That’s why sometimes I still collect bootleg figures.

Another good example of bootleg vs authentic, the authentic one was on the left side now while the bootleg figure was on the right side.

3. IT’S NOT ABOUT AUTHENTIC OR BOOTLEG AS LONG AS YOUR HAPPY

There are collector’s out there that was very judgemental on bootleg figure, when they hear or see that the figure was bootleg if feels like there were very allergic on it and never want to have one, but for me bootleg was fine and okay. There’s a lot bootleg figure that has high quality and almost the same as the original. It’s not about authentic or bootleg figures it’s about your happiness, either it was authentic or bootleg as long as your happy with your collection that’s all that matters.

Another comparison but as you can see both of the figures were in good quality, but see the pictures closely and you will know which is the authentic one between the two.

To be honest I started collecting figures without any knowledge on them, my first figures were actually bootleg, and I was happy having them but as soon as I learn more about figures, I stick more on authentic one’s because I could say it was my investment and I can afford it. I’m not being biased on bootleg but the quality of authentic was far more superior but at some point, I still purchase bootleg figures for the price was a lot cheaper and at the end of the day you still display them in your glass cabinet to enable to see their beauty.

If I would answer my question I would say yes and definitely give bootleg figure a shot, I know there were downside on it but that does not mean I can’t see its beauty, right? Everything in this world have an inner beauty you just have to appreciate them, be contented on it and your happiness matter the most. Would You Go for A Bootleg Figure? Hope you like it, thank you for your time reading!

11
$ 18.80
$ 18.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 1
Sponsors of Codex_04
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Codex_04
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a collector, but if I were then I would try to support my favorite ones by buying the original if at all possible. Otherwise, a second hand bootleg would not be a problem, as long as it didn't go to the ones who made it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I would still prefer that, almost all of my collections were authentic, my point on this article that I created was to inform others what are the good points even it was a bootleg at the same time your happiness does matter the most on it hehe. Bootleg sometimes have contradiction on original but a lot of people that can't afford authentic stick on bootleg 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where is the bootleg with the girl anime? Left side as well? If yes, and thatbis my answer. Why? Because it's glossier while thenother one is matte and the color difference between the two especially the puppy (if that was a puppy) on her head. Good job on uploading photos of the bootleg and original action figure. 👍🏼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right about it Ate Jonna, you have sharp eyes and really looking on the details. Thanks for your compliment Ate Jonna

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I first heard the term bootleg it was about compact discs. I went for those bootleg cds, because it was my favorite band. Those collections were never released and will never be available in a cd store to buy them. I support my band by buying all of their albums so I would never download them, but a bootleg is different in this case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably yes if your not too familiar on this term, sorry for confusing you a little but yes it has a big difference than the cd's that you were mentioning, anyways thanks for dropping by Peter!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda!!! Kaso mga mahal hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo, kaya ko rin ginawa tong article for others that want cheaper collection mas mura to Lau 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doraemon lang okay na hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago