Reminiscing the Past

17 54

Earlier this afternoon I've read ate Ramona's article about living in country side. I remember that we are neighboring province I think her province is in Leyte while in in Iloilo which had little similarities in dialect. I really miss my home province. It was the place where I was born and I learn lots of things during my childhood days.

A months ago I've already wrote about my life in province and now I'm gonna reminisce it again. My home province is Iloilo it's faraway from the city but rich in different things, we are home of different agricultural products that exported within the locality. I lived in my Tiyo and tiya which I considered as my second mother and father since my biological parents died when I'm just an infant. I didn't see their faces actually.

I was raised by my Tiyo and tiya and we are 3 siblings living in their house. They treat us family and give us the care we need. We are living in a land which they don't own hopefully the owner of the land let us live there and use the concrete house. I witness different kind of things in life and I experienced lots of stuff.

As we all know provinces are not modernized just like in rural areas that's why every works are done manual. I am the youngest that's why heavy works are not given to me before, I just help my siblings gathering branches of dried woods then help them fetch the water.

My Lola is the one who cook for us, sometimes I'm the one who gather ingredients found in our surrounding like malunggay, Sayote which is a green leaf but I don't know what it's name in English. Our place is located near the ocean and mountain and there's a civilization around that's why electricity is installed, we just need to save since electricity is expensive. We have no faucet that's why we manually pumped the poso or fetch water in deepwells just to get a bucket of water.

This photo was taken way back 2018 and it was cousin in the photo. It's the way we get water in deepwell that sometimes scary cause you might get drowned once you fell from it. That's why before I was trying to hold into something everytime I pull the bucket with the water so that I won't feel but now I don't hold anymore cause I just let myself fall for the person that I like, just kidding.

Our life is also simple, my tiyo and tiya are farmers that despite their age they can still do some heavy task. My Lola really loves to plant crops and seeds that's why I always accompany her and helping her plant the seed also. My Lolo is the one who gather grasses for his carabao and cows that's why I also accompany him and I'm the one who lifting the sack.

At the very young age I've already learn how to earn money, the plastic bottles, cans and metals that I saw on the roads or in garbage dump I put it inside the sack and bring it home. That's how I get money by lying those scraps to person who's collecting it and sometimes I get 10 to 20 pesos for few kilos of scraps and being a child having that kind of money feels like I can buy anything.

I use the money in playing taxi before, it was a gambling game which you need to hit the coin inside the box using the coin you are holding, once you hit the coin out of the box it's already yours. I'm not good at it that's why I only play with my classmates which is also not good in playing. We have keypad phone that time it was Nokia which considered to be the strongest brand of phone in the world cause it can lost for decades and cannot be destroyed easily.

We are like idiots before when we try to insert earphone on it then we use the radio and it finds a station and we are so happy to hear music in radio. We climb on trees just to find a good signal for the radio. We are also like monkeys before that really loves to climb trees to gather fruits such as mangoes, star apples, black berries and Samapaloc.

Which is the most hard to climb it's tree due to ants that is so huge and painful once you get bite but the fruit of it is so delicious since there's a combination of sourness and sweetness once it got ripped already. I have such beautiful childhood, I can say that I've enjoyed my childhood life since I have lots of marks on my feet because my Lola hits me since I'm so hard headed when I was a child but my Lola truly loves me. I really miss my home province, I am planning to save money for us to have a vacation there.

15
$ 4.09
$ 3.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It's sad to know that you lost your parents at a very young age.
Mas maganda manirahan sa barrio..kaya lang mahirap din ang buhay kaya we have to strive hard to survive at para makaranas din ng magandang buhay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You went through such difficulty in life but still you are in feet standing tall. I know that you will be successful someday. I hope you can visit your hometown soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood memories are one of best. It will always have a special part in my heart and my mind. How I wish I can be a child again, even for just a day, to temporarily forget all these current issues that are happening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered the day that I first saw the BALON kung tawagin and apaka saya lang sa feeling kapag nag aahon ka Ng tubig duon Lalo Isa pa akong batanh paslit nuon hahaha nakakamis la Ang yung mga ganoong pakiramdam sa buhay hind gaya ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True lalo na kung sisilip ka sa ilalim,maiisip mo talagang may lakabas doon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung mga kwento Ng lolo't Lola natin hahaha nakakamiss la ang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing can beat childhood memories, well meron siguro like memories with your special someone but this, this i meam yang childhood memories na yan ang talagang masarap balok balikan 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mas gusto ko pa ito balikan kesa sa ex ko eh😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kuu bat babalika mo ee nay masakt ka atang karanasan jan hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaack I suddenly missed the province vibes because of this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your loss. Grabe din yunh experience mo sa buhay and although we're not know each other personally. Your life is quite similar to mine. Actually kakapost ko lanh about my past. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She truly loves you regardless and it was fun reading through your childhood memories, and more like I could imagine everything… I do that sometimes and it’s great how far we’ve gone and the number of things we’ve achieved.. Besides you made good advantage of what you had back then to make some cool profit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chikakiku why we're the same. I forgot to mention the star apples. There are a lot of star apples in my father's place too. It's really delicious. Your place sobrang same talaga sa amin. Ganyan din makikita namin pag labas ng bahay tas daming trees, mga puno ng mangga.

Sobrang saya nun chikakiku. Super simple but make my life so memorable. Hanggang ngayon naalala ko parin. Sobrang layo sa urban places. Napaka peaceful.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

siguro someday makakapunta ako leyte then dalawin kuta dun ate if uuwi ka po, ako miss kona umuwi hayzz wala lang money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Punta ka dun chikakiku maganda din province namin.

Humble naman, I know dami ka money ngayon. Soon chikakiku savings muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Made me nostalgic too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your area is full of prosperity and beauty .. And your articles are also full of amazement and interesting things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago