Gratitude To God

9 36

Happy Easter to My esteemed Read cash readers and sponsors. I hope y'all are having a nice day. As Christians, the Easter period is a time in which we commemorate the rising of our Lord and Personal Savior, Jesus Christ, from the dead. He left His comfort zone in Heaven as the son of God and took it upon himself to die for his people on the cross of Calvary. 
    
 While in Church yesterday, the moderator made an announcement to signal the congregation that it was time for testimonies. When the statement was made, I transitioned into a state of sober reflection, and I began to reminisce on all the things that the Lord has done for me all through this year, of which I'm not worthy enough to be at it's receiving end.
   In my academics he has been so good, in my family he has been so good, His guidance and protection has been sufficient.

THE UNIVERSITY GAMES EXPERIENCE

  Sometime last month, I and some students went to represent my school at the National University Games (NUGA), that took place at the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Nigeria. I played volleyball. The journey from our school down to the University of Lagos, lasted for about 18 hours. We left around 8am and got there by 2am the next day. When we got to the University, we were mandated to do a reconfirmatory COVID-19 test to confirm the genuineness of the one we did in school. It was part of the criteria that ought to be met before being allowed into the school premises and allocated bedspaces. 
The test lasted for 3 hours and by the time we were done, it was already 5am in the morning, just 3 hours short of the 24hour mark. 

The University games was generally a success, even though it didn't particularly finish on a good note for my side as we were eliminated in the group stages of the competition. 

DEPARTURE

When the University games were concluded, The director of Sport passed an information that we would be leaving for school first thing the next morning. The departure time was 5am and he asked that we get our things ready before the said time. 
I got everything ready for the travel back to our school in Uyo, Nigeria.

 When all was set and done, the driver started up the engine, marched the accelerator, warmed up the engine, and set the car in motion. Just 3 minutes after the car was set in motion, it stopped working. The driver tried starting it again, all to no avail, he did all he could to get the engine on again, but everything proved futile. It was at this stage that it occurred to me that this journey was going to be a long, long one. 
They called in a mechanic, who managed to get the engine on again. When it came on, we were so happy because we thought that it won't go off again. As soon as the driver drove the vehicle into the suburb of Lagos, it went off again. I didn't really know what the problem was but the car kept going off intermittently. 

SCARY TIMES

At a time, the car stopped in the middle of an unknown forest and considering the level of Insecurity in the country, anything could have happened. I quietly bowed my head and said a word of prayer. We spent over 45 minutes at this location before the driver could get the engine rolling again. As God may have it, the driver later found a way of keeping the engine rolling without it going off, and that was how we managed till we arrived Uyo at exactly 2am. That summed up to a total of 20hrs on the road.

GRATITUDE

I was so grateful to God that we got to our destination safely without any harm. At that point where we stopped in that forest, anything could have happened.

Thank you all for reading.

I also want to thank My Sponsor @Ellawrites. God bless you.

Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty

APRIL 18, 2022.

10
$ 1.16
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
+ 5
Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty

Comments

That part where the vehicle stopped at the forest, really got me scared. Thank goodness you arrived safely at Uyo. P.S: you're really tall, Chief. Happy Easter to you too. God has really been faithful, 20hours on the road must have really been tiring

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God truly hears the prayer of His children and He has His way of protecting them. I am glad you got back to school safe despite what happened. We must always be grateful to God in all ways.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes Dear Princess, Gratitude to God and appreciation for what he has done is very necessary because he answers us in the time of need and we ought to return all Glory to Him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s been God through out your journey to Lagos and every activity that took place… congrats to you and your team you deserve the awards.. I wish you had probably stayed a bit to have a tour round Lagos 😁.. I would freak out if I stop at a place like that, thank God for everything 👍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I wish I stayed back Bro. A tour round Lagos isn't a bad idea though. It was quite scary stopping at that spot at that time of the night. But we thank God for his protection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I would have been scared also if it was me, may God deliver us from this level of insecurity in our country

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen to your prayers Bro. Things ought to start getting better in this country as soon as possible. Thanks for checking by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my friend, it was really scary and dangerous, that in the dark of night, in a dark forest, your car kept going off. Thank God you finally arrived safely.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Everywhere was getting dark but the car kept going off, it was a horrific experience but thank God we made it out alive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago