Wedding Day

11 45
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

It's the day that I have been waiting for my whole life. Today I am getting married to my best friend. Her name is Haley. We have known each other since the third grade but we never realized how we felt about each other until my 21st birthday, which was three years ago. That night at my party, my life changed forever...

"What a turn out. I didn't expect this many people to come." Justice spoke in my ear.

"Yeah, me too. Even people I haven't spoken in years came out." I started looking around the room, and saw many people I was referring too. One girl in particular stood out. I couldn't place her name, but her face was so familiar. "Who is she?" I said pointing to the woman.

"Oh, that's Haley Dunkin. She was in our class." I could not believe what she had just said.

"No fucking way. That's haley? It can't be." I was so shocked that I didn't realize Haley was looking at me. She smiled and waved me over. Hesitantly, I walked over to her, giving a nod of apology towards justice.

"Hey Girly! Long time no see!" Haley pulled me into an embrace.

"Yeah, tell me about it! I didn't even recognize you!" I looked up and down her body. She was definitely gotten curvier "what have you been up to?" I decided to start the small talk.

Two hours later, we were still talking. About nothing in particular. Just what we have been doing outside of high school, and what our future plans are. We exchanged phone numbers. And that night she told me that she has always had a small crush on me. The rest is history.

I looked in the mirror at my gown, remembering every detail of the day Haley and I reconnected. It is so crazy to me how much things can change in such little time. She has always been the love of my life. I wish I had realized it earlier. I keep thinking about how much time was wasted. Time that could have been with her.

My mom comes into the small room I was waiting in. "Hi Honey! Oh, you look so beautiful!" Haley is one lucky lady.!" She runs. Over to hug me.

"Is dad out there to? I haven't heard from him in a while." I ask as we break our embrace. She gets a sad look on her face, and looks away. She then grabs my hand and starts rubbing it with her thumb.

"Oh sweetie, you look stunning." She says, tears forming in her eyes avoiding my question, while my heart dropped. Every trace of all the love and excitement I had previously felt disappeared in that instant. I know how he felt about me being lesbian, but he wouldn't even come to my wedding?

I felt my mom staring at me, waiting for me to freak out. I wouldn't give into him like this. "His loss" I smile at her. She then smiles and hugs me again.

"Well you only have a few more minutes until you need to be out there. Good luck sweetie. I love you." We kiss each others cheeks and she leaves. Although I am not surprised he didn't come, it still hurts. I won't change who I am for him, so I guess I can't expect him to do the same for me.

A short time later, it's time for me to go to the alter and wait for the love of my life. As I am walking down the aisle, I here Ooh's and aah's. With my mother next to me, I am the happiest girl on earth. My "groomsmen" (my guy two best friends and my younger cousin) stand waiting for the wedding to start.

Before I know it, Haley walks through the massive entrance. My mouth drops and I can feel the tears roll down my face. Damn you, Mom for making me so emotional. Haley look stunning in a mermaid style gown that shows all of her curves. Her hair is flowing over her shoulders in massive beach curls. Her golden brown hair reflecting the lights of the church. We make eye contact and she has the biggest, cheesiest grin on her face. I could see the tears forming, but I know she is too brave to let them fall.

"Hey." She smiles at me while walking up the three stairs to the alter.

"Hey" I smile back at her.

"Alright, let's marry these two gorgeous women, shall we?" My very friendly, elderly, black woman priest says. Laughs are heard through the church hall. Everything is running smoothly so far.

Then something strange happens. I hear a distant 'bang' in the hall. I scrunch my eyebrows together and look at Haley. "Did you hear that?" I whisper, not wanting people to be alarmed.

"Hear what?"she asks confused. I just nod my head and smile. I must have imagined it.

BANG. It's closer now.

Okay, I definitely heard that one. Haley snaps her head to me, her eyes wide. "What was that?" I hear murmurs from the crowd. Everybody heard it that time. Even my priest stops her sermon. Shouting is heard in the hall, then another, even louder BANG is heard. The large door is slammed open and there stands my father. Silence fills the church. Why is he here? I immediately stand in front of Haley to shield her from whatever he is about to do.

As I take a deeper look at my father, I notice splats of.... blood? It couldn't be. What is happening? "I cannot believe my little girl, my precious angel, is marrying a woman." He spits in

disgust. Everyone in the pews turn to look at him. The only person not looking was my mother, her eyes were dead set on the cross at the head of the church. I slowly move my gaze back to my father and lay my eyes on the shotgun in his hands.

"How could you do this to me?" He spits. He brings the gun up, pointing it at me. "How could you betray your father like this?" He cocks the gun and points it at me. Then Haley. Then me again. "How could you marry," he pauses, "a whore?" He finally lands his gun on Haley and squeezes the trigger. Before I know what I am doing, I shove Haley out from behind me to shield her from the bullet. A scream is heard piercing the ears of the patrons in the pews. My mom's scream. No, Haley's scream. No. My scream.

I collapse and fall down the stairs, gasping and grabbing at the oozing wound on my stomach. I hear the running footsteps of people fleeing the chapel. I hear the screams of mothers telling their young daughters to keep running, and not to stop. I hear fathers screaming to call the cops. And yet, I only see him. My own father.

Image Source

I feel a pair of hands grab my shoulders. "Come on baby, stay with me." Haley cries as she struggles to lift me. I writhe in agony as the gaping hole gushes even more. My once pure white and innocent gown now stained red. Red like a deep wine. Red like an early morning. A red that reminded me of the devil, for the devil stands before me.

"Just go, run." I stutter, wincing at the excruciating pain coursing through my body.

"I'm not leaving you." She states always a stubborn one, she is. The chaos in the church has subsided. All that's left is Haley, my mom, me and my father. I hear footsteps approaching me. My vision begins to get blurry. I blink rapidly to restore it. I can feel myself slowly slipping away.

Soon I see him. The man who caused this. "Why did you do this? To your own daughter?" Haley screams at him.

"Sorry. I don't listen to cunts" He cocks again and places the barrel directly against her forehead. "Enjoy hell." He wears a menacing smile and pulls the trigger once more. Haley's now lifeless body hits the ground. Her head bounced off of the hard floor making a piercing thump. I couldn't even scream. All I could do is watch her lie there. My mother sits in the pew muttering prayers to a God I'm convinced isn't real anymore. How could he allow this to happen in his own house?

My vision became blurrier, I tried to look at my father but all I saw was a shadow figure. A shadow that has haunted me my entire life. "You are a monster." I manage to spit. Tears are flowing down my cheeks.

"I'm the monster? At least I'm not a lesbian." He shakes his head at me. "I didn't deserve to be treated like this. Disrespected by my own blood." He looks at the cross laying in the front of the now eerily silent house of worship. "You're pathetic. Thinking you're better than God. Such a waste." He kept rambling.

I wince as I look away from him, placing my eyes on my almost bride. If there a wasn't a bullet between her eyes, I would say she looks beautiful, peaceful even. Both the rage and the pain grow inside of me and I know I don't have much longer.

"Just do it already. You've already taken everything from me." I want to sound strong and as though he hasn't affected me but instead my voice comes out weak and like a whisper only the Gods could hear.

"You think I'm going to give you that satisfaction?" He laughs a deep belly laugh, truly finding my plea hysterical. He cocks the gun once more and lands on the last person I had left in the world. "She allowed this to happen." He stalks to her, never pointing the barrel any other direction.

She shakily stands to face him. Tears flowing, and her breathing staggered, she whispers one last time. "I love you. I'm sorry." She doesn't have to look at me but I know those words are meant for me.

"Aw, that's cute." My father coldly states and pulls the trigger. Her body flails back into the pew she just prayed to God in to save her life.

I try once again to move or to do anything but I fall right back onto the stairs and begin to scream louder than ever before, using the last of my energy.

"Oh shut up. You did this. You caused this. You were the one that chose sin over your family. Now you get to deal with it." He cocks the shot gun one final time before pointing it at his own head, lining it up with the space between his throat and his chin. "You know, you were't meant to get hit. I hope you live to see the damage you've caused." BANG. The final shot rang throughout the hall.

I can't stop the tears flowing nor the blood gushing. The lights go dim and the room starts to spin, slow at first but gets faster and faster. I swear I can hear sirens outside. Or maybe I am telling myself that in hopes of being saved.

My body begins to get warm, feeling electricity through my veins. Everything becomes dark, the sirens fade. Then a comforting feeling. A feeling I hope no one has to feel. The comfort of knowing this pain will end, and hoping that I can see my Haley one more time.

Author's Note :

Writing a novel is hard. So I want to write little short stories that you can read when you have a little bit of spare time. These article will include a wide range of topics. These include LGBT, depression, anxiety, love, loss, heartbreak, and many more. Please enjoy the nonsense that is my writing.

Lead Image Source

My Previous Article :

5
$ 12.59
$ 12.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

Just woow! I want more of your articles please. A newbie here by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Caroline17 your story was really heart touching. I felt really sad on the climax of it. You really touched the bottom of my heart. I am looking forward to reading more of your articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NO words. This is just sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I' m sorry what!!!!! this went from it's my wedding day and everything's perfect to My fathers trying to kill everyone because he's upset I'm marrying a whore!!! like could this be anything but full out drama, I live for this!!! I want this as a series to binge watch like wow!!! nice writing ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah, Do you really like the story? Thanks for appreciating. Maybe it's better if it was a movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it would be a nice tragic romance movie completely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad this happy wedding turned out to be bloody.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I was also sad at the end. 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How excellent you on writing a novel. I appreciate your works Caroline.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciating my article :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're Always Welcome Po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago