Death and the Paranormal: A True to Life Story

1 28
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

As a young kid, I hadn’t been fully introduced to the concept of death. The first person that died in my immediate family was my great grandfather on my mother’s side of the family. I only saw him once, when I was five years old. There was something creepy about him. When I saw him, I hid behind my grandfather. We had gone by just to say hello and then left. This was in 1999. The great grandfather passed away in 2000, though I didn’t know it just yet.

I was living with my mom in Charlotte, North Carolina while my great grandparents and grandparents lived in San Antonio. After finishing kindergarten in 2000, I came to visit with my grandparents in San Antonio. This became a yearly tradition of coming to San Antonio during the summer break.

So one day I asked my grandpa if I could visit with my great grandmother. He left me with her and she sat in her rocking chair in the master bedroom. She was watching the news on the Spanish language channel, Univision. I was given some socks and I remember her telling me,

“Don’t say that they’re worn because they were just washed”.

 

Later on my grandpa picked me up and took me home. I couldn’t help but notice that something was missing.

Where was the great grandfather?

 

By the summer of 2003, my mom decided to move back to San Antonio. We stayed at my grandparent’s house, however a year later, we stayed at the great grandparent’s house. Now, I’m about 10 years old. I was starting to get to the age where I was asking questions. I asked my mom about the great grandfather. She told me that he had passed away a few years back. I then learned that passing away meant that one was no longer alive.

Death.

I was never close to the great grandfather, however I noticed a strange sound in the bathroom of the great grandparents house. It sounded like slow breathing. Analyzing it today in 2021, it did not sound like an electric motorized appliance, it wasn’t the toilet like the tank filling up. It wasn’t a dripping sound like from a leaky pipe or the shower. It wasn’t a creaking sound like from the floor. The bathroom had a tile floor, so it wasn’t wood. The windows were shut, so it wasn’t wind coming through the glass. This sounded like breathing.

Breathe in. 1, 2, 3.

Breathe out.

Breathe in. 1, 2, 3.

Breathe out.

And so on...

I know it wasn’t me, and there wasn’t anybody outside because I didn’t hear any doorsteps and everyone used house shoes.

What was that sound?

It was very strange, and there was no logical explanation. By 2005 or 2006, this stopped and I never heard it again.

 

Oh and one more thing...

 

Let’s fast forward to 2016. Something that I had been fearing for the past few years had finally happened. I lost my grandfather. It was really hard on me, and I’m happy that my girlfriend was there for me at the time. This unexplained event was a two in one.

So the key to a long lasting long distance relationship is lots of communication.

A lot of times, my girlfriend and I keep a Skype or Messenger call active unless it is technically impossible, such as no signal or a dead battery. Well one night, which happened to be the night that my grandfather passed away, the call dropped. A dropped call is not an unexpected event, however it’s the timing of it. Okay so when the call dropped, I got a text message from my mother telling me that my grandfather had passed away. I took a screenshot of the message and sent it to my girlfriend.

How is it that the call dropped off exactly at the time that my grandfather died? There may never be an answer for this.

 

There is a second part to this. So for a short time, I noticed something peculiar every time I viewed the screenshot. Every time I opened the screenshot, I noticed dots moving at the top of the screen. Windows phones did that whenever something was loading. Why was this screenshot always loading? The image before it didn’t and neither did the image after it. The screenshot itself was not a large image either. So this, too went away, though in a much shorter time. Interesting.

Here’s a bonus

 

Turning the page in my book of life.

-- 2017 --

-- 2018 --

-- 2019 --

-- 2020 --

One day I’m at work. Now by this time my girlfriend’s mother was in the hospital, and the prognosis was not good. She was very close to the end, but here is the weird thing. Now, without being there, it’s hard to know when someone’s going to die. I’m trying to work,  but the website I was working with crashed. Okay, so it crashed, big deal. It wasn’t just us, it was the whole thing that went down inside and out. This worried me. I didn’t care about the website,  but I had a very unsettled feeling.

No. Don’t tell me.

This was what I thought when it happened. So I finished off the day at work. After work, I took a nap. When I woke up, I found out that my girlfriend had been trying to reach me, and she had told me that her mother had passed away a few hours back.

Looking back on all of this, I can’t help but wonder. What is the connection with all of these unexplained events and death? How does the paranormal interact with reality?

 

One may never know.

-Carlos-



If you want to check out our other posts, check it out here...

Life Living in a House Without Walls

The Secret to a Lasting Relationship

How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes

CarlosAndJane | An Introduction



Sponsors of CarlosAndJane
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.12
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Cineholic
$ 0.01 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 1
Sponsors of CarlosAndJane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

Comments

Malalim. Madilim, madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago