Things I had to let go

2 33
Avatar for Canon
Written by
1 year ago

Lead image: unsplash

Back in those days, when I was still in school, I did somethings that were not really relevant to my life. What I mean is that they served as a stumbling block for me.

I had a girlfriend then, Mary. Not that I really loved her but because my friends all had a girlfriend, I barely knew her though, but I got her contact at a party we both attended, we started chatting for a while and soon and I told her about my intentions towards her. And the next day she gave me a positive response that we should start dating. That's so fast I thought within me, as times goes on, we began to know each other more. No intimacy between us whatsoever and infact most times we talk on phones, we only meet for an occasion and we never cross paths on campus.

One major thing is that we were not that close enough to be in a relationship, who knows whether she was in another relationship then, I am always the one calling her to ask about her wellbeing. She only calls if she needed an assistance maybe money or something else. Well, things like that didn't move me then because I had money and even if I don't have at that particular moment she needed me to give her, I will ask my friends for help.

After we had dated for few months, I discovered I had been lagging behind in some things in my life, my studies, my other friends and coursemates and even church. I didn't know how it happened but it started when I started dating this girl in particular, well it's not bad to date but it's good to choose rightly, someone that will motivate and back you up positively. I told her we should break up and then she ask for the reason, I told her I wanted to have some kind of privacy in my life and that things are somehow difficult for me these days and I might not be able to meet her demands anymore, then she said okay and that was the end. I was not surprised because I knew she wasn't interested in me from the onset.

I joined a football team in my second year in school, my three roomates are also in the team and they told me to join also which I did. We do go for trainings and practices a lot that it started affecting my studies, my dad's scolded me the last time for my grades asking if I am indulging in any thing that will make me lose concentration, I knew within myself where the problem is from but I told him nothing. Things got difficult while I was preparing for a test in my department and at that same time we were preparing for a match with another school, practices became regular that I hardly have time to read, I wanted to tell the coach that I won't be available for the match because I am preparing for a test but my friends told me not to. They told me I can still read at night that they would love me to play with them. After practice at night I barely read for one hour that I will discover that I am already feeling sleepy.

Things continued like that and I wrote my test, when the result came out I had C, I was so disappointed in myself, my parents will be so furious. It was then I realized I had to let other things go too. I told my friends I'm out of the team, they asked me why then I told them nothing the next thing I did was go to my dad and pleaded to get another hostel for me, a private one which he did for me.

Its okay to have friends, its okay to have fun too in school but make sure these things are not obstructing your primary duties either your studies, your work, your marriage or your finance. I had to let them go because I was influenced negatively and thank God I learnt my lesson soon.

Thank you for taking your time to read.

Don't forget to like and subscribe.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Royaldiadem
Avatar for Canon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You wrote well my dear, most times we give time to things that are not really important, forgetting the ones we should focus on. Am so happy you gave up, such a toxic relationship because if your partner is not contributing anything, i see such relationship as being toxic

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago