To drift or not to drift: Part 2

11 157
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Tuesday, July 28th, 2020

Some have implied that in announcing the Grasberg DAA, Amaury has somehow stolen the work of Mark Lundeberg and Jonathan Toomin. But I've seen him acknowledge their efforts and the amount of work they did to move this DAA forward in multiple places. What more can he do? Also, how do you steal something that's open source?

Amaury would have to be a moron (or CSW) to try and act like the Grasberg DAA was all him and no one else. Since this is all open source anyone who cares to know who made what can easily find out.

Too many people in the BCH community seem to be focused on the wrong things. Whether it's taking down Amaury, or trying to gain status for yourself, or this desire to be thanked for your contributions.

Sure, a little gratitude never hurts, but if hearing Amaury say thank you means that much, I can't help but think you need to reset your priorities. Let's say I had the money to donate the 2000 BCH they're requesting to do the Mempool Overhaul project. I hope that I wouldn't care about whether or not I got a thank you card in the mail. All I should care about is seeing that my investment was put to good use and they did what they said they were going to do. If my holdings were to become more valuable as a result of their work, I would be the one thanking them for a job well done. And if they didn't come through, then I would take my money elsewhere in the future.

I've also been hearing a lot of complaints about Phrabicator and having to meet ABC's requirements rather than having ABC be the one to go out and review work in someone else's preferred manner. If I was a developer trying to get something into ABC's code, I would fully expect to have to play by ABC's rules in order to do exactly that. Let's say that in my job I want my CEO to change certain processes within our company. I'd have to present it to him the way he desires to get him to even look at my proposal. I can't just write up some document and ask him to stop by my office and pick it up when he has the time. If anything, that'll just encourage him to find a way to ignore me.

I know Amaury isn't anyone's boss, and none of us are his employees. But he is the defacto leader of this project in the same way Vitalik Buterin is the leader of Ethereum, and Charlie Lee is the leader of Litecoin. The difference is that in those communities they actually support and help their leader lead while in BCH half of us seem to only want to tear him down. This despite the fact that in every developer meeting I've watched, it's clear that each person in the meeting values Amaury's opinion.

For over a year, Amaury has been talking about fixing the culture in BCH, about making the BCH community goal-oriented rather than status-oriented.

I believe we all share the same goal of making BCH the best version of p2p digital cash. The problem is not everyone agrees on the best way to do that. Some think it's about keeping the community together at all costs. I think it's about making the right technical and economic decisions at all costs.

Imagine if tomorrow someone came out with a proof of work protocol that could scale to billions of people, enabled privacy, proved it was censorship resistant, and allowed for quick, cheap and reliable payments. You don't think people would immediately jump on that bandwagon and start mining this imaginary coin right away? That entrepreneurs wouldn't find ways to build businesses on top of this new network? I think superior tech will find a community. I don't know that a superior community will necessarily be able to build superior tech.

32
$ 3.69
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fmarcosh
$ 0.05 from @Omar
+ 2
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice one dear. plzz subscribe me.I will subscribe you.

$ 0.00
User's avatar pro
3 years ago

very good post dear @cain. so I like this article. it is really niceπŸŒΉπŸ’“

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For over a year, Amaury has been talking about fixing the culture in BCH, about making the BCH community goal-oriented rather than status-oriented.

"Having to meet ABC's requirements" is status-oriented. "Having ABC be the one to go out and review work" would be goal-oriented. "Making the right technical and economic decisions" requires ABC to do the latter.

$ 0.06
3 years ago

I don't see things that way. I think projects need leadership. If you just keep kowtowing to everyone else's needs, the project can become side-tracked trying to make everyone happy. But everyone is free to do as they please. This is Bitcoin. You can sell your coins, you can fork the network, no one is forced to do anything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really impressive. Keep the good works up @Cain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The difference is that in those communities they actually support and help their leader lead while in BCH half of us seem to only want to tear him down.

the difference is those "leaders" don't feel "entitled" to anything; not the case with ABC .. they feel entitled (for some odd reason or another) to THE FUNDING .. Show me the $$$ or I'll take us all down πŸ˜’

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I think you have a twisted view of Bitcoin ABC. And I don't blame you. It's hard to see through a lot of the noise. Maybe I'll write an article giving my perspective of ABC in the community. Not sure if you read one of my first articles here, but I talked about how I used to think Amaury was a horrible leader and he literally told me to fuck off. But then after that I started to understand the situation better and changed my mind about him and ABC. They're not perfect or anything. Yeah they don't always play nice. But I care more about getting things done, being a straight arrow, and staying loyal to the project.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice, it's really nice to see people go all out for Crypto. At this rate I don't need to read online stories and info, I have everything here πŸ€—

$ 0.10
3 years ago

@cain thanks for the tip, I really appreciate πŸ™ŒπŸ»

$ 0.00
3 years ago