Doing things for others versus doing things for yourself

28 168
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Wednesday, July 1st, 2020

Something I love about Bitcoin Cash is how much it makes me think. And one thing I've been thinking about recently is why we do things for the benefit of other people versus doing things only for our own benefit. I'm not talking about other people as in loved ones, but for complete strangers, people we would never consider more than just a comrade. That's what they call each other in communist countries, right? Comrades?

My understanding of communism boils down to this one statement: "From each according to his ability, to each according to his need." As a supporter of economic freedom, I'm obviously not a fan of this kind of thinking, but at the same time it’s not like I don’t understand the sentiment behind it. 

Does anyone else find it funny that communism, a system based on the idea of putting the community before the individual, has shown time and time again that it leads to the exact opposite of what's intended? (Basically a community in shambles.) Meanwhile, capitalistic societies are all about doing things for yourself, and what history has repeatedly shown is that incentivizing individual success generally benefits the rest of the community as well. 

I guess the whole thing seems funny to me because it sounds backwards. You’d think that selfishness would be bad for the community, but it’s not. You’d think that promoting selflessness would be good for the community, but it’s not.

I guess it's because we're not built to sacrifice ourselves for the benefit of others, especially if it isn't on a voluntary basis. I’m not sure what that says about us as a species, but it’s simply not in our nature to solely act in the interest of other people, especially if we have no connection to those people.

But I also don’t think that means what’s best is for everyone to act only out of self interest. Imagine if we were all purely motivated by greed and nothing else. What would society look like then?

I think part of the problem with our world at present is that people have lost their sense of charity, specifically in accordance with the definitions below:

Now I'm not saying we all need to start donating just for the sake of donating. I'm not calling for some kind of tithe to the community. I'm merely wondering if we wouldn't all benefit from a shift in our culture, a change that results in us having a more charitable attitude towards one another. 

One of the things I love about read.cash is that I see this community as an opportunity. It’s a chance to try something different, to be charitable towards one another, to encourage one another, not just with words and likes, but with actual value in the form of Bitcoin Cash.

This gives us the ability to choose what we want to see more of. You can send small tips to people for brightening your day, or making you think, or because you find their work valuable in some way. It's like a mechanism that allows you to use your money to influence the world in tiny increments. I suppose we already do this on a daily basis with our purchasing habits, but that really only applies to our consumption of goods and services. What if we could do the same thing but for thoughts and ideas we find valuable?

Perhaps this article might sound a bit self-serving since this happens to be the first post in my July challenge. I'm hoping it doesn't come across as begging, or as an attempt to shame anyone into tipping my posts, because that isn't my intent.

What I'm hoping is that the read.cash community can act as a microcosm of the world at large. I'm hoping we can show the world what happens when we help each other as well as help ourselves. Not because we're forced to, but because we see the value of working for the greater good.

In my eyes this is all an experiment to see what works, and while I believe we must continue to celebrate individual achievement, ambition, and drive, I think we also need to undergo a shift in our culture so we celebrate collaboration and community. If we can demonstrate to the rest of the world what can be accomplished when people voluntarily work together for the greater good, I think that would be a win in and of itself.

What do you think? Do you agree with this, or am I missing the boat completely? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks for reading.

37
$ 5.63
$ 4.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.25 from @nyusternie
+ 4
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

It feels like the idea of charity would always vary depending on the person since nowadays the supposedly simple act of charity could always have some underlying intent to it. Either in the hopes of a give and take kind of thing for the distant or near futures of the people involved or merely just for self satisfaction and a reputation boost. But then there are people in this community who are really appreciative of contents and it comes off as a sort of payment for entertainment and information and not charity? Or it seems I'm just too pessimistic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We do things for the benefit of others for two reasons (or actually one): so put our conscious at sleep/rest and make us feel better (even if we cannot afford it to help others).

Why do we help? Because we are raised to do so and we are told for decades it is good to help and selfish not to give a hand. Because we are manipulated.

Interesting is that more poor people are willing to help than rich. The rich, successful people say NO. They invest and if they give they don't really give. They promote themselves (a selfish deed) and the high amount given means they do not need to pay taxes (very selfish deed).

The poor who give because they know how it is, they hope to be rewarded for it too (do the same for me please, going to heaven) which makes it a selfish deed as well.

Scammers know exactly how to manipulate people with their feelings. Good subjects are starting about illness, God, pathetic stories, hungry, sick children (no one opens his wallet for a hungry, sick 90-year-old woman), stories of losers who blame their terrible childhood for it, children (my children are hungry you are a mother too), saying you don't ask for support or money just want to tell your story (yes, you do ask for money otherwise you wouldn't start about it).

In this article you used everything to manipulate people by starting about communism, being selfish, you rub it in so people will feel miserable if they do not support you. Scammers do it in a way more aggressive way if you refuse you get the bullshit stories and holdings (after the pitiful one's and you are such a warm-hearted person) you are a bitch, do not know how it is to live their life, and so on.

What is different in communism is no one owns something or we all own it together, for sure that changes the attitude. You do not fill one person's wallet while you can still not pay your bills after ten hours of work a day.

I do not live in a communist country but I pay a very high amount of taxes. This money is mainly used for social security and all kinds of charities and donations I do not agree with. It's used for people not willing to work because it's easier to beg and scam. I do not see the need to give to those big charity organizations because they are already extremely rich and use it for big bonuses, sex parties, an advertisement, and if only a very small amount will end up at its goal. If I see how spoiled many are who can get many things for free, while they never invested or will invest in the community I do not feel the intention to help. Why should a lazy person, a scammer, and a thief be rewarded? Why should I feel pity (no one feels pity for me and you don't know how hard my life is)?

It doesn't make me feel good to give to others while I end up in misery and can hardly buy what my children need, some food. I am one of those few people willing to give up on luxury like a fridge, television, etc to reduce the costs of living. I sit literally in an ice-cold house during winters but no one feels pity for me? How come? I know the answer but do you?

I can not figure out what the difference is between this platform and others, platforms like Steemit, Hive, Upptrend, Publish0x, etc and I don't think we need to undergo a shift. Neither would you. If you meant that you wouldn't accept sponsors to benefit you.

Your article gives me a dirty taste in my mouth. You are doing well here and you are telling the poor bastards to change, not be so greedy and donate (because they will be rewarded for it). We both know it won't happen, the only one who will get rich is the smart guy preaching, something we see in communism too.

Life isn't fair and if being greedy was seen as a skill more people who set goals and tried to achieve them instead of waiting, hoping, praying for help. No successful person let manipulate himself by the words "greedy" and "selfishness". In my opinion, you can only give with your heart and feel happy about it in the long term if you don't need it yourself. If this is not the case only bitterness and hate against abusers and manipulators will be left and this will not do any society well. People should be rewarded for their work, affords, the will to improve, in real life and here. Perhaps they are not as smart as you but that doesn't mean they can not grow or do this platform good if you help them.

There's nothing wrong with greed, envy, and being selfish. In fact, this is exactly what nature gives animals, humans included, to survive! These are skills which should be used to give yourself and those you are responsible for a way to survive, a better life. In reality, people get punished for it in the name of religion or organizations who both don't live by what they are preaching, and the will to survive is gone. Poverty increases, depressions do and people are in big crises because they never learned to invest in themselves first. Shrinks might be happy with it, some governments are, scammers can be but for sure this behavior is not healthy.

I tried to figure out what exactly you want to say in your article. Your opinion seems to change every few sentences but I think your main message is:

"You can send small tips to people for brightening your day" an interesting word choice...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many of my articles are simply just me thinking out loud. This site is mainly built on the idea that you can tip people for their efforts because you find value in it. But at the same time, I asked myself why would anyone tip anyone else since the content is free? But if no one tips, there is no real point to this site. You'd have to go with the models that are already being used like Youtube where you can earn money only through advertising. I'm sorry this article left such a bad taste in your mouth. And this article wasn't meant as a demand to anyone to tip my articles. If you look at the stats page you'll see I'm one of the highest tippers on this site. I was just thinking out loud to see if people should tip each other even a penny if you find something interesting. Let me ask you this, have you read someone else's article and you found it valuable and did you tip any of them? I'm not saying you need to or should be forced to. I'm just wondering if everyone was like that, if everyone read articles here and thought some were really valuable to them but not one person tipped, then those people writing those articles would probably eventually stop. Again, I'm just asking myself these questions more than anything. I am sorry you read my article and it made you feel this way. Would you like it if we just got rid of tipping and went entirely with sponsorships and ads?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an interesting article, but we must understand that without greed or doing things for yourself you can not actually know how to support others. We must need to school ourselves about greed or helping oneself in the proper sense before we can be able to extend a helping hand to others. Greed or being selfish in this context means the time to develop and train oneself properly to attain some success in other to be value and relevant to yourself and the society. A person who keeps himself from others to have time to have time to undergo important training in life can be called a selfish person. Yet what what he is doing is for the benefits of the society at the long run. Generosity start from being selfish, if you don't have, you cannot give. If you are not made, you cannot make others. So most focus on doing things for themselves not because they don't want to do for others, but because they want train themselves to make meaningful impact on others. I hope am making a point here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well said.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can check out my full response in this article here https://read.cash/@Fexonice1/why-we-need-more-selfish-people-in-this-world-e3d48c37

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"incentivizing individual success generally benefits the rest of the community as well"

I agree with you completely. I used to own a survey site where I would incentivize people around the world to complete surveys, and in return they were able to earn extra income for themselves and their families, while the advertising company benefits from analysing the surveys for themselves and others. I believe incentivizing others is very important to helping others. In regards to tipping someone for what they say or do is also very important, especially if it's something you appreciate it or benefit from, or see others can benefit from. I enjoy supporting those that want to make a difference in the world and help others.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

You have written a very thought provoking article and I appreciate the sentiment.

The point regarding communism not working for the good of the many while capitalism does, is somewhat historically problematic. In reality there has only been one true marxist/communist workers revolution; this being the Russian Revolution of 1917.

Practically all other communist states were established through coups and military actions. However even the Russian Revolution moved away from communism very quickly. Leninism/Stalinism rapidly showed it true colours as a system of a few opposing their will on the many. Plenty much what we find within the capitalist system.

But all that said and to quote Star Trek: "The needs of the many outweighs the needs of the few". As human beings with a head, a heart and a soul, we have a obligation to help each other when we need it. We have all had moments in our lives when the kindness of another has made all the difference.

Imagine combining "From each according to his ability, to each according to his need" with the philosophy of 'Pay it Forward'. If each of us try merely to apply this just 5% more in our lives what a difference world we would live in.

A dreamer I may be but some dreams are worth all the money in the world and it means you are getting a good nights sleep if nothing else.

However, as for your points regarding read.cash, then I could not agree with you more and I wish you and read.cash every success. A community where you and I can share ideas and opinions like this is a great and wonderful thing. May it long continue.

Thank you again for a wonderfully stimulating article.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for the kind words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Molecules makes up of cells. Cells makes up organs. Organs is composed of a human. Humans makes up a family. Families makes up a community. Communities makes up a nation. A nation is makes up a whole species of humans. Earth is among the planets. Planets makes up universe. Now tell me if anyone of you get the whole idea. Because seeing it as a whole will make you care for all. A small figment is composed of a whole structure. Tipping, charity, when you give to others, you give to yourself also, because you are part of the whole structure. We are all connected.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When you like to do thing for other, you are also doing it for you, so you don't have to choose between your two statements ;) Still liking to read your thoughs, thanks for sharing them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I'm just trying to learn like the next person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I might disagree with you slightly. I think the Western society is where it is (in the good sense) exactly because of greed. Some greedy manufacturer wanted money so badly that he really had to be attuned to the market needs :) I mean Apple is hugely successful, but it's definitely damn greedy. I mean look at their prices. Yet, they are successful and they (ironically) make a world a better place (like, read.cash is developed 100% on Mac devices, not because we're Apple fanboys, but because Macs work damn well for the purposes of development, even if they are crazily expensive). So, Apple's greed means they want to sell stuff badly, so they make devices so good you can't ignore them. But they haven't donated a single iPhone 4 to development of read.cash.

Bitcoin Cash is successful (well, as much as it is), because of greed of miners. They act selfishly every time (look at the block times oscillations), yet we benefit.

One more thought in the same direction. A guy writes he has hit $100k/year on GitHub Sponsors, which is kind of like "donate" button, so people donate a ton of money, right? But read his post more carefully and you'll see he didn't hit it big until he started offering video tutorials to sponsors who pay >$14/month. Why did those people pay? Because they wanted to learn the technology, not because they wanted to support him. They wanted to solve their own problem.

Why does MarcDeMesel donate? He wants to change the world, for sure, but he also probably wants to see his holdings go up in price.

Do people donate if they are guaranteed that they will be anonymous? Not that much, probably. They donate for others to see that they are charitable (again, own interest mostly). I don't say this is the reason for 100% of cases, but I think it's somewhere close. Acting simply selfishly is more of a exception than a rule.

I agree with you that it's a pity that we as a society didn't develop the need to help others as much as we want to help ourselves, but I think fighting the whole culture is way too big of a fight for us.

So, I still think that greed is the engine and we need to use it :) I think relying on good faith and charity is what got honest.cash/yours.org to stagnate. ...and I think we have a few ideas up our sleeves on how to exploit it creatively :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I think it's our greed that causes us to produce and create value, but if it's only greed that drives us, I don't think that's healthy either. I wish there was a healthier balance that could be achieved than what we see today. Maybe that's just not possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Only greed" will never drive us because we are raised and ruled by hundreds of years by religions and governments it's a bad thing. But the "seven sins" are the basics we need to be successful and what success means will always be different to each person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As soon as CRISPR or something learns to edit our genes to move the best genes from the best of us (Gandhi?) then I think we might have a chance. Until then, we have to exploit our weaknesses for the greater good. Greed is bad, but is Bitcoin Cash bad? No, even though it actively exploits greed and even rewards people exhibiting it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must know when, where, and to whom we should be selfless and selfish.

Being selfless is like here in read.cash, we give upvotes and tips to other people without expecting something in return. You don't earned any material benefit from being selfless, but you know within yourself that you made that author, smile. You earned the emotional benefit.

And for being selfish, it is not really about putting yourself first before others, it's about, who deserve to get tipped and upvoted and you give value to your credibility as a curator as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such nice words dear. everyone has it's own meaning of word selfish as it can be used depende sa salita. at depende sa kung papaano iintindihin ng bumabasa. 😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have got some logic that I find positive for well being!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are living for ourselves and doing things for the sake of our well-being because the working mechanisms in our lives are designed for this purpose. Sometimes the paradigms restrict your freedom within the limits served by themselves. I found all these thing natural and ordinary.

In terms of Read.Cash, we are creating a subculture. Being the pioneers of this movement, we are allocating our times for this platform to make it better, more attractive and more engaged. Our traits and mindsets will create new paths for this highly young platform. We are ellaborating, sharing, caring and learning. I hope things will always be good for all of us.

For this post, I owe thanks to you.
Regards,

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes I agree with this , and also when im reading the comments here it's like an articles its so long 😍 I wish I could easily type that long comments too , but I can't .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sound good to know about that thank u

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Galatians 5:13 You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh ; rather, serve one another humbly in love. Meaning your putting the interests of others above your own but never neglect about yourselves. You've probably seen some variation of these words. And being of service to something means that you've chosen to engage without expectation of reciprocation...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Bible says too poor will always be exist so let be realistic and not give to hope to be rewarded for it and end up in heaven because that is a very selfish deed. One that won't be appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess it's because we're not built to sacrifice ourselves for the benefit of others, especially if it isn't on a voluntary basis.

I would just change "especially if" to "when", then it makes much more sense to me .. I don't believe ANYONE likes being told what to do, but as a society we MUST learn (discover how) to "encourage" good behavior (on a voluntary basis), as there are MANY in dire need of help from those that can certainly do much more..

$ 0.05
3 years ago

But being in need should not be a reason to reward. I am in need to but you do not reward me for it. Not even for being a good writer or helping others to improve.

Encouragement is the best gift one can give. We all have a life filled with lessons to follow. Just like animals, we have instincts, skills to improve ourselves, fight for what we really want but most people want nothing and if so have a very hard time fighting for it.

$ 1.00
3 years ago

I am in need to but you do not reward me for it

i have so little time for non-BCH reading these days; but I've subscribed to your articles and will make an effort to broaden my knowledge with your writings 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have tried

$ 0.00
3 years ago