BCC#5: Puzzle#2 (updated)

Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

UPDATE: Someone solved it. I've revealed the pay clues and the answers at the end of the article. Thanks to everyone who participated!

A big thank you to everyone who participated in the first puzzle I released, especially @thanks_cain, whoever you are, for claiming the prize and generously tipping it all back to me plus extra so we could keep this ball rolling.

Before I explain Puzzle#2, I'm sorry for the various mistakes I made in Puzzle#1. But I think I've learned a few things and hopefully this version will be better.

So what's new? This time around I've decided to make Satoshiwall.cash a big part of this contest. Mainly, I'm going to be utilizing that platform to help boost the prize money. Last time I had hoped some BCH community members might donate a little BCH to make the pot grow, but I now see that's not realistic, so I've thought of an alternative instead.

Before you get all worked up, rest assured you don't need to pay to participate. But for those of you that pay for the extra clues, all proceeds from Satoshiwall will go directly to the prize address minus Satoshiwall's 10% fee. I am not associated with Satoshiwall in any way, so I'm not making a dime off of this. I do understand this contest requires you to trust I'm not going to take the prize money for myself before someone figures it out. Hopefully, my reputation in this community is in good enough standing that this is not a concern. My sole reason for putting these puzzles together is to help bring more people to the ecosystem and demonstrate what makes BCH so powerful. For example, you wouldn't be able to do this with BTC due to the fees since no one would want to pay a $.50 fee for a $.25 paywall.

Unlike last time around when I hid the 12 seed words in the article itself, this time I will present to you 24 clues, two for each seed word. The first clue will be given free of charge below, but the second clue, which is probably the easier clue, you can only access by paying $.25 on Satoshiwall.cash. I've linked each paywall below. I'm guessing most people can guess at least some of the words based on the first clue alone, so you shouldn't have to pay for all 12 additional clues. I've also set the prize money address as the receive address for each paywall, so everyone can see the prize money grow in real time.

Like before, here's a link to the full list of 2,048 BIP39 words, 12 of which are the ones you're looking for. If you don't know what a 12 word seed phrase is, refer to this post to get a basic understanding. (Unfortunately, the images in that post are now old since they recently updated the Bitcoin.com wallet, but the concept is still the same.)

I have no idea how this will turn out, but I hope everyone has fun and no one solves it too quickly. I've tried my best to make it fair but not too easy. And by all means please share this article with your no-coiner friends as a way to introduce them to peer to peer electronic cash. The prize will start at 0.25 BCH, but I'm hoping that number will keep growing for as long as the contest lasts. The current USD value of 0.25 BCH is $120.

======

Puzzle#2

Below you will find the 12 free clues for each of the 12 words in the seed phrase. The clues for each word are listed in the correct order. I used the Bitcoin.com wallet and the derivation path should be: m/44'/0'/0

Your prize is waiting for you at:

bitcoincash:qrkpqhapkqae98lj8fh0ly5qer0uped77vrr83jenx

And without further ado, your free clues:

  1. An old friend used to love singing this song by one of the inductees in the 2018 Rock and Roll hall of fame.

  2. This word belongs to a set of four (five if you count the extra word that this word can be used interchangeably with).

  3. Primary

  4. We all do this many times a day, every day, until we no longer are able to.

  5. The Long _____

  6. This word is the second part of a compound word that describes a major problem with BTC.

  7. Carl, Wendy, Ronald, Jack, Johnny

  8. This is what makes mercury one of a kind.

  9. This is something I'm always striving to do.

  10. Word that might be used to describe the kind of world BTC maximalists live in.

  11. This word rhymes with "multimillionaire"

  12. I've never broken one of these.

Paywall clues (now revealed):

  1. Eternal

  2. This word represents a period of time.

  3. You can use this word to describe just about anything.

  4. This word's homonym is something else one does multiple times a day.

  5. The first clue is the title of a book.

  6. Eventually, this is what I want to be able to do with my BCH.

  7. I've really been craving one of these from my nearest father's office.

  8. Another way to put it would be it's one of the major properties of mercury.

  9. _______ up.

  10. People in the US love to play this version of football.

  11. You should always do this before.

  12. Winter's _______

Answers:

  1. Always

  2. Autumn

  3. Basic

  4. Choose

  5. Walk

  6. Spend

  7. Burger

  8. Liquid

  9. Grow

  10. Fantasy

  11. Prepare

  12. Bone

1
$ 51.10
$ 50.00 from @Ellie
$ 1.00 from @sjbuendia
$ 0.10 from @unitedstatian
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I have sent this to our GC. Amazed by the prize for this puzzle ♥️

$ 0.50
4 years ago

tried several times to purchase a clue using bitcoin.com wallet and it always results in an error: https://i.imgur.com/sYKVdnj.png

Edit: you already knew about the problem: https://twitter.com/BCHcain/status/1219172721205997569

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Are you using the newest bitcoin.com wallet? And is Satoshiwall paywall on your computer or in your phone browser?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

i'm using newest bitcoin.com wallet available for macos[1], and using Satoshiwall through a desktop browser. looking at the issue list [2], there's several open bugs for BIP70 interaction, which is what Satoshiwall uses, so users can't even manually send the payment.

[1] website points to https://github.com/bitcoin-portal/bitcoin-wallet-releases/releases and only android has been updated recently

[2] https://github.com/Bitcoin-com/Wallet/issues

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Hmm I've had issues when testing using my phone wallet and phone browser but no issues when unlocking on desktop with my phone.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

now that you know, for future puzzles i hope you won't put a lot of us at a permanent disadvantage. for the first puzzle it wasn't as bad since you eventually revealed the paid clues.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You should download the latest bitcoin.com wallet on your phone. Bitcoin.com stopped updating the mac desktop wallet. Then you shouldn't have any problems. Or use the badger wallet extension.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

For SatoshiWall BIP70, I tried getting a clue using BRD, Bitcoin.com, even ElectronCash (desktop). Eventually I found it worked with Badger wallet (Chrome extension/Android app). Only then did I top up my Badger wallet to get all the other clues.

SatoshiWall in itself is a pretty good idea with decent implementation. It just doesn't yet work with all wallets.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I only figured out 6 on the list. Still had a long way to go then. But it seems it was not that difficult as someone did solve all 12.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

And there were others who got 11 o 12 so it was definitely doable!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Let's get rolling!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Good luck!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

The more I think about it, the more this puzzle reminds me of a crossword puzzle. Except it is much harder. Which is probably also why the comments on this post are not as many as that in the previous puzzle.

Sure, this version has up to two clues for each answer. However, these answers do not come with an additional dimension of hints present in crossword puzzles, such as how many letters is a particular answer and letter hints/crosschecks brought by other answers.

The clue for number 1 and 12 are pretty precise. Still challenging, but they limit the possible answer decently. Looking at clues for number 3 or 4 got me thinking, though, that maybe these circumstances deserve another round of help…

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes this was actually inspired by a crossword puzzle done last year by cryptopanda, which I solved. The problem is since there are only 2048 possible words a crossword puzzle is too easy. This is meant to be hard. You have to put in the work to figure it out. For example, for word 11, you might have to go through and identify everything that rhymes with multimillionaire first.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Oh ok, so it really was meant to be that hard…

Alrighty! And thanks for the hint suggestion on the rhymes.

$ 0.00
4 years ago