DANGER! Public Safety At Stake.

0 63
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

This is NOT FUNNY!!!
I was in my guy's room the other day (a long time ago, though.) We were each doing our thing with our phones. Someone else was seeing a movie on a laptop, while I lay on the bed working.

I remember that was shortly after I went to the Ikeja Computer Village to replace the charger of my laptop, which had caused me some distress and made me unable to use my laptop for some time. (I wrote about it here.)

Why am I suddenly writing about something that happened some weeks ago? Why now?

I was just going through my phone gallery when I came across some pictures I took of a particular brand of biscuit. Crackers biscuits.
So, on that faithful day, while working on my post in my friend's room, there was an open pack of crackers biscuit lying just next to me. Having satisfied that I could have some, I did. And that was were the bland magic happened.

But before I go on, I must mention that no one seemed to have noticed that something, anything at all, was off about the biscuit. In fact, someone argued, asking me when I last had it? Directly implying that I may have forgotten what it was like. The guy next to me said he had it just recently. He even added that he thinks the biscuit was all good, as usual.

It had been very long, of a truth, since I last had crackers biscuits of any brand, but I wouldn't be contravened on something I knew too well. I was certain something was off. I was insistent, and in the end, they absolutely agreed with me. Or, did they...?

It was @Freedom007 that bought that pack of crackers biscuit. Yes. The same Freedom mentioned in my recent article. He just seem to have a way of earning notable mentions! OK. That's not by the way... I caught you there, didn't I? Very well.

The main story...
What exactly was the problem with the biscuit, you are rightly wondering. And I'll tell you, just now. It tasted... Wait for it... Differently! But if that was all that there was to it, it wouldn't have bothered me too much. It had a very particular taste. That was what got my head in a frenzy and racing through memory streams to understand what actually was happening in my taste buds...

That crackers biscuit tasted exactly as... No. That was not crackers biscuit in a crackers biscuit pack. That was not crackers biscuit tasting differently. That biscuit was something else. Yes. It was packed in what looked exactly like an original crackers biscuit pack. But it was not crackers biscuit. It was a completely different biscuit in a crackers biscuit pack, and I'll tell you exactly what biscuit was put in there, because it wasn't what was sold that was being tasted, or eaten. No. It wasn't.

When I mentioned to the guys in the room what I thought was in that pack, they didn't agree with me at first. And why not? It wasn't hard for me to understand their situation. The pack was original, like the real pack would look like, so that alone was enough for them to not want to agree with me. But, you see, I knew what I knew!

Proof...
The taste of the pudding, they say, is in the eating. And that pudding wasn't crackers. No. That pudding was cabin biscuits! Yes! Absolutely! The guys, having had some bites of it, were beginning to analyse the breakdown from their taste buds, albeit, quite too slowly, given the fact that they were the more frequent crackers biscuit eaters, and I was not!

At further examination, I also noticed that, apart from the taste being completely wrong for the brand, it was also not as soft. Neither was the thickness I was feeling in my hand. And finally, it was exactly the cut, shape, size weight and taste of cabin biscuits! OK, wait a sec, maybe not "exactly," but you get the point now :)

In case you are yet to fully understand just exactly what happened there, that pack was carefully pirated, repackaged with what it wasn't, while using it to sell something else of similar condition.


Cabin biscuits packed in a crackers biscuits pack! I don't know which one got to me more. That it was a fake, or that it was bought from a supermarket which should ordinarily be selling the right product and not buying adulterated food items.

The health implications is another talk for another day. On that ground, I will consider this the less of a possibly worse evil! But maybe that would have easily given the perpetuators away, had the contents been completely off in a sense from anything that the general public was already used to.

Finally, this is a wake up call for we all to be wary of what we consume. If your senses give you a red alert ⚠, regardless of what your eyes may be seeing, or others saying, double down on your checks. Our bodies age with time and it is best we are very careful about what we feed it with today.

It is said that it is better late than never. Still, don't be late at all! Cheers, and thank you for your time and encouragement.

I love you all beautiful people.
Thank you.

This is CN Humphrey.

All images are personal and copyright free. Lead image and last image are from Unsplash.

Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.86
$ 0.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

Comments