Unhealthy Sleeping Schedule

2 21
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Sleep, Unhealthy

With all the responsibilities that I hold and the long list of things that I need to get done by each day, I often sleep late at night. My normal sleeping time is at twelve midnight and sometimes I would even have to watch youtube videos or tv series for me fall asleep. I would prefer finishing all the work before I sleep as long as I still have the energy to do it because it feels like my sleep would not be too deep if I know that I still have a work waiting for me in the morning.

But the problem is that, even if all my work is done by night and I intended to wake up late in the morning for me to have enough sleep, I would still wake up at around 5 to 6 am. It is annoying that I set my alarm at 7am and still wake up earlier than that and my body would already feel like I’m up for the day and ready once again to finish some tasks.

I admit, I find it satisfying to accomplish chores and everything but I do think that my body has been deprived with sleep. So, in the afternoon, I try to take a nap if I have extra time or if I don’t have a class.

Since I have discovered this condition of mine, I did my best to become mindful of my time and I also adjusted some of my routines.

Here are some of the things that I made into life for me to have a better sleep at night:

I stopped drinking coffee.

I was addicted with coffee since high school. It was a bad habit of mine to drink every morning and every night before I sleep. I was actually thinking that I could not fall asleep at night if I skip drinking one. But, not later than forever, the negative effects started to come at me. It was hard to fully stop my intakes so I slow it down until my body is no longer looking for it. I was also drinking black coffee because for me, it tastes better without the milk.

At this time, I only drink coffee if I really need to stay awake at night to finish a school requirement. The effect is still strong – it keeps me awake for twenty-four hours even if I force myself to sleep.

Staying away from gadgets.

This is hard but I try my best. If there are times that I really can’t let go of my phone, I watch therapeutic videos on youtube like Korean café vlogs or cooking vlogs. It is soothing and it calms my mind so it is effective in making me fall asleep. I also started to limit the times that I charge my phone so that I would be forced not to use it.

Drinking milk before bed.

This is effective as ever because the milk has a content that stimulates the mind to sleep. I make my milk and drink it while it is warm. I only consume it once I am almost ready for bed so that I wouldn’t sleep on my works.

Dealing with an unhealthy schedule is hard because your health is at risk. Without enough sleep, all factors of your life is affected – mentally, emotionally, and physically.

If you have suggestions, you can comment down below or you may also share your stories if you share the same situation as I do.

Thank you for reading!

8
$ 2.69
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @LifetoLife
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Sleep, Unhealthy

Comments

I've been having a terrible sleep sched lately. Thanks for the tip!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All in your list will definitely help you to fall asleep. If you have too much caffeine for sure it will be hard for you to fall asleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago