A New Page of Hope

4 29
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Shining above is the sun, giving life in all our days

But your eyes that always gave warmth to me have lost its grace

Life has been so tough as sadness holds you in its embrace

Now, you have learned how to endure in times of blues and greys

i have known how you fought the darkness every single time

I have known how much you fell after every climb

The jet black loneliness and rocky steeps of anxieties have made you weak

But i have known, all these times, the courage and your strength to reach the peak

Hold on for a little while, my dearest

This blank page will be written soon with happiness

Words may not be enough solace but my love for you will stay true

Even when far away, don't you ever forget I am here for you

Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty

I wrote this poem for a friend. She was a long time friend. She had be with me through my ups and downs. My heart hurt when she told me how much she was struggling during this time. It was heartbreaking to know that the strong person that she is has started to crumble. All I could do was listen and give her comfort with words, even when I wish I could have done more.

This pandemic has taken a lot from us.

And it is still taking away things from us. Going out is now a difficult thing to do. We have no choice but to stay inside to avoid getting sick. We all thought this was going to end shortly. But now, it already lasted more than a year.

It is painful to think how much time we wasted because of this pandemic. Our supposed to be new experiences and memories for a year with our friends switched to becoming blurred times of being alone in the room. We could have spent the year having fun outside but we just spent it hiding in our homes.

The pandemic stole our time and memories with our favorite persons.

We cannot share beautiful moments with them anymore. We did not hear each others laughter and giggles. We lost the chance to share our stories. It has been so difficult to be there for them in their lowest ties. This pandemic is exhausting and dangerous to everyone’s mental health. Our anxiety became more intense. It hurts to know that we cannot go pit and unwind with our friends who are suffering the same.

Caring for our friends became harder.

We cannot be there for them, physically. We cannot comfort them anymore with our hugs and embrace. It was difficult to make them feel our presence and warmth. But during these times when we need comfort and solace the most, we must not be defeated by these challenges. Our loved ones are having a hard time right now. We have to do what we can do during these tough times.

We are all one chat away.

A simple message might be enough. We are all in a difficult situation and chatting is already a big thing to do in this busy time. Make them feel loved and remembered with little greetings, funny memes and short motivating messages. We can still make them feel that we are here to listen to them. We can still show that we care for them.

Be understanding.

This time is really taking a toll on us. We do not have that much energy. As much as we are having it hard to so our usual things, our friends might feel the same. Our messages might not be returned with the same energy that we have. But, it should not be the cause of conflict and complaints. We must understand that our friends might find it hard to show affection because they are going through silent battles we do not know. They may not reply immediately, they may forget important dates and memories and they may seem timid. Yet, we have to be considerate still because we are friends.

Closing Thoughts

This time is hard and we should not make it harder. Even if we cannot make it easier, we have to do what we can do. Simple poems, little gifts and constant caring messages may be enough. Our sincerity will reach them.

5
$ 2.65
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Koolname
$ 0.02 from @Caroline17
+ 1
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

And also discipline so that we will be able to get rid of the virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana talaga mawala na ang COVID na to. Lord please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap talaga ngayon dahil pandemic, pero kahit ganito ang nararanasan natin kailangan natin lumaban sa buhay para sa pamilya natin sa minamahal natin ❤✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. When my best friend's dad died of Covid, I really don't know the right words to say. She's used to be a jolly kind of person but all of a sudden, I can't longer see the smile in her eyes. I felt bad because can't do anything to make her feel less the pain of the loss of her dearest father. I've seen how she broke down and my heart shattered at the sight of it. When she went to me, she cried the hardest, we cried the whole night and I gave her the warmest hug I could give, then she said "Thank You" afterward. There, I saw a glimpse of hope for her. I know it would be difficult to move on but when the right time comes, I will be there for her as she accepts the reality and is ready to live even without her dad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago