On Becoming A Lady

8 40
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

You would agree with me that a girl child’s metamorphosis into adulthood is significantly different from that of the boy child. Different experiences culminated into sculpting every beautiful lady you see out there. I would be sharing personal experiences on how a girl child is molded into a fine young woman, based on true life experiences of myself and a couple of my other friends who have given me permission to write their stories. Come with me on the journey of becoming a lady.

COURTESY

In my tribe, culture says every female must kneel while greeting their elders. Why is this so? I have no idea. One day I went to the market with my mum, while in the very busy market we ran into a distant uncle who insisted that I kneel to greet him right in the middle of the road. I was so pissed and was ready to refuse to do that but my mum begged me with her eyes saying oblige. Eventually I knelt there to greet him.

Another one I find amusing is the not using left hand to give an elder something. What wrong has the left hand done to bring such punishment on me 🤣

I don’t believe in hypocritical cultures. Is respect synonymous with kneeling and prostrating? Definitely not. Is the right hand superior to the left? Certainly not.

WALKING.

Ned: Bukola come here.
Ned: Do you know how to catwalk?

Me: Yes I do. Squats on the floor and started meowing like a cat.

Ned: “laughing ” no joor that’s not it. Have you not been seeing those ladies in beauty pageants walk? Haven’t you noticed that they walk in a different way? That’s what is called cat walking. Let me teach you.

Ned: Put one foot in front of the other, now walk slowly, watch me, let’s do it together. Yes very good, you got it.

I can’t remember precisely how old I was at this encounter, I can make a guess that I was between age 8 and 10, because I remember been in primary 4 at that time. We lived in a flat that had a very big compound, in the evenings all the kids gathered to play. One one of those fateful days I learnt how to catwalk and trust me I kept practicing and practicing till I was good at it 🤣

DRESS.

Dress how you want to be addressed is a much bigger issue here in Nigeria especially amongst the Yoruba’s. I describe myself as bold and confident and being a goal getter. That is how I dress, my go to dress to portray that look is a neatly ironed palazzo trouser with a matching shirt or a jumpsuit with a sharp looking blazer. The lady I’ve become is strong and beautiful and so I portray that. Sometimes the urge to wear iwokuwo is so strong and let me confess I do that sometimes, does it reduce my worth definitely not. I am still me

BODY.

I remember watching a particular sitcom that was always aired at weekends. I can’t seem to remember the title anymore, but it was centered on just one family. On this particular episode the eldest daughter of the family was narrating her experience with a model scout while she was out. The scout had seen her and told her she had the perfect figure. When asked what he meant by that he responded that she had figure 8 and figure 8 was the perfect figure for a lady. Excitedly she told her mum she had accepted the proposal and was going into modeling full time. Clueless 8 year old me started praying from that day onwards that God gave me a perfect figure 8, and did God answer that prayer? I won’t tell you now 🤣

CONCLUSION

There’s a lot more I want to talk about but I want to stop here. The lady I’ve become is confident, daring, alluring, beautiful and allows herself to dream all she can, because she knows she can achieve all she sets her mind to do. She doesn’t allow anyone put her down, not even fear. She put’s so much trust in God because she knows that she’s nothing without him. She’s strong, confident and is on her A game! She’s a “grown and sexy” woman and I love her for that!

The lady I’ve become does not even try to please anyone other than herself. She takes pride in being who she is and also likes to wear things that makes her feel comfortable. She’s a go with the flow kind of lady who lives life to the fullest.

Who have you become?

Thanks for reading ❤️

Happy Sunday……. I hope you get all the energy you need to get pumped for the new week.

Bye for now.

7
$ 3.84
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 5
Sponsors of Bukola
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha you find out when you meet me in person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Figure 8 all the ways, I know how ladies can be mean when they don't have it naturally but want to have it manually, well, did you later have it? I am sure you did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please let us know if God answered that figure 8 prayer 😂 but you were brave when you knelt down to greet your uncle, it's a normal thing if it happened in the west but if it's in the south, lord knows I won't oblige even if the sky falls 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don’t worry about the answer, you would know yourself when you see me. I wish I didn’t have to either. Thanks Kush

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are some stereotypic practice that we don't agree with but are expected to comply with. Like expecting a girl to kneel, that's absurd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which is so so annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Queen ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The figure 8 part got me 😂. I love the lady you have become and still becoming. The fearless, not intimidated etc

$ 0.00
2 years ago