Humanity

4 26
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

In-spite of the thousands of bad news which makes us believe humanity is lost, I’m here to tell you that there’s still hope as good people still exist.


The not so good sides

There’s hardly any stranger you meet on the road today that would be willing to talk to you, especially in the town where I come from. Kidnapping, murder, mugging and robberies seem to be the order of the day so everyone just keeps to themselves. These days I’m so scared to give out my money to beggars on the road as they have found a way to bastardize it. It’s either they are liars, pretending to have one issue or the order or they are fetish, looking for someone to manipulate and steal from.

I remember a story a friend told me some times back. She said she was young then, and was living in a particular village in Oyó State, when a self acclaimed wealthy group of people came visiting. They then told them about a business opportunity that would make them rich quick, the only thing was they would be relocated to Lagos as that’s the only place the business would really boom. If you are familiar with how villagers get excited to visit the city, then you’d understand how this friend of mine felt.

Free transportation to the city, and food while in Lagos was promised them. After a few days of their arrival in Lagos, they took them to a popular Bus station and told them to pretend to have one illness or the other and beg every passerby for money. When she questioned that this wasn’t what they told them they would have to do, the person in charge reprimanded her and said they needed to get capital first. Can you imagine??? How can one’s capital for a successful business venture rest solely on the amount of coins dropped in your plate. My friend gathered enough money to fund her trip back to the village and I’m so happy she did. Who knows what her life would have become if she remained there.

I’ve also heard of stories where females where promised successful life in big cities but instead they are trafficked into prostitution or other vices. Some are even killed or sold for money. That’s why it’s really hard to take favors from people. Especially when it looks too good to be true.

I also remember when you can just flag a car down on the highway to hitch a ride, but these days even some ride haling services where you pay for the service engage in kidnapping. Stealing and robberies are the order of the day. God save us 🙏🏾🙏🏾

HOPE

Good people are still very much alive. People who see the truth and stand for it, people who would never do what they won’t want other people do to them. People who are their brother’s keepers, people who are ready to help and defend the weak, poor and needy. I want to believe you and I belong to this category.

I was at the bus stop the other day, there were no buses and lot’s of people were waiting. The few buses available doubled their prices by more than 10 times the original price, because there was serious traffic which no one knew the cause of, on the way home. While I was struggling, waiting to jump into the next available bus, a car stopped ahead and beckoned on people to come, and he helped four of us to our destinations free of charge. I was shocked that there were people who would still do that.

I was discussing with my friend T, the other day and she narrated how she got stranded on her way home recently and was at the bus stop with a flat phone battery and no where in sight to charge. She eventually summoned up courage, walked up to a man and explained her plight to him. He assisted her without asking for anything in return, and she’s overly grateful to him.

I can keep writing out experiences I’ve had with very good people, all of which are memorable. I can also list almost the same amounts of bad experiences from fellow humans in times past. This brings me to a conclusion that we can’t do without the bad, so maybe we just need to tolerate it just a little bit. Life is filled with both the good and bad, deal with it.

CONCLUSION

We should never stop doing good because everyone else around us is doing bad things. Keep at that good you are doing, you’d sure be rewarded for it. Don’t blame those doing bad, we need both the good and bad to balance life, just like the Yin Yang symbol.

Thank you for taking time out to read my article. A special thanks to my sponsor @James2k21 , you are the best. Apologies for my disappearance lately, I was facing some mental issues. I’m okay now, I’ve found my balance. All my images were gotten from unsplash a big shoutout to them.

Kisses to everyone 💋 💋

Sponsors of Bukola
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 3.08
$ 2.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 3
Sponsors of Bukola
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bukola
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The problem is that an average Nigerian can't feed themselves on a normal basis so they find other means to get money 😓

I just hope things will get better in the country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can you imagine, that your friend's story is really horrible sha! But it could have been worse, some people have been lured and used for ritual with that method, she's lucky it's just professional beggars that got to her and she made it back to the village. There's one saying I heard many years ago in one of Naija music; "I will rather be a king in the village than to be a slave in the city", it perfectly fits that your friend's experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome my dear, I really hope you're fine now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Babe, it is good to you are doing really well now. The truth is that the world has changed from what it used to be, people have turned beast because of their selfish desires and others.

The good news is that there are still good people out there who will help you without having to steal or take advantage of you and what matters now is becoming of the good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago