Work From Home: 14 Months And Counting

12 77
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I remember the last day I worked in the office and walked 10km going home because there were no more vehicles on the road for public transportation.

Almost all employees in different offices have gone to work from home set up while the rest have stayed in their house to abide by the lockdown protocols.

Teammates by @priscilladupreez (Unsplash)

It’s been 14 months since I last saw my teammates and colleagues and the last time I went to the office was December 2020. I picked up some Christmas groceries as one of the company's incentives given to all employees during the holiday season.

I’ve been working from home now for more than a year with my office PC being sent to me from the start of lockdown.

At first it was kind of easy because I could just login to my PC five minutes before my shift started. It was a lot less hassle of time because I could just start working while having my morning coffee. 

Zoom call with coffee by @cwmonty (Unsplash)

Unlike before, I need to spend time taking a shower, having breakfast, getting tidy with proper clothing and competing with other people going to their offices, hitching to a public utility vehicle so as to come to the office on time. There were times that I needed to walk half a mile from our house to the main road for reasons that the street going out was congested to traffic due to road accidents. So I will end up adjusting my schedule when I come to the office late. Good thing that my current job position has the advantage of adjusting schedules during unavoidable circumstances.

I always dreamed of having a job working at the comfort of my home and then when the pandemic started It was like my job was perfect for a work from home set up. My current job is more on creating internal reports that relate to monitoring employees. I have already mentioned this in my previous post but I am mentioning it again if you are new to reading posts on this platform. 

It was perfect because even when working at the office I did not have to go to anyone to ask for files. I just emailed them or sent a direct message on the company's chatting platform. In short, I seldom interact with employees from other departments orally. Only during short breaks or lunch breaks. I rarely attend meetings like weekly meetings or something but only if there are issues to resolve or updates from the upper managers.

A fan in the room to keep the air cooled by @mariusmatu (Unsplash)

However during the first week of working from home I could already feel the heat. Yes, literally hot because we don’t have an air condition system at home. I can’t afford such a machine and even if I wanted to, the electric bill would kill me. We only have electric fans. March is the month when the hot summer season starts in the Philippines. Not only that, it is a tropical country so there are months that we will experience extremely hot weather conditions. One more thing is that, I live in Metro Manila and the heat during summer here is unbearable compared to those who live in the provinces.

Every company has its own set of rules and policies and during times like this some rules need not apply and have to be amended. One thing that was kind of uncomfortable with working from home with my current company was when the IT department set rules to monitor activities to every computer deployed working remotely. It turns out that we are being monitored all day like how active you are in front of your PC during your shift. They have monitored the typing on keyboards and clicking of the mouse in the computers we are using at home.

Do Not Enter by @kylejglenn (Unsplash)

I was once a foolish guy and sometimes I do awkward things for fun but when it comes to work, I don't mess around because I don’t want to lose a job due to some foolishness sort of thing. That's why I'm not used to being monitored while working because I know what I do and I don’t have any issues with my bosses when it comes to submitting reports. I always make sure that reports are done before the deadline. I’m a kind of punctual person, that's why I don’t make absences and I don’t want to come late to the office or even a meeting.

But anyway those rules are for all the employees of the company working remotely, it’s not only for me and we can’t blame them for doing so because there are employees who think that they can already do what they want during office hours while working at home.

A painting on a wall warning visitors about video surveillance by @tobiastu (Unsplash)

The nature of my job has tasks that can be done with less supervision, as long as we can submit the report before the deadline or finish that task before logging out after the shift.

You know if you love your job then there is no room for any unnecessary activities even when your boss is not around. We are old enough to know what is right and wrong.

Few months ago, the company started sending back some employees to work in the office. Half of my teammates are already working onsite. They urged me to work in the office too because the company has increased the transportation allowance as well as the hazard pay for those who wanted to work back in the office.

I really wanted to work onsite too but not because I wanted to take advantage of the increase of allowance, however as I have mentioned before, my task is kind of a perfect job for a work from home set up. Besides, it is not mandatory to work in the office. We can still choose if we want to work in the office or stay at home while the virus is still out there.

Modern Work Essentials by @the9th (Unsplash)

I can’t decide right now if I'm going to go back to working onsite. I am also trying to compare as it has no differences, same task if I’m going to work in the office. I will not try to risk my health even if they will increase the allowance and hazard pay. I guess I'll have to go working onsite when everything's seems to be fine and back to normal.

How about you, are you still working from home up to these days? Would you risk your life working onsite if the company wanted you to do so? Please share your views in the comment below.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity please visit me at Cointr.ee When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Free As A Bird

Dealing With Opportunities

Melodrama

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

To my two new sponsors, @Pantera and @immaryandmerry Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Priscilla Du Preez

Chris Montgomery

Marius Matuschzik

Kyle Glenn

Tobias Tullius

15
$ 11.90
$ 11.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CryptoMax
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
+ 7
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I haven’t been working as an employee since December 2021. If I was, my preference would always be working from home. Maybe go to the office once a week for some meetings, but not every day.

Firstly our environment can not take this stupid behaviour any longer and secondly it’s a waste of our time to travel and we don’t get paid for this. I remember taking 2-3hrs some days to get to the office when there was an accident on the motorway.

I am very happy for you that you have an option to work from home and I hope it will stay like this for you 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello there fantagira, you mean December last year.

Travelling 2 to 3 hours to office everyday is kind of tiring, then you will have to travel back same hours. You will completely drained when you get home and yeah those hours are waste. So we have to think of ways to get those hours productive.

WFH is good for now, but unfortunately I don't have AC system at home so it's kind of hot during summer. Thanks for the read. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stopped working outside the home in September 2019. So I missed out on the Covid Lockdown. Nothing much has changed for me. I do not miss going to work at all. Not even a little. Not even the money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I wished that I have my own way of earning without working for a boss or employer and that I will just have to stay at home. I wanted to live a life without worrying for money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a few bosses. Most of them are goats. I also do some virtual assisting for a woman in California (I'm in Texas). And I help an old lady with her housework every other week.

But my most strict bosses are the goats. If I'm even a little bit late, they really scream at me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its funny our livestock and other domestic animals act like that when they need food. My kittens are the same, they will make it more louder as if I wasn't listening to them. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I work from home right now as well and it’s a double edge sword. I like being with my family but I miss my colleagues. I would love a split schedule 2 days in the office 2-3 at home!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still need those tap on a shoulder from our bosses and bumping with colleagues. I just wish we could all go out free like it was used to be. Thanks for sharing your insights.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

still a student so it's online classes for me. actually, I can't even call it online coz we're in an asynchronous class. no google meetings, zoom meetings, or any meeting online. good thing here is that I have the control over my time. the schedule is so flexible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good for you, I wish you success in your studies. Keep safe always dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't ever experienced WFH ever since COVID started. We really had no wprk, no pay. And a month after our 'vacation' we are able to go on site again. First few months, we had a shuttle servuce, and the time at work is shortened. Over time, it was like the old normal for me now. Commuting, and 5 day week sched. Just being more careful..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel that because I was once had an employer with no work no pay and no leave credits either. It's kind of hard. I hope in your current job you have the benefits of leaves.

It's kind of scary knowing that you are working onsite after the first lockdown. Good thing that you were able to maintain the safety measures safe and healthy and yes, just be very careful and mindful of your colleagues and everyone outside. Keep safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago