Stand My Ground

19 32
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

In my previous post, I have shared some of my experiences about my previous jobs.

Today I will share some stories about the relationship I have had with my former boss as an employee, a stubborn employee actually.

Before I became a regular employee at the press, I was working as a freelance machine operator. My brother and I would be working in the press without a formal written contract and get the job done without going home for a break. We used to sleep beside the printing machine with large paper as the blanket. It was like printing was our home. We would go home on weekends and sometimes not due to high volumes of printing jobs.

Heyday

Those are the times that we earned not less than 20K ($400) per week. Pay out was on a weekly basis every Friday. So almost every Friday night or Saturday night we would hang out in bars and clubs for a beer and have fun. Yes, we always hangout back then to give some rewards to ourselves after hard days of labor.

I was in my 20s and I didn’t even think of saving even if I was earning a favorable amount of money. Perhaps because I was just young and free so I wasn’t thinking about my future.

Money was kind of easy however due to the nature of our work it was hard whenever accidents happen. We don’t have insurance and the worst thing is that we never get paid even if one of our fingers is cut off while working.

Time has come for my brother and I to go our separate ways. He found another employer and I was hired as a regular employee at the company we used to work as freelancers. The owner is a Filipino, a single parent and a daughter of one. She was a kind of stingy woman. That was also the time that I had to work hard because I was starting to have my own family.

I was promoted senior operator when the other operator of the machine I was assigned as assistant did not show up for a couple of days. So I was the one doing the printing jobs for a week. Then when he returned, I was given my own machine to handle and with an assistant operator and a helper.

Stubborn Employee

In my introduction, I have mentioned that I was a stubborn employee. Yes, I was and I am not proud of it. I was the type of employee who makes absences without advising my boss. No text message or phone call or whatsoever. Then I will report to work the next day like nothing happened. Then my boss would talk to me and ask why. Just a simple alibi will be enough to make her believe.

The reason I was doing such a thing was that even if I would tell her that I have something important to settle on a particular date, she would not let me have my leave. So I ended up making alibis for my absences.

There was a time that she was so furious about me because I have printed a thousand copies with errors and have been delivered to the client. I think it was thirty thousand sheets with four copies per sheet and would sum up to one hundred and twenty thousand copies with errors.

It came to her attention when the client called and complained about the printed copies with colors not the same as the original copy or not matching with the sample color guide given by the client.

I was advised to stop the printing and she called us for an urgent meeting. My assistant and I went to her office to explain about the client’s complaint.

As far as I remember, the ink used was a special type of color. Meaning I have to mix inks to be used for that particular job order. Offset machine operators are like paint artists because we are very much concerned with the density of colors.

I was making the mass production for forty-eight hours excluding the breaks when that happened. So when my boss asks me about it, I tell her that I was printing the exact same thing as what was given to me as the sample. I showed here the sample and one sheet from what I printed. She then checked and it was good. However, she showed me a copy from the client who appears to be a little different from my output. I then checked and compared. Mine was a little darker than what seems to be the correct one.

I couldn’t find a reason to explain to my boss about the client’s complaint, all I knew was that I was only doing my job in accordance with what was instructed. But then she was agitated about the issue. She had raised her voice with me and my assistant. I just let her express her frustration about the matter. When she was done then I told her that I’m going to go for a break.

I packed my things and went out. My assistant followed but the guard stopped him and was told to stay.

I went home and told my wife that my boss and I just had an argument. Then I told her the whole story about what had happened. After a couple of hours, I received a phone call from the office. The secretary told me that my boss wanted me back on that same day. I resisted and told her that I was going to cool down first and resume work the next day.

When I returned it was like nothing happened. The machine was not running because there was no one to do the job but me. The instruction was to continue the printing. Then I just found out from the supervisor that the error was from the client’s graphic artist. They weren’t able to lessen the percentage of the color on their end. So even if I lessen the color density on my part, it will still appear darker.

I am the kind of person who will argue with you if I am pretty sure I am right. I just don’t lose my ground even if the person in front of me is at a higher position than mine.

One lesson learned here I guess was that I forgot that she was my boss during the time of arguments. I got carried away and completely had a bad temper. But somehow perhaps my boss realized that she was wrong too. That is why she did not want to lose employees like me.

When I had the opportunity to work overseas, I lied again to her for the last time. I know that she won’t let me go but she can’t compete with the offer given to me so she just let me go. When I came back after two years, I visited her. I told her that I have switched careers. She even offered me an extra job if I wanted to. She was happy then. 

Yours truly

I hope you had a great time reading this once again. You can share in the comment if you have similar experience with your boss or immediate superior.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Usen Parmanov

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

11
$ 8.15
$ 7.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Cool story! You seem to have a lot to offer in the job market. Your story made me remember my major mistakes in my profession. I have forgiven my self already because my bosses already did.

What were you printing in your previous job? Weren't they books?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was in that type of industry for more than a decade.

All types of paper printing depending on the job order but usually books and magazines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes your article even cooler! Wow! I wonder how they print books and magazines. I haven't seen a printing press before. Nice meeting you!

It's also amazing that you're able to stay for that job for over a decade! I can't imagine my self to last that long in my current profession with all the innovations happening all over.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment.

I think some channels on YT are posting printing machines in action.

Nice to know you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, we really have to stand our ground, even with superiors, when we feel we are in the right, and we can back it up. In your case, you have something tangible to present in your defense. I remember having an argument with my boss and he just dressed me down because what he was expecting to happen didn't, and it wasn't anyone's fault, but because of his insistence that something can be done within a period of time that was unrealistic and there were external factors. In the end, he was the one who called first, and while he didn't directly apologize for his behavior, the fact that he called showed he was sorry. Besides, I was able to fix the problem, without any help from him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember that my old boss always wanted to get the job done according to his own time frame which was very unlikely to happen. And yes there are several factors to consider even the machine is producing 50, 000 sheets per hour.

I don't remember she apologize to me but the fact that she wanted me back was okay for me.

That's the best we can do. To find solution to a problem without their help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I had a boss that always believed he can have anything he wanted at the snap of the finger. Silly us, we always made it happen, so he still kept doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was a printer for about a year and a half before I went on to become a copywriter. It was a lot of fun. I remember one of the other several operators was fired for printing counterfeit $100 bills. He had printed around $100,000 but on one side only, then he took a break. He stashed the fake loot, planning to print the other side when the owner/boss was away.

Well, we printers did not know what he was doing because we were too busy. But the boss found the stash in the dark room. Busted! Fired. Lucky for him the boss didn't call the cops or the Secret Service. He burned everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa! I have heard similar story from my brother that one of the pioneer operator in his previous employer printed counterfeits too and the owner of the printing press was like a high ranking military official in PH.

I just couldn't imagine how they do this in a offset printing because if one does there should be coordination with other departments like the graphic artist, plate maker, printers and cutter operator. Unless one knows all of those jobs, but it is possible because if you are working in the press you will get to learn all things in there.

Nice to know that you know about printing too. Thanks for sharing man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, back in the day when I was a printer we had to be proficient in all areas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala po ako macomment sa story niyo pero hope all 20k sahod per week. Mga tamang hope all lang po kami hahahahah joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's okay kid. Happy days are long gone. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a grown up now and know from right to wrong but I was mad when I was reading ya'll spend time in bars on the day you were getting paid 🤣🤣🤣🤣 typical Asian Mom here haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

forgive me if the bar thing sound disgusting, LOL! You know a typical Juan dela Cruz would always do that. But please I a don't intend of bragging. 😉😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... such a person you are. You did whatever you did because you knew you were right and didn't want to ne sidetracked.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I overreact too and made me realize that those are bad behavior but I have tried to control my self to avoid arguments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes there are a lot of tendencies like that Bjorn. Due of bad temper we forget that we argued still our boss but you only just did it because you know that you're totally right.

Have a nice day Bjorn..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and sometimes when I think about things like that from the past, I just wished it never happened. But those things are essential in shaping ourselves to become a better person.

Keep safe...🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed these are the keys to improve and to be a better into self. I'm hoping too. I know it will never happen again..

Thank you so much Bjorn..❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago