SIM Card Registration Law In The Philippines

5 36
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Two months ago I posted about receiving text message scams. I frequently receive such text messages lately. It appears that these scammers are determined with their motive. Even lawmakers are now receiving similar text messages I am currently receiving.

The new administration appears to have acted quickly to make way for catching these scammers and or prevent people from being scammed. President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has just signed the law about SIM card registration. This has been the first law he has signed so far.

The SIM Card Registration Act, Republic Act No. 11934, highlights the following and I have my own opinion on every details:

 1. Before selling SIM cards, telco companies and direct sellers are required to ask for a valid identification document.

 Is it ok to purchase more than one SIM card as long as you have a valid ID document? Will direct sellers record the names of who purchased the SIM card?

 2. Registering a SIM card with false or fictitious information, using fictitious identities, or carrying out fraudulent activities will be subject to appropriate penalties.

 Yes I am a good citizen so there is no reason for me to register a false identity. Can I register my 10-year old child?

Scammers will be less likely to do scamming via text messages.

 3. In case of a subpoena or court order, telcos must give out SIM card owners’ full names and addresses.

 A possibility of security breach and possible leak of information from passing sensitive data to other entities. Anyone can be traced if the name was registered to a specific SIM card. Wiretapping can be eminent.

4. People with SIM cards already need to register with telcos within a certain time frame. SIM cards will be deactivated if you don’t.

 If this is the case, people will be rushing to register their SIM card. I have three SIM cards, my wife has two, my daughter has two and my son has one. Can I register multiple SIM cards under my name? If so, how many SIM cards are allowed?

 5. Subscriber SIM cards must be kept on file by telecommunications companies. A list of authorized dealers and agents nationwide must be submitted quarterly to the National Telecommunications Commission by companies.

 How can we be so sure that telcos can protect our privacy? telcos has a lot of call center agents and some of them are hoppers, there will be a possible leak of private information.  

 6. Telcos may be asked by law enforcement agencies to look up the owner of a SIM card when they investigate crimes committed through phones.

 Anyone can be investigated whenever law enforcement wants to investigate. Anyone can be a suspect to a crime as long as the law enforcer finds relevant information about a certain crime connected to a SIM card.

 People have mixed opinions about this matter. Some jumped into conclusion of a possible privacy breach. There is also a potential of being tracked and monitored.

 First things first, how much will it cost to register a SIM card? If there are fees, for sure common Filipino people will complain about this. It will add other expenses to their budget.

 The plan to catch these scammers and other criminals through SIM card registration might be a great way to lessen the crimes. But there is always a possibility of risk of  private data if it falls into wrong hands.

 The law is mandatory so whether we like it or not, in the next couple of months, we will be registering our SIM card so you better choose a favorite cell phone number to register.

 Source: https://newsinfo.inquirer.net/1677723/fwd-marcos-jr-signs-into-law-sim-card-registration-act

>>

https://larszig.com/

https://noise.app/larszig


6
$ 2.96
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pichi28
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I still waiting for the time they will request for my ID. Also, are any IDs are accepted? I wished to get my SIMs verified. And I was planning in buying a new SIM as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are advantages and disadvantages too with this kind of law, I hope that it will really help us, unless it will be another source of problems for us, especially our identity will be verified.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

All credentials will not be placed in one source. I hope they handle our information well.

Pag minor po ata, registered under ng guardian.

I hope they do allow multiple sim registration as I have a prepaid gomo, a prepaid smart , and a postpaid.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For me, we, Filipinos do badly needed this kind of law po. Good thing that it is already up to be implemented ~ hopefully, the numbers of increasing scammers will be lessened, eventually.

What I only think of is how about those small store owners who are also merchandising a SIM cards? When they sell it to the community, will the law be properly implemented pa po kaya when the sellers only wants to directly and earn faster?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Registration of sim in my county too, all these are required, before I didn't like it. But now I feel is very necessary

$ 0.01
1 year ago