Oddities: The Noise Within

9 23
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Last night I woke up in the middle of my sleep because of the voices from my wife and eleven-year old daughter. They seemed to be arguing about the sound they heard because they were puzzled about where it came from.

Actually I have heard the seemingly normal sound but not sure of where the source or who made the intriguing sound. I was just starting to have a deep sleep at around 11PM so I can still hear noises as if I was dreaming.

The Cracking

Unsplash free images Daiga Ellaby


The sound was like made by the cracking of fingers. It was loud enough to hear during that hour because the neighbors were about to sleep, so it was already a quiet night. The cracking sound as though coming from the inside of my daughters clothes drawer which is just a couple of inches from my feet. We are living in a small rented house so you can easily determine what causes a simple sound inside the house or who might have been.

So I pulled myself out of bed and asked my wife about the silent clamor. She said they hear the cracking sound of fingers. They thought it was me because I used to do that. You know crossing my fingers in between the spaces then bend it to crack simultaneously. My daughter agreed and confirmed what they heard. They were sure about the sound but not sure of where it came from.

I checked my son and was in deep sleep on his bed, same with my father in law who was sleeping in the living room. So we are five at home with one dog and two cats that seem to not care and know nothing but to sleep, play and eat. They were all sleeping at that time.

Then I said how could I possibly do that when I was already asleep. Perhaps it was just a mouse that might be staying there. But I heard it too because I was half asleep back then.

My wife and daughter said they hear the noise five times with at least a second interval.

I went to the bathroom and pee-wee then went back to sleep.  I told them to ignore it believing that it was made by a mouse scratching inside the drawer. We all slept well and the strange sound never occurred again. But we still talk about it in the morning and just make fun of it but it’s kind of odd as it never happened before and nothing in the drawers but clothing.

The Jun-Jun

Unsplash free images Japheth Mast

I remember way back at the office when everything was going easy and normal. When I started working at the BPO, there was a story circulating around the company about the kid named Jun-jun. Curious enough, I asked one of the trainers and she said there was a kid showing up inside the premises. In short, a ghost of a kid. The funny thing was that the Jun-jun thing seemed to have a version in every call center company. It is trending until now because there are BPO associates who can tell that they experience having the presence of Jun-jun in their area or anywhere in the building.

 I don’t believe in ghosts unless I see one with my own eyes. But my own experience with this that appears to be ghost or unknown entity I think can prove that it was real.

When I was promoted and became a part of the Workforce department. I already have shifts during weekends, sat and sun, with 11AM-8PM shifts. So every Sunday I am the only one who has a shift during the daytime.

One time the AC just went off at around 6PM. I noticed it but just ignored it because I was busy doing my reports. Then after an hour it turned back on. I thought it was just normal for an AC system to turn off and on by its own.

I went out for a break. I asked the guard if he went near my station and turned off the AC at around 6PM and turned it on again after an hour. Then he answered no. So I told him what had happened. I know that AC has timers so we can turn it on and off automatically. But the ACs at our department never have that setting because we at Workforce should have 24/7 monitoring the Ops. The funny thing was that it happened November first. That’s not it. I also hear the computer keyboard at a distant cubicle as if someone was typing and when I went there to check there was nothing.

Some employees at other departments who I already became friends with share similar stories that they themselves have experienced of it. One time the IT guy went over to my place and told me that he saw someone going in my direction. He said he was following the person and saw that it entered the door to our department. He thought that I was the person and I said I have been sitting in my place for a couple of hours and have not gone outside for a break yet. He just scratches his head.

Anyway these are only a few of my experiences with these unknown and clueless strange things. It’s not yet Halloween but it appears the one last night came ahead of time.

Do you have similar stories? I would love to read it in the comments.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!


Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Daiga Ellaby

Japheth Mast

Alex Iby

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

6
$ 6.08
$ 5.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Haha yeah, seems like all BPOs have it's own Jun Jun. 😆 Maybe because people believe in such that's why it has become a trend. I dunno. I've never experienced any and I hope I never do. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure if my experiences with them are only a product of my restless imagination but it happened.

Yeah, this junjun thing is kind of cute I guess just wanted to wake agents that are sleeping in their cubicle (laughs).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess we do all have that different version of junjun in our workplace. Samin naman. Babae. Marites tawag ng sir namin kasi kada martes sya nagpaparamdam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakupo, wag naman sana makarating samin si Marites. haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di naman di nya alam ang ruta

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last one with the IT guy seems to be scarier than the rest. I would have been trembling if I were him. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I wasn't sure if i was to feel afraid or not when the IT told me about it. He looked terrified. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I might faint if I should see something or hear strange things happening. It can frighten me too. I remembered an experience when I met a ghost on the road. I didn't know it was a ghost and my little brother didn't care to tell me because he had lived in the village for a long time and could tell stories of them.

Thank God I wasn't hurt even when it keeps coming towards me dressed in a white robe, no slippers on and had a white substance on his face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes ghost are man made and you better be careful with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago