Love Your Eyes

5 28
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Sometimes we feel that we are okay all the time until we find out that we are not for a long time.

Let me first share with you a funny TV commercial.

Josh Applegate - Unsplash

There was a wedding held inside a church. The priest was on the way to finishing the ceremony and then said, “You may now kiss the bride.” The husband was about to kiss his wife and then the wife was preparing her lips in a kissable manner. She then leaned her head forward hoping that her husband’s lips would touch her. But then the crowd was in great awe because the wife’s lips landed on the priest’s cheek instead of her husband's lips.

The TV commercial was about a company brand that provides and offers optical products and services.

The commercial story might be exaggerated but somehow it relates to a real life situation where we experience embarrassment due to poor eyesight.

Last week, the company I am connected with held the annual physical examination.

The medical team went to the office site so that the employees would just go there instead for ease of the process. This was the usual way of conducting APE in the company but last year it was not due to the pandemic.

So I went there in the office and was happy to see my colleagues that I have not seen for not so long. Then they collected the stool and urine sample as they always do. After that I went to the actual physical examination one after the other.

When I was on the eye test, I was able to read the letters on line number eight in the eye test chart. But then I noticed that the letters were kind of blurry reading it with my left eye closed and vice versa. I find it hard to identify the letters F and G which would look like T and C.

I remember last year my eyesight was still good although I am using an anti-radiation blue light lens with transitional glasses. I was experiencing frequent headaches due to long exposure to the screen monitor. And then direct sunlight when I am outside so the Ophthalmologist advises me to wear that type of eyeglasses.

But when I am done with the eye test, I just found out that I am already a nearsighted person as the doctor had said. I could not believe that I already have a problem with my eyes. Then the ophthalmologist had me wear the optical trial lens. It was only then that I realized I already have poor eyesight. The trial lens had made my vision crystal clear.

That was not really frustrating and I can accept it without any hard feelings. What is kind of unacceptable is when your friends would tell you things like a “sign of aging” even if you are just in your early 30s. Considering that I am no longer in my 30s is kind of acceptable when people would tell me such remarks (laughs).

It no longer bothers me because we all would go to that stage where we will be taking care of again like babies. You know what I mean? What bothers me is that I am driving so it is kind of risky driving with poor eyesight.

I am a person who doesn’t always visit the doctor for a simple tolerable pain. You know sometimes when you visit the doctor for a simple check up you will freak out when you leave. You will just realize that you have a lot of illness hiding in your body for a long time.

But it is important that we should see the doctor regularly. They are the ones who know more things about the human body than us.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

 Lead image source credits to Clay Banks

5
$ 1.10
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have learnt to use glasses whenever I'm in the front of any screen

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes, that is good practice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I won't be experiencing the same eye conditions, even though I've been exposed to screen monitor for months at my recent work. Haha, truly our body needs a rest for itself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

for younger person it will not matter but you will experience it in due time.

even machines fail, what more us humans hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha, I think its about time to be more conscious in taking care of ourselves. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago