A 67 Year Old Woman Wants To Learn About Cryptocurrency

14 28
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I have been doing my own research about Cryptocurrency since I started to know about Bitcoin.

It was only last year that I learned about Bitcoin Cash and this year made me love more about it through this platform. Well, thanks to the people behind this wonderful community.

I really wanted to invest in cryptocurrency but I was still hesitant. Maybe because I am not a risk taker or it’s just that my understanding about this is not enough for me to take action.

You might wonder about my title. No, that’s not me. I am half younger than 67 and I am not a woman either. I am referring to my mother in the title.

Last night my mother and I had a little chit-chat and our topic was about Bitcoin Investing. She started the conversation by asking, “Bjorn, What is Bitcoin?” I was on my WFH shift yesterday when she sent me that message. After reading her message I was puzzled and instead of answering her about the meaning of it, I replied back with a question, “Why Ma, why did you ask?” I wasn’t expecting she’d ask me that question. The fact that she is 67 years of age that’s why I was astounded. But I fall back after a few minutes after realizing that she already knows how to use the internet. So it’s no longer surprising some grannies these days would know about these digital currencies.

Granny Into Crypto

Mother then responded to my asking that someone was inviting her to invest in Bitcoin. She sent me screenshots of her conversation with a person she doesn't know. Upon seeing the information of the person, I immediately told her not to engage in any transaction with that person because the address in the profile was from another country and she didn't know the person. Then I told her that don’t just believe in anyone asking you to invest in Bitcoin. I will explain it to you later (as if I know better about Bitcoin) after my shift, I continued.

So last night I called her and asked what really urged her to know about Bitcoin. I tried to explain to her the best knowledge I know about Bitcoin and cryptocurrency (even if I feel it was confusing). Somehow she was attentive. Then she told me all about the Bitcoin trading happening in my home town.

I’ve been living in Metro Manila for almost twenty years so most probably there have been a lot of changes in the province that I wasn’t aware of.  And one of those changes that is happening right now is Bitcoin trading.

She told me that there are groups of people there whom she knows that are encouraging her to invest in Bitcoin. Then I said do not just get in because she doesn't know about Bitcoin. Even if she knew those people personally, there is a possibility that she will be scammed. I told her that she would do her own research first about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency if she really wanted to invest in it. I am worried that some people in our place would just fool the old woman with sugar coated words promising to get a high return on investment.

Beware of scammers

One thing that confused me about what she said was that, the group of Bitcoin investors in our place asked her to invest  5,000Php ($100) then she would receive a monthly profit of 500Php ($10). How is that possible if you are to ask?

Bitcoin should be decentralized then why are there groups of people having it centralized? Somehow I think that these people wanted to take advantage of people who want to earn money with Bitcoin but have little or no knowledge about it.

I don’t know how people play with Bitcoin trading but the information that I heard from my mother was kind of doubtful. My mother didn’t finish high school but she is a smart and tough woman. I know she will not just decide to take a risk if she is not sure about it. I just told her that she should read about Cryptocurrency trading, not just Bitcoin. I also told her that she would need a digital wallet which she knows nothing about.

I wanted to explain more to her about Cryptocurrency because those people around her asking her to invest bother me.

Anyway I have to end this for now. The wounds in my gums are still fresh and I am feeling pain in my right jaw.

How about you, does your grandma know about Bitcoin too? Share in the comment below, I would love to read it.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to André François McKenzie

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦


9
$ 6.13
$ 5.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I was messaged by someone too regarding bitcoin investment. The moment he asked me to invest such amount, I immediately knew it was a scam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mom should be careful because reading the chat, it looks suspicious and they want to scam her. They are everywhere and one needs to be careful. You should try to explain about Bitcoin to her and even if she wants to invest, she can either do that with Bch with your help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, the moment I have read thier chat message i already know what the persons motive was.

i am trying to explain to her about Bitcoin to the best of my knowledge. I also told her about BCH which she is not aware of. and yes hopefully i can encourage her to use BCH instead of BTC.

thanks for the concern.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is an obvious scam. It was good on you to infoem your mum to not to engage with strangers. Lot's of scammers around some are very smart, but this one is just an old trick. Of course who are new to crypto still fall for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have been scammed several times by some people although it was not cryptocurrency related, and yes these scammers are very good at manipulating people. they will do all the tricks just to get what they want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is great your mother wants to get involved in crypto, but please look out for her. That message she had is all too familiar and people will rip her off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there are people who never stops learning even at thier old age and my mother is one of them. Since she told me about her interest in bitcoin, i read more about crypto so i can educate her as much as i could.

thanks for the kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should never stop learning so well done on your mother:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that your mom is showing interest in the subject, let's hope she can buy Bitcoin without any problems. In my house only my brother and I use cryptocurrencies, and this topic is complex for my mom because she doesn't like technological advances. Greetings from South America.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, she never stops learning and age doesnt stops her from educating herself.

thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂 well, you should try to educate her little by little. That person is definitely a scammer. Sorry about your gum and jaw, get well soonest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am at least trying to educate her although my knowledge about it is very limited but if she is really interested on it i think she needs to understand it carefully.

thanks, you know i just had my two molar teeth extracted but i have painrelievers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As of now, I am the only one in the family to learn a bit more in BCH and crypto in general.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

expect that your mom or one of your family member will ask about it one day. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago