Do Not Waste Your Food!

4 44
Avatar for Bisolammy
1 year ago

I'd love to speak about my country. We have a lot of religions in my country but the most popular religions are Islam and Christianity. It is very rare for you to go to a household where there will be no Islamic or Christianity practitioner is the household. Nigerians are deeply in love with these two religions. During Eid Fitr and Eid Kabir, Islamic practitioners kill rams and cook surplus food so that they can share with the Christians. It is a very beautiful act. Indeed, there is love in sharing. Even if you forget to take food to some people's houses, they will tell you or remind you that you didn't feed them on that day. I don't like that. I'm not like that! A lot of people do not cook on that day. If the festival has to do with Muslims, Christians do not cook, and if it has to do with Christians, Muslims do not cook. Why? It is because a lot of people are sure that they will get food from their neighbor or their friends.

What if I tell you that I see festivals as an act of wasting food? Don't get me wrong, I would explain. I feel like there are better ways in which we can share food and it won't waste. I'm an Islamic practitioner and we all know that Christmas day is fast approaching. We cook in my house no matter what festival it is. The only time we don't cook is when our friends bring food for us early in the morning. Let me go back to where I said I see festivals as an avenue of wasting food in my country. On Christmas Day, my family gets food from different people. Over twenty households come to our place to give us food. Our kitchen will be filled with food and we are left with the choice of choosing which food to eat. I know the people who make good food in my area so I always choose to eat their food. Hahaha. Don't mind me.

Then, when we are filled, we pour away the rest. It's not like we do not want to eat it but the foods are too much than what we can eat. Over 90% of Nigerian households do this too. They eventually pour away the ones they don't eat. It is not their fault but the fact remains that they can't eat all the food. It's the truth. Then, my mum's friend brought up the idea of sharing raw foods that people can cook. It was so fantastic! People won't pour it away because they can store it for a longer period. I love the idea. If we are to share food, we should share raw food so that they will cook in their houses. Also, some households do not like to eat other people's food. It means that they will also throw away the food. Why can't we share raw food? Why can we share just fried meat that can still last for some days? The level of recession is crazy and I don't think we can afford to waste food during this period.

Let's find other means of showing love during Christmas. Do not waste your food🙏.

5
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @alicecalope
Sponsors of Bisolammy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bisolammy
1 year ago

Comments

Food is life.It is important so we should not waste it no matter what

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're very right, my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True my friend we shouldn't waste our food especially now because we are facing an inflation, our country is one from those countries facing inflation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The inflation is affecting us very badly

$ 0.00
1 year ago