The case of getting married before an elder sibling.

10 100
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Around 2013 when I was still in high school, we had this neighbor who had three daughters and a boy. They were all passed the age of 21.

That year, it happened that the youngest daughter found a man who took her very seriously and wanted her to marry him. Well, the news of the youngest sister's marriage really shook the family's peace as the eldest daughter was not comfortable that her second junior would be getting married before she does. She tried to persuade her parents to tell her sister's fiancee to postpone the marriage by atleast a year as none of the men she was dating had proposed to her yet. But her father insisted that so long as the young man was capable and ready to get married to her younger sister, then that's not a valid reason for stopping him.

Exactly a year after the marriage, the eldest daughter got married and the second sister got engaged thesame year. They literally forced the men they were dating to do what has to be done.

The truth was that the the first two sisters had been jumping from one car to another for a long time. It was only when their younger sister had brought a husband home that they had a rethink and started taking thier life seriously.

The scenario above applies majorly to the fair gender maybe because women are more emotional, especially when the age gap between the two girls is quite large. Even if the age difference is just one or two years, the older one might not be too comfortable especially when the two sisters don't share a mutual love or respect as blood sisters. In in this case, the rivalry would still continue even after the both of them have gotten married.

But a man wouldn't care-less if his younger brother gets married start having kids, getting older and even die before him,Lol.

It also depends on the type of society. In the African culture, it is customary for the elder sister's marriage to be celebrated before the rest. That's the sequence through which our mothers and grandmothers got married .

Infact, some parents aren't always comfortable giving a younger daughter hands in marriage while the older one is still at home.

In most cases, I have seen older sisters who had shared in their younger siblings joy and even played active roles and you would agree with me that this is the right thing to do. Infact, it's possible that a sister might find her own man in her younger sister's wedding. I have heard about this countless times.

By and large, I believe God's plan for everyone is unique irrespective of age. Different persons have special destinies which must be fulfilled through different path at different periods of life.

Lastly, you would all agree with me times have really changed alot of things even in the most conservative societies. Marriage generally has got nothing to do with mundane issues like age or the age of a sibling.

Lead image is from unsplash.com

******************************

Thanks for reading 😁💝

9
$ 1.68
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 7
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

This acts is mainly on ladies. Just like me now, if my younger brother decides to get married before me, I have no single grudge with that.

Thank God that most of these cultures are fading off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, thank God for civilization

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't see that happening here. As far as I know, anyone is free to get married if they want to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, I believe the right time for everyone. If it's the time for the youngest to get married before the oldest, I don't think there should be any delay trying to stop the youngest from getting married.

My big sis would always remind me that when I find a man, I should go before her because she isn't stopping anyone. But in some culture, this can never be done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. I remember my else sister told me that also. It's all about destiny my dear. God blesses everyone bat his own time irrespective of age , gender or religion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It majorly happen between ladies, men don't care. I Know men whose younger sister got married before them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. That one is normal. Infact it's like seven out of ten men have younger sisters that got married first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have that kind of culture too before but as time passed by it started to change as it is normal who among the siblings will get marry first

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with that. Marriage should have nothing to do with age. It's all about finding the right someone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's true

$ 0.00
1 year ago