Some ridiculous myths surrounding Blood donation

12 31
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Earlier this morning, I heard a sad news from a neighbor. She told that a woman in the next street had lost her baby who was only a month old.

According to the story, the baby had developed a serious illness the previous day. When he was taken to the hospital, the doctor declared that the child would need some blood transfusion before they could commence any treatment. The child's father had traveled for a business trip and the mother couldn't get a suitable donor immediately . So, she decided to buy the two pints of blood that was required . But her mother in law vehemently opposed this idea. She insisted that apart from the child's father, no stranger's blood should enter the body of her grandson. She believed that her grandson would grow up and have the behavior and mannerisms of the stranger whose blood was in his body. The old lady feared that the badluck and badspirit from an unknown person would penetrate into the soul of her beloved grandson.

The doctor and nurses were utterly shocked by this absurd superstition and they tried to convince her that it doesn't make any sense. But the old woman remained adamant and warned the health workers to back off. She then immediately called the child's father who was in another town and told him that his son was very sick . She ordered him to leave what he was doing and come immediately as his son needed only his blood to survive. To put the story briefly, the little baby died an hour later while the dad was still on the way.

By the way, Plato said: better be unborn than untaught, ignorance is the root of misfortune . Ignorance is an enemy even to its owner!!

Meet my magnanimous and humble sponsors. They are one thousand percent sweet

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

At the begining of the year, I was told that my aunty have been with fibroids for a long time and she had decided to get rid of them once and for all. The doctor had told her that she didn't have enough blood in her system that would be required for the surgery. She would have to be infused with four pints of blood before the surgery can be done successfully.

My cousin called and told me that they had already gotten three donors and they were seriously looking for a fourth volunteer. She asked me whether I could help find someone who would be willing to donate a pint blood. Actually I couldn't think of anyone at that time but I immediately rushed down to the hospital to see my aunt.

At that moment, I remembered that I was a universal donor, I had known my blood group and genotype ever since I was a kid. I told my aunt that I was willing to give her my blood. But to my surprise, I saw the look of disapproval in her eyes, then she said that she doesn't need me to donate blood for her.

My aunt said that women were not supposed to donate their blood. According to her, women are always losing quite a volume of blood regularly through the monthly menstrual flow.So it wouldn't be appropriate for a woman to lose more blood from her body especially through transfusion as a larger volume of blood is being extracted from the body. She told me to call my dad instead.

I had to control myself from laughing when she said this. I tried to explain to her in the most simplest term that the monthly menstrual flow of a woman had absolutely nothing to do with the total PCV ( packed cell volume ) of her red blood cells. The blood flow that comes out every month was from dessicated egg cells which had to leave a woman's body in order for her to be able to maintain an optimal reproductive health. Aunty was still not fully convinced( don't blame her though) but she reluctantly accepted my request to donate some blood to her. At the lab, my blood was screened and certified alright for the procedure. It was also confirmed that I was O+ and AA.

As a man or woman, weather you donate your blood or not, after every three months, the erythrocytes ( red blood cells) in your body would be destroyed by the liver and the spleen as they have already completed their life span. New blood cells would now be formed at the bone marrow of the long bones of the arms and legs. So, why not donate some of your red blood cells now to save a life before it becomes worn out and expired. As a matter of fact, this would increase the rate at which new and pristine blood cells are pumped into the body system.

I have heard rumors before, that the reason why some folks are afraid to donate blood is because there are some mischevious doctors and nurses that would sell their bloods to evil men which would then be used for money rituals.

I find this claim very ridiculous and laughable

I know of a guy in school who always donates a pint of blood every three months at the national blood transfusion service in my country ( state teaching hospital branch). He says that's his own quota he contributes to humanity. He even looks healtheir and stronger than a lot of folks who had never donated their blood before.

As for me, it feels really good being a universal donor. I am quite sure that you are too because universal donors make about 60% of the human population. Isn't God so wonderful? He made this possible so that we could help save the lives of others . I have donated my blood twice this year and I plan to do it again at least four times in 2022 and I mean it. After all, Christ shed his blood on the cross for us all. So, I am challenging you my dear friend , this year, donate some atleast to the nearest blood bank. Do it for human race. This is one of the greatest form of charity

Oh, and I almost forgot, there's would also be a special prize for you even before you donate..... You gotta have an HIV test, free of charge! Hahahahaha.

********************************

To all my sponsors, subscribers, commenters and up voters, Thank you so much for your continual love and support. Wishing you all a blessed and glorious new year.

Yours lovely

💗💗💗💗

Bilqees

I

9
$ 3.41
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I always have the fear of going to the hospital because I might see blood. I am always scared of blood. Ugh, maybe I have a phobia. Anyways, happy new year, sis!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy new year to you big sis.☺. Quite a number of folks have such a phobia for blood I guess, some might even begin to cry at the sight

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would have sued that grandma or kicked her out of the house or something.. am really mad right now reading that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was initially mad at the grandma but I now blame the mother of the child more for failing to stand her ground and do what a mother got to do to save her child. How can she be too loyal to her mother-inlaw at the expense of child's life?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She was vulnerable.. but you are right, as a Mom, you should know better for your child... nothing matters except saving that child ughhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The blood of the baby that died will forever be on the head of that grandma, so people can be really stupid! God! This is inline with an article that's lying around in my draft, but this time around they refused to do blood transfusion on a jaundiced baby because of the parent's religious beliefs, the Lagos state government had to intervene so the baby won't end up dead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a matter of fact, Rumors are going round that the old lady is a witch and she Sacrificed the life of her grand child to renew her own... The mother's family were very furious, If not that she was whisked away, she would have been subjected to mob action by the woman's family members....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What else do you expect from our Naija people? I knew that's how it will end, she will certainly get labelled a witch!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Nigerians are too superstitious. Believing all sort of myths. Now that the child is gone, I hope the mother in law's conscience can bear it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the grandma na witch.. It was all a delay tactics I guess. I still blame the mother of the baby , Her mumuness is out of this world....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As if I'm in class , this one isn't by science student oo, I learn from this. Myth busted hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago