Mummy's Call

17 30
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Sometimes, your mom would give you a call, and before even answering, you'd already know what she wants to talk about.

To all my readers, commenters, upvoters, subscribers and sponsors, I say a very big thank you

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

I don't know about others, bit in my part of the world, most young adults, especially the ladies usually store mom's number with a beautiful pet name. It could be: sweet mother, lovely mom, my bestie, my heart...

When I was still a fresher at the University, mom calls me like everyday. Most times, I would already know what her words will be even before answering the call. It's always the usual lines.... "How are you my dear... How is studies... Hope you have eaten.... Hope you slept well....". And I always gave her the automatic answer. Sometimes, I'd sense the next question that she would ask me, and would answer it even before she asked and we would laugh at each other.

Up till this moment, whenever I am having a conversation with a person and I get a phone call from mother. I'd briefly answer it and tell her to call me later since i was already talking to someone.

This is because I know my mom very well, she might say that she called just to check on me. A call that shouldn't take more than a minute might get to five or seven minutes. Lol, you know how the conversation between a mother and a daughter always drags on. I wouldn't want the other person to start feeling awkward or disrespected.

There's always alot of things to talk about between a mom and a daughter even though both have just been separated for only a short time.

Unlike young adults, parents don't usually hide their feelings, emotions, plans and fears from thier children. They'd tell all their worries about you, about your father, about your brother, about your kind of job, about the kind of friends that you keep, your health and their own health too.

They just want to keep talking to you even though you are already exhausted after a long day. And you dare not tell Mom that there's nothing to worry about. She'd immediately launch into a barrage of history lessons of how she had in the past brought up some important observations but you ignored her warnings and advise, and your stubbornness led you into serious trouble. You'd end up spending more time listening to her rambles .Lol, Moms are just so amazing .

Strangely, boys don't spend much time discussing with their dad on phone as much as they do with their mothers. In my part of the world, When you see a boy having a long conversation with his dad on phone, then you should know that he had done something wrong, or had refused to take an advice and his father is scolding him at the moment.Lol.

Just yesterday evening, I was viewing my Twitter feeds then I saw something that really caught my attention.. A young man was complaining bitterly in his tweet that his mother-in-law was always calling his wife and the incessant calls have began to annoy

often times when he's having a very interesting discussion with his wife, her mother would suddenly call and this might lead to mother and daughter spending quite sometime together on the phone. According to him, when his wife starts to speak with her mom, she totally forgets about him.

I couldn't help but imagine his wife talking and laughing with her mom while he looks on helplessly and I really felt sorry for him. I quite understood his feelings.

And when she'd finally finished talking with her mom, the conversation that she was having intiially with the husband might lost its taste and become uninteresting.

He had also complained that thid mother-daughter chit- chat also interrupts his sleep at night

There was a time he couldn't take this anymore and this led to a serious confrontation between him and his wife . He vowed to give his mother-in-law a piece of his mind anytime they met.

Its a known fact that alot of women still maintain a very strong bond with their mothers. Some Mother's would still continue to be their daughter's closest companion even after marriage, especially in my parts of the world.

The old lady might probably have missed her daughter so much. I doubt the man ever knew the kind of relationship between his wife and her mother before he married her. Maybe he's the very emotional or very sensitive type. You could call him jealous if you want to.

Of course, I know it's wrong for a mother to be calling her married daughter late in the night when couples should be together, except in times of emergency or danger. I perfectly understand his anger towards that. But he could have advised his wife to instead talk as much as she wanted with her mom during the day when he's at the office. Then when he returns home at night, him and his wife would have their own moments.

So, It's quite unnecessary getting angry at his wife's mom, especially when she's not saying anything to her daughter that might destroy or threaten her marriage. I wonder how he would react if he ever caught his wife in a phone conversation with her lover.

I know some men wouldn't see that as a big deal. There are men out there who see their mother in-law the way they see their own mother and always regard them in an equally nice manner.

******************************

Thank you very much for staying with me.

♥️♥️

9
$ 1.69
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know why I find it funny. But I for one can understand how annoying it can be to have your conversation interrupted, especially for long. Not to mention sleep. There is such a thing as doing the right thing at the wrong time. But he probably should have talked to his wife about it and maybe she could tell her mom that calling at that time is inconvenient and maybe they could be doing all the talk during the day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, that would have been the best way of handling the situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wish I have that kind of mom. But sad to say when mom calls we always have a fight. I am never been close to my mom. That's why being a mom of two now I want my kids to be close to me. I told my daughter who is 14 years old that I don't want my relationship with her will be the same with my relationship with my mom. I told her I can be her best friend. She can tell me everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray a beautiful relationship is built between you and your mom in the nearest future.. I pray your daughter be proud of you also

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sometimes good and not offense while sometimes it's bad, all depend. All depends on the kinda topic they're into always cos I've seen movies where too much chat with mother mother led to something bad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe she might be her mother's favourite daughter and they share every little thing with each other

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, maybe. The mummy's girl relationship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moms are moms. Their sixth senses are unquestionably right. You are lucky dear. I know it’s annoying sometime but I still love that number on my screen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol... We all do. My regards to your mom 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My opinion is that it is disrespectful of the girl's mother to what marriage represents. A couple needs their privacy and a mother before being a mother was a wife and knows what she is doing. It's something they should talk about so it doesn't become a big problem.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am, I believe this is the perfect advise. A married woman's duty should be to her husband before any other

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother and daughter have a strong bond during phone calls compare to father and son friend. I agree it a lot. Me and my mom we almost talk 1-2 hours in phone calls especially now because I missed her a lot.

We are really close with my mom friend. She's always calling at me. She's always monitoring at me. She missed me a lot friend that's why.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. I am really glad to hear this. Mother's will always be there for their daughters no matter what

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend that's true.🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you said very nice things, what you said is exactly the relationship between me and my mother, we enjoy talking with each other a lot. Mother and daughter can be best friends. And interestingly, if I don't talk to my mother one day, my husband encourages me to call or text her and ask how she is... 💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You really have a very excellent support system in your mom and husband. I am really happy for you 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks my dear, yes that's great... ☺️🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago