I thought it was a cardiac arrest!!

12 27
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

I was actually going through some acute pains around my chest recently. Ever since I was born, I don't think I ever knew what chest pains felt like. As a matter of fact,I had always thought that chest pains can only happen in men especially those whose job requires alot of physical exertion.

Meet my humble and magnanimous sponsors. They are one thousand percent sweet

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

I remember when @Kiingsley complained about pains in the neck when he woke up one the morning. I explained to him that maybe his head was in an awkward position while sleeping and that temporarily disturbed the blood flow in the neck, hence the pain .This kind of neck Pain is quite common and happens among children and young adults from time to time. It naturally disappears before the end of the day or the following morning, with or without using drugs.

I was drafting an article when I felt a very sharp pain at the bottom of my left chest. I winced in agony as I placed my left hand on the exact spot, and waited for the pains to disappear. I actually thought it was those little and insignificant discomfort that one usually feels at some part of the body from time to time.

But the pain didn't go away, it lasted for more than two hours where i was sitted and I became alarmed. It was an aching and localized pain , very similar to that of a migraine in the head. It continued to tug at the bottom of the walls of my left ventricle and Panic took over me completely. For Godsake, how did I develop angina (heart pain)!!

I remembered our CVS lecturer had explained that angina marked the onset of ischemia, stroke or a cardiovascular disease. This made Fear gripped my already painful heart immediately.

Why on earth should I develop an heart disease? !! I cried out and look towards the sky. Pronto, I checked for other vital signs. But there was no pain at the back of my neck, no pain at my elbow region. There was absolutely no pains around my jaws and I wasn't feeling any pains around my shoulders neither was I experiencing any shortness of breath or sweating. These were all the symptoms of a stroke/cardiac malfunctioning. Hell! Why would I even think that it was a stroke, for crying out loud I am only 23!

I thought about ulcer but it couldn't possibly be ulcer since i wasn't feeling any heartburn. It was a deep, dull and piercing pain. So, I considered GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease). Could it be that my esophagus had ruptured and some of its contents had poured into my heart and thoracic cavity? it would mean that I had to undergo surgery to get my esophagus stitched up!! But I hadn't any other signs of GERD as I wasn't feeling any sour taste on my tongue neither was I feeling like vomiting. As a matter of fact, I was still able to finish my lunch without having any difficulties in swallowing.

The pain continued to tug at my left chest through out the day. It felt as of a 9 inches block had been placed firmly on top my left ventricle. Walking was hell for me, I also found it difficult to sit. I just had to lie down but the pains persisted and I began to turn from side to side.

Apart from the localised pain in my chest I wasn't experiencing any other symptoms. There was absolutely no weakness at any point in my body as all my strength was still intact . i was even able to write and complete an article " when God keeps dragging you away from troubles" amidst the acute pains in my chest . I even thought that I could get up and wash the clothes I intended to wash earlier in the day. I stopped crying and tried to calm down. At least I am quite certain that it wasn't a heart disease, neither was it a problem of the lungs since I wasn't coughing nor was I experiencing breathing problems. I believed it was just an ordinary muscle cramp in the pericadium of my heart. But Muscle pulls usually last from a few seconds to minutes and I have been in pains for more than twelve hours! What exactly is wrong with me, I screamed.

Maybe I should stop over thinking and just try to fall asleep. I might feel better by tomorrow. Dad came into my room with some pain relievers and a glass of water. After swallowing them, I shut my eyes and slept off.

On Tuesday morning when I woke up, the pains were still there!! It didn't even reduced by the tiniest fraction and I began to panic once more. At this point, dad insisted we go to the hospital. We visited the nearest primary healthcare facility and Fortunately for us, the doctors were already in their consulting room and there was no much queue.

I told the doctor about the sudden chest pain that I developed the previous day and he asked me weather I had engage in any strenuous activity lately and I told him No. He then ask me whether I was experiencing any other symptoms and I again replied Negative. The Doctor proceeded in gauging my blood pressure with the sphygmomanometer and declared that my blood pressure was normal. Ofcousre I knew I didn't have a high BP, My heart have been filled with joy and happiness ever since i joined readcash and met good people. I absolutely had no f**** business with high BP!!

The doctor wrote down some drugs for the pains. Most of the drugs were cheap and common pain relievers. Dad had initially thought that they would cost alot. According to him, anything that have to do with the heart had to very serious and shouldn't be taken lightly or delayed.

On our way home, I started to having some relief as the pain gradually begin to ease. At the time I was writing my next article " Not all beggars are actually what you think they are". More than half of the pains had gone even though I took the drugs just once. I thought about this for along long time and I came to the conclusion that the pains I had been experiencing was due to the cold.

Although the doctor didn't mention it but I knew it. Recently I hadn't been wearing a jacket to protect me from the cold weather. It very likely that the walls of my heart had unusually contracted as a result of this. I considered this for a long time , then I decided to prepare a hot tea of ginger and garlic. Few minutes after I had drank the tea, all the pains vanish.

This was my first experience with chest pains and I pray I don't have another encounter because it was really terrible.

What about you, have you ever felt pains at your chest region before?

To all my sponsors, subscribers, readers, upvoters and commenters, a very big thank you to all of you. I really appreciate the love.

Yours lovely,

Bilqees

💗💗💗💗

4
$ 1.42
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ay_dimeji
$ 0.03 from @Winx1988
+ 5
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I experienced that oo but it didn't last for few hours,maybe it's just a few seconds,thanks your fine now,we should always be aware of ourselves,and it's good to have a check up so that we won't panic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy to know you're doing better now. May I ask what you studied/are studying in school?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, dear, I am glad that you are okay. I am stunned with those medical terms haha! I think you're working in a medical field? Anyway, take care dear always!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

B. Nursing student ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank god it's not cardiac arrest, your heart is precious. Glad your are okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I ask again, are you a medical person or student? All these grammers and name of sicknesses are just too much 🤣🤣. Thank God you're fine. The only pain I seldom experience is the waist pain and that usually come via the too much labor on the farm. And that goes off after long rest, not even a massage sef

$ 0.00
2 years ago

B. Nursing ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder! 🤷🤷

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also experienced that sudden stabbing chest pain in the left chest. Its more painful when you inhale deep.

i just ignored it until it go away. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess yours lasted for a few seconds or minutes which was quite common among folks. Mine lasted for more than 35 hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago